We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Practically perfect in every way” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moms Apple Pie

Moms Apple Pie
Ranked #1 of 7 Dessert in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Practically perfect in every way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Mom's pies, are, in a word, amazing. Whether you are the strawberry-rhubarb pie, the blackberry, the apple or any other pie, it is delicious. My father, who tends to be particular about his pies, loves anything from here that involves the crumb crust, and has been known to hint about receiving Mom's pies for his birthday.

Yes, prices are steeper than your average grocery-chain pie with old fruit, but it is well worth it. My only complaint is that Mom's no longer makes their mouthwatering breakfast croissants!

Would you be impressed to know that the First Lady stopped by the Occoquan location just to buy a pie? I was.

Please note that the Leesburg location is a tiny little store sandwiched between Market & Loudoun Streets. This is a buy and go sort of place, no sitting down at all. You have to return home to sit down and eat the pie. If you can make it that long.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TNTinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    28
    12
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmm good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

You really can't go wrong here. My personal favorites include the banana cream pie, the blubbery crumb, and the coconut custard. If you like any of these, go try and see for yourself. You will not be disappointed.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank myexperiencematters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sugar High”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Best cookies I had in years I had to keep going back for more.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ACKMAN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Got Pie?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

That's the message they frequently put in the window of this place. Damn them and their relentless marketing strategy! I drive past this place at least 6 times a day, it's all I can do NOT to turn in - the pies are GREAT. We have bought pies here many times, never had a bad one. The owner has his own farm to grow some of the stuff that goes into the pies, so the fillings are always fresh and seasonal. This is a local institution, for sure. So now a note to The Pie Man: PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE can you offer us some pies with gluten free crusts?? I haven't been able to actually eat your pies in a few years, but I frequently buy them for special occasions/guests. It kills me. GLUTEN FREE? PLEASE? With sugar crumb topping on it??

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank exNYfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philomont, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Teeny, weeny little shop but an amazing assortment of goodies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

If you have a sweet-tooth ... this is a must visit on your list. From pies, to cupcakes, to cookies, cakes, breads ... they have it all and it's ALL freshly baked. Just walking into the place you'll gain a couple pounds from the awesome smells. And the people working there are always very friendly. Oh ... they have coffee too :-)

Helpful?
Thank JRWLPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moms Apple Pie also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Moms Apple Pie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing