We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beats the beltway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historical White's Ferry

Historical White's Ferry
Leesburg, VA
301 349 5200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 76 things to do in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Carbondale, PA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beats the beltway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is the only ferry still operating on the Potomac. Apparently there used to be more than 100. It is a nice drive from North Potomac, MD. Scenic, with some historic farms and buildings along the way. Might not be so great at night, as this road is two lane and winds a bit. The ferry is very efficient and you don't have a long wait. You are across the river in a flash. I will take this over the beltway, every chance I get.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    62
    17
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dickerson, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun ride for first timers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

easy way across the Potomac River but lately poorly operated and increasingly expensive. Avoid it on weekends unless you like an hour's wait to get across.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Quick trip to rural Montgomery County”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

If in Leesburg it is the fastest way to reach NW Montgomery County but also a good place to grab a canoe on a warm day and paddle around for a picnic. Try it out next Spring.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank VaTechDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A family treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Not too many of these are around now. It's a real treat to cross the river over the ferry! This place holds so many sentimental memories for me. My prom date had our driver go this route to dinner. And when I was a kid it was cheap entertainment or a large family with a tight budget.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Becky310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fast to Rockville Md from N.VA.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

it is the fastest way from NVA to Rockville,Maryland
a short ferry ride for 5 dollars round trip
JUST watch out for Marylands SPEED CAMERAS
Maryland loves these things they are everywhere!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bigknothead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historical White's Ferry also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Historical White's Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing