We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great little Getaway! Will be back for sure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lansdowne Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lansdowne Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Perry Hall, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great little Getaway! Will be back for sure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We visited in July 2013. We were in the process of buying a new house and didn't want to take a big summer vacation. I came across a certifikid deal and thought we would try it out. Upon checking in, we felt very welcomed. Our room was comfortable and clean. The pool was great! My kids had a blast and we loved watching them while we waved our little flag and ordered poolside food and drinks. We joked that we should come for a week instead of heading to the all-inclusives we love. Food in the bar/restaurant was great. We stayed for 2 nights and ate there both nights. They have great happy hour specials and an area to send the kids to play the wii while you enjoy some kid free conversation. My kids loved the shuffle board game there as well. We had a great time and will be back again this summer for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    371
    232
    112
    74
See reviews for
331
400
71
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Had an impromptu get away this weekend, and we made a call to the front desk at around 8 PM on Saturday night. Talked to the Manager, Lisa Wilhelm, and she was able to set us up in a very nice room right away! When we arrived, we recieved an enthusiastic welcome, and they remembered our name, and that in itself, made us feel special.

We had a another great room, with a great veiw of the golf course, and this morning when we woke up, it was even nicer, when there was snow on the ground!

Speaking of the snow, there was almost a foot of snow on the ground, so I went downstairs to shovel our car out, and to my suprise, the staff at Landsdowne Resort had already removed all the snow in the parking lot, removed the snow in between the cars, and were in the process of removing snow from peoples cars!

What a very nice gesture. Just even more proof that this resort goes the extra mile for their customers.

The food from room service, and the various establishments on site has always been great, but I think they have improved on it.

This morning, the breakfast buffet had some new items, and they were AWESOME.

Home made, Mango yogurt? Wow. That was just great. I could have that every day. In fact, I dont know if I can even eat yogurt that isnt Mango!

Short Rib Sausage Gravy, over freshly baked biscuits were one of the new additions and the BEST Biscuits and Gravy I have ever had.

Sweet Potato corned beef hash was done very nicely as well.

This place is great, and my Fiance and I have discussed going here at least twice a month. They have so many other great attractions that we need to try out, such as the Spa, and the gold course.

5 Stars from walking in, to walking out. I dont know how anyone cannot give Landsdowne Resort and its staff 5 stars!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hello Chris F,
Thanks so much for taking time to submit a great 5-star review for Lansdowne Resort. It is amazing to read your review and great details of your stay. We will share this with our staff as they work hard to make sure all of our guests have a 5-star experience each and every day. Thanks again for the 5-star review for Lansdowne and we hope to see you again very soon.
Sincerely,

James J. Horsman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids Michigan
Level Contributor
152 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

If you are bumped from United Airlines at IAD you will probably be sent here. I was :) It was much nicer than the kind of joint I expected UA to send us.

It is a pretty nice golf resort type place. The bed was fine, The room was fine. Front desk check-in was very polite and professional.

There is a free airport shuttle. It's about a 20 minute ride.

Business center was pretty easy to use.

The tavern had a decent burger and fries. Drinks were well-made.


I would be less enthusiastic had I paid a lot for the room--but I did not.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequentflyermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2015
Dear Frequentflyermom,

Thank you for sharing your recent Lansdowne experience.

We realize it is never fun being stranded at the airport but we always try to welcome all of our United guests as family so that while they are away from theirs we can provide a safe, comfortable and inviting haven for all. So I was pleased to read your comments about us exceeding your expectations and enjoying your stay.

I do hope the next time you visit us it will be for pleasure instead of a business layover that way you can enjoy the spa and our fabulous grounds.

Warm regards,
Jim Horsman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I actually stayed here against my will- I was bumped off a flight and 11 people and I were rebooked (the day before a snowstorm, walking on thin ice there) and send to Lansdowne. I was expecting something fairly run of the mill, but I was surprised to find that this resort is upscale, and the staff were very friendly. By the time I arrived the gym was closed (9pm, womp womp) but my room was nice, big and had an in room coffee maker (love these.) I ordered latenight delivery and the food was fine (I ordered off the kids menu, so nothing gourmet) and the only thing I'd warn about is the $6 delivery charge- if I'd known about that I would have gone to the kitchen myself! There's free coffee before 10.30am in one of the restaurants, so if you're after milk and cream, you can snag some downstairs. All in all, for a free stay, this was lovely, and the grounds were beautiful in the snow.

Green Features: Only the towel thing 're-use your towels!' overrated as usual. Nothing to write home about.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hello Serena B,
Glad you found our resort to be such a pleasant surprises despite the unfortunate circumstance of being the victim of a delayed flight. For distressed airline passengers, they find our AAA Four Diamond resort in Northern Virginia to be a refreshing alternative over the select service hotels that cannot offer the resort amenities we possess here. We appreciate your comments and wish you safe travels in the future,
Warmest Regards,

James J. Horsman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We moved to leesburg and tried Lansdowne a few times and have been disappointed each time. The first two times, the spa messed up our booking and nothing was done to correct so we didn't get the services we wanted. I sent them an email both times and no one responded. We then stayed for their New Years overnight package. The dinner service was terrible. Utensils were not replaced when used and taken away and we waited 40 minutes between courses. The band was lame and the drinks were pitiful. The rum and coke had barely any rum and they refused to top it up. The beds are very uncomfortable as well. I again emailed them and got an automated message that the GM would respond but he never did...again. They don't care about their clients and have lost what would have been a regular customer. We're going to salamander resort from now on. If you want 5 star service, don't go here.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2015
Dear Lara

I just wanted you to know that not all responses are automated, and that I truly care about our guests experience while they are with us so I wanted to reach out to you personally about what you shared. As for the spa, you did say the bookings were mixed up but I would like to know a little more so I could address your concerns with spa staff. As for New Year’s Eve, I was surprised because I had heard very positive things about that evening all the way around, and this is the first I have heard about a lengthy delay in food being served. Definitely would like to talk to you about this so I could get a sense where you were sitting, and who was working that section of the room to ensure I speak to the proper food and beverage managers. I do hope you will take me up on my invitation and call me so that we can talk. Please reach out to me directly at jhorsman@destinationhotels.com with your contact information so we can talk further.

Warm regards,
Jim Horsman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Just wanted to get away for a date night and let me sa that we had a wondeful time, but not long enough. We will be returning very soon for the entire weekend. Staff and resort was perfect. We were very well rested and the option for late check out made it all the better.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aloma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hello Aloma J,
Thanks so much for your recent 5-star review of Lansdowne Resort. We appreciate your taking time to submit your positive comments about our Northern Virginia resort. We look forward to your return when you can spend more time with us. Our outdoor pools will open on May 17, so mark your calendar and visit soon!
Sincerely,

James J. Horsman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Hotel and location very beautiful.
Pros- location, scenery facilities, helpful staff and service Gym and pool is small but perefctly workable
Cons- dated decor , static electricity from carpets and bedding is awful. The electrical sockets and switches are very old and plastic.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank palcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leesburg
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Leesburg
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg
2.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Historic Leesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Leesburg
Comfort Suites Leesburg
#3 of 7 in Leesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Ashburn Dulles North
4.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles - North/Loudoun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Resort and Spa

Property: Lansdowne Resort and Spa
Address: 44050 Woodridge Pkwy, Leesburg, VA 20176-5105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lansdowne Resort and Spa, A Destination Hotel is the ultimate sanctuary of sophistication and renewal, inspired by the "good life" of Virginia Wine Country. The resort features three world class golf courses, a destination spa, recreation and four restaurants. A refreshing getaway from Washington, D.C., the resort's beautiful natural setting in Leesburg, Virginia, sprawls 476 acres along the Potomac River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Lansdowne Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing