We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great conference hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lansdowne Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lansdowne Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great conference hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

In terms of facilities, cleanliness, and staff, this is one of the better conference hotels that I've been to. The meeting rooms are comfortable and they do a nice job with food and drinks. The bar is big and has pool tables and other games. The only downside is that it is far from the city, but that can be a good thing if you want conference attendees to stick around and socialize with each other.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bobcharli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    361
    220
    108
    74
See reviews for
317
387
67
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Dear Lansdowne,

I recently had the privilege of staying in your resort hotel for two nights. During that time I failed to check out of one room, and spent my wedding night in another. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and was willing to forgive my idiocy by understanding me as a person instead of a number.
The amenities were fabulous. A Keurig coffee maker in each room, full length mirrors, very respectable complimentary toiletries, and an overall welcoming atmosphere made my experience here free of stress and comfortable.
There is a very nice bar that I would recommend to anyone for late night dinner or cocktails. I don't recommend leaving your credit card behind as I did. During checkout we enjoyed chatting with other residents who were also on their way to wedding events, and the staff was kind enough to let us use a bellhop cart to move our items our to the car.
I would recommend this resort hotel to any wedding party or vacationers looking to spend a peaceful night in beautiful northern VA.

P.S. your elevator is fast.

Room Tip: The penthouse. I recommend the Penthouse with the grand balcony. For serious.
See more room tips
Green Features: I noticed many more sustainable detergent products used for laundering linens.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cynicskeptic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear cynicskeptic,
Given your handle on Tripadvisor, we are honored that your experience at Lansdowne Resort was worthy of a great 5-star review. We appreciate your kinds words about the resort and our staff and we hope if your travels bring you back to Northern Virginia, you will consider staying with us again. Congratulations on your recent nuptials and best of luck for an amazing life!

Sincerely,

James J. Horsman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Loved everything about our stay! I've had the privilege of staying at this beautiful resort multiple times and the service couldn't be better. We were (very) late arriving this time around and they could not have been more accommodating to get us to our room quickly. Since we arrived late, we sat at the bar to grab a quick dinner and the food (and drinks) were fantastic. Luckily, we got beautiful weather so we were able to golf and use the pools, my only regret is that I didn't try the spa this time around! I expect every hotel to be clean and the staff to be polite, but Lansdowne went above and beyond to make sure our stay was fabulous. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I recently stayed at Lansdowne for a one-night "spa stay-cation" with a good friend who I wanted to treat to a pre-natal massage and relaxation by the pool. We had a great time and especially appreciated the incredibly warm and welcoming customer service throughout the resort. EVERY staff member we interacted with was friendly and positive. Other nice aspects of the stay: The pool areas are great and are differentiated well- there's a lively family pool with a water slide for those with kids and a quieter adults only pool. Also, every meal we had was good, including chicken salad and pina coladas by the pool, a great buffet breakfast, and a light dinner at the pub restaurant below the lobby. The spa was also a treat. We did not reserve in time to get massages, but received a great facial instead. We would definitely recommend Lansdowne and will be returning soon for another stay.

Room Tip: Units facing the golf club have nice views of the course and family pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cynrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown NJ
Level Contributor
177 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed two nights for a Wine Competition Conference.
The staff was the friendliest we ever had anywhere we have ever stayed at!
Our room was nice on the fourth floor with a view of the golf course. It was very clean, and bathroom huge.
The food the hotel provided for the conference was excellent.
The pools were very nice and we liked there was one for adults only.
The only thing we didn't like was the mandatory resort fee, but lots of hotel are now charging them.
We would recommend staying there and it is an excellent venue for a conference.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmjbrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear jmjbrtw,
Thank you so much for taking time to submit a great 5-star review for Lansdowne Resort. As a Tripadvisor Top Contributor, we understand you travel quite a bit and visit many hotels and resorts. For you to award Lansdowne Resort a 5-star review is much appreciated and valued. Our Northern Virginia conference resort is IACC-certified and recognized as one of the premier facilities in the Mid-Atlantic. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting the WineMakers Conference and we hope to see everyone, including you, again soon.
Warmest Regards,

James J. Horsman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Had a great stay at the Lansdowne this past weekend for a conference I was attending. The room was very nice with a great view of the golf course and partial view of the Potomac. It seems that the higher up, the better. I was on the 8th floor. Service was excellent, from maids to bar staff to conference and food-service workers.
I needed to ship a package for the conference, since I only had a carry-on, and the package was waiting in my room when I arrived.
The resort has a number of swimming pools, including an indoor lap-pool which I took advantage of. There are two small jacuzzis, one indoor one outdoor.
The airport shuttle is a nice benefit, but I would only recommend it if you're traveling by yourself. The price for one person ($30) is about the cost of a taxi. So if you have more than one, take a taxi and split it.
There were a couple restaurants at the resort, but I'd take advantage of the surrounding area (like Leesburg) as there are some really good finds. I ate at Palio, an Italian place that was really good.
All in all, great stay, friendly staff, nice location. I'd recommended it.

Room Tip: Higher up, facing the club house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachBumBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Lansdowne Resort for the weekend of May 16. My best friend was getting married, and I was lucky enough to be a bridesmaid by her side through all the festivities. The resort staff was more than accommodating with every request we had. Imagine the amount of people milling around with a bridal party of almost twenty attendants. The management helped direct other guests to our room and made sure that we had everything we needed when heading out to the venue.

On a more personal note, during the shuffle to get over to the venue my electric toothbrush got left behind. After the reception, I returned to find it missing. I headed down to the front desk to see if anyone had picked it up. Lo and behold there it was! They looked all over at almost midnight to find it.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bestly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leesburg
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Leesburg
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg
2.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Historic Leesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Leesburg
Comfort Suites Leesburg
#3 of 7 in Leesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Ashburn Dulles North
4.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles - North/Loudoun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Resort and Spa

Property: Lansdowne Resort and Spa
Address: 44050 Woodridge Pkwy, Leesburg, VA 20176-5105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lansdowne Resort and Spa, A Destination Hotel is the ultimate sanctuary of sophistication and renewal, inspired by the "good life" of Virginia Wine Country. The resort features three world class golf courses, a destination spa, recreation and four restaurants. A refreshing getaway from Washington, D.C., the resort's beautiful natural setting in Leesburg, Virginia, sprawls 476 acres along the Potomac River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Lansdowne Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing