We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historical fun and a shortcut to Northern Virginia”

Historical White's Ferry
Ranked #1 of 80 things to do in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great historical fun and a shortcut to Northern Virginia”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We went to Leesburg recently from Silver Spring and made the mistake of taking the Beltway around to the incredibly congested roads in Northern Virginia. Going back, we took White's Ferry into Maryland, and the difference was night and day. While not a great deal shorter time wise, it was a thousand times more pleasant to take the ferry and the country roads than to do battle with Northern Virginia traffic. Plus, it's always an experience, especially on a beautiful day. We'll ride on the General Jubal A. Early yet again this fall.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank faygokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    79
    23
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Convenient and Novel”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Why wouldn't you take this ferry? Quick and easy, and a real time-saver. Short ride, but at night when the moon shines on the river, it's five minutes of charm at a reasonable price.
Made me smile.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CallinectesLLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland Heights, Missouri
Level Contributor
154 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Going somewhere”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Never been on a ferry? So you can make it out there to go. Sometimes find it closed (mostly in the winter) real people run this thing and they need to sleep too. Open to bikes, vehicles of all kinds and pedestrians. Don't speed through Poolesville getting there or away from there (youll get a ticket!) Its fun to see and is a staple to the community.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place to have a bite to eat on the C&O Canal”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

TripAdvisor doesn't have the White's Ferry Store listed separately, so I'm reviewing here.

We did not take the ferry on a recent trip, but while biking the C&O Canal from D.C. upriver, we arrived at the White's Ferry Store hot and thirsty around 3:30 p.m. Not expecting much, we stopped into the store to stock up on Gatorade and find anything we had to eat.

However, the day's special was a grilled brisket and coleslaw sandwich. It turns out it was one of the best brisket sandwiches I've had in a very long time. My two companions and I all ordered that -- I think we got the last brisket of the day -- and it was absolutely delightful.

Don't expect much by way of table service or ambience. It's still just a little convenience store by the ferry entrance. But the food is surprisingly delightful. I would tend to order whatever the special is; the rest of it looks like it's prefabricated, frozen food.

Also, how cool is it that there's still a working ferry across the Potomac? It's a little hard to believe the next bridge upriver isn't for 15 miles (Point of Rocks), and the last downriver bridge is the American Legion Memorial Bridge on the Beltway.

Well worth the stop. If I'd had a car -- or more time on my bike -- I might've ridden the ferry across, round-trip, just to enjoy it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank particleandparcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quaint fun”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Even for a fee I'd rather take the ferry than drive around it. Feels like a step back in time to imagine the early ferry days and those without it. A MUST do!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank chflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historical White's Ferry also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Historical White's Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing