We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Solid” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lansdowne Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lansdowne Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
New York CIty
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Solid”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

We came to the Landsdowne for a bachelorette weekend- and I must say we had a GREAT time. The resort is clearly a destination in itself, as there is not a whole alot around it- There were some great wineiries and antique shops nearby, but otherwise, i wouldnt consider it a vacation destination because of the city, the resort however is very nice. Spotlessley clean and smells of an upscale spa when you walk inside. All the staff were very kind with the exception of the bar staff who were a bit gruff and maybe overworked, there were tons of events happening that night ,so i think they were stretched thin making drinks in the main bar in the lobby. The Pool is fantastic as well, great waterslides and a neat zero entry pool that you can just stroll into!! There was a indoor pool, and there seemed to be ALOT of chlorine in all of them, I can still smell it after showering a day later!! Rooms were very well decorated, but had an odd smell of friction, like something was burning but didnt cause us alarm, it was probably the A/C. We were in a great corner room the -03 rooms with two double beds and a huge balcony overlooking the Potomac and the surrounding forest. All in all we had a great time and the resort is beautiful with gracious staff. Another nice thing was when we had to leave early they had free coffee set up so you could grab a cup to go. Great touch!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MossiDivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    410
    256
    127
    78
See reviews for
368
433
75
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

This resort speaks for itself. It is nicely located between two shopping areas and the service there is amazing. The resort was clean, the employees were friendly and very helpful and it was a very relaxing atmosphere.

If I had to say anything bad about the resort, I would say that the specialty drink prices were a little high and the beds were not comfortable for what you are paying to stay there. We woke up every night with small back pains. But overall, I will give it a 5 star rating. As an travel agent, I would recommend this Resort to all my clients trying to get away. And I will definitely visit it again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuxuriousTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, NJ
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

We stayed at the Lansdowne in August of 2010 for five days with three children.

High marks for this hotel. It is a great retreat for those in the NJ/NY metropolitan area looking for a resort vacation but are unable to swing the normal Florida/Mexico/Island thing.

Check in was painless and pleasant. Everyone was nice, but I have to highlight the guys at the front door. They could not do enough for you.

Our room was spacious and clean. They had almost everything you would expect from a four-star except for a minibar, refrigerator, or safe. (Hence the reason for four stars instead of five)

Housekeeping did a very good job each day which is extremely important to my wife who is very picky.

They have three great outdoor pools and one indoor pool. The main pool has a water slide which was good for my little guys. The pool area is very nice, and there is a pool bar and grille which is expensive but good.

The restaurants were very nice. We ate at two of them and had good meals. The upstairs restaurant had pool tables which my son and I used every night. (They allow minors to play unitl 10:00 p.m.)

The gym was nice too. I used it twice.

All in all, it was a great week. I would recommend the Landsowne to anyone looking for a chill-by-the-pool week, a headquarters for visiting Civil War spots, or a romantic getaway.

Some reviews criticized the hotel for not having flat screen tv's. They don't, but their televisions are fine.

From the Landsowne we did the Balls Bluff Battlefield, Leesburg, Manassas, and D.C. It is a great hotel in a great state. Thanks Lansdowne.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzliteyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgtpepa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2010

I booked here as my nephew was getting married. I booked early and got one of only 2 Alcove suites.
Upon checking in to the room, 821, the room smelled like dog urine. We asked the bellman if they allowed pets and were told they did. We down graded to a king room which was ok for the wedding rate but nothing great.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sgtpepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

My husband and I recently got married at Lansdowne and had a wonderful experience thanks to Leslie Eyster and the staff at Lansdowne. Over the past 9 months of planning, Leslie was always quick to respond and assist with any questions or concerns our families had. The ceremony was more beautiful than we thought it could be and the cocktail hour and reception went smoothly with the help of Leslie and our wonderful banquet manager, Millie. Over the weekend, we enjoyed the spa, pool, and golf courses. Everyone was thrilled with their time spent at the resort and could not have been happier with the rooms, the staff, and all of the food. Our wedding cake was also AMAZING thanks to the pastry chef who created a cake to perfectly match a picture I sent.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brabshelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

With the help of Ashley, our daughter had a beautiful wedding at Lansdowne. Ashley's attention to detail, knowledge of the resort and calming personality resulted in a fabulous wedding which was stress free for the bride and us. Once we made the decisions, Ashley pulled it all together so we could relax and enjoy the day.
The ceremony was held outside on the terrace with a beautiful view. The reception in the clubhouse ballroom was ideal for seating 160, allowing room for a 9 piece band, dance floor and 5 food stations. The food was all wonderful, our guests raved about the crab cakes in particular, but mostly we just heard that it was "the best wedding reception ever." The service was excellent with special attention to the bride and groom which allowed them to eat and drink effortlessly, a waiter just regularly appeared with food and their favorite drinks! Our guests were treated courteously and the staff from servers to clean-up were friendly and helpful throughout the reception.
We used the resort as a mini-destination wedding with most of our family and many friends staying for 3 nights. The bar area is large and welcoming for large groups. We gathered there every evening for some friendly competitions and a lot of visiting.
The pool was our daily gathering point and it was fun for all ages.
We scheduled a nine-hole "just for fun" golf tournament one morning and the 20 golfers had a great time on the beautiful course. Once again the Lansdowne staff was an essential part of planning a fun and well coordinated event.
The rooms were comfortable although with so many activities we didn't spend much time in them!
I highly recommend Lansdowne (and Ashley) for an elegant, welcoming and well coordinated wedding or any other special event.
I would highly recommend Lansdowne

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klbsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

My husband and I recently hosted our wedding at Lansdowne Resort. We had guests stay at the resort for 2-3 nights while holding our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception at the resort. We can't even begin to thank our coordinator, Leslie Eyster, for EVERYTHING that July weekend! It truly could not have been a better weekend for me, my husband or my family. Leslie and ALL of the people at Lansdowne made our job so easy, and everything was even better than we had pictured or planned for! We have received so many compliments from our guests on the venues, accommodations, and service. I know everyone, myself and my husband included, had one of the best weekends of our lives and Leslie and Lansdowne are a huge part of that. Thank you so much for everything you did/organized/planned etc. to make it so unbelievably enjoyable and memorable for us all. We had several friends say that they would love to also use Lansdowne for their future weddings as well, so I hope to be visiting again in the coming years!

Thank you again for everything! Words don't do justice to the amount of gratitude we have for all of the Lansdowne staff, especially Leslie!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leesburg
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Leesburg
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg
2.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Historic Leesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Leesburg
Comfort Suites Leesburg
#3 of 7 in Leesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Ashburn Dulles North
4.2 mi away
Courtyard Dulles Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Resort and Spa

Property: Lansdowne Resort and Spa
Address: 44050 Woodridge Pkwy, Leesburg, VA 20176-5105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lansdowne Resort and Spa, A Destination Hotel is the ultimate sanctuary of sophistication and renewal, inspired by the "good life" of Virginia Wine Country. The resort features three world class golf courses, a destination spa, recreation and four restaurants. A refreshing getaway from Washington, D.C., the resort's beautiful natural setting in Leesburg, Virginia, sprawls 476 acres along the Potomac River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lansdowne Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing