We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very poor followup of lost item” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lansdowne Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lansdowne Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very poor followup of lost item”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed in the resort for 3 days in early October, while attending a symposium. The business part of the meeting proceeded smoothly with no major problems and I found the facilities quite good for the purpose of the program. I can't comment on the golf

However I have had problems with the service relating to an item which was delivered to the conference centre 2 days prior to my arrival. It could not be found during my stay there. It was signed for by a member of staff and I provided the delivery confirmation details to the conference support staff who assured me that it would be posted to me once it was traced.
It has been a month since my stay and I have not even had a reply to my multiple emails and requests for information.
When I called the hotel, I was assured that someone would be in touch shortly, either personally or via email. 2 weeks have passed with no follow up.

I have now given up on ever receiving the item, but hopefully this will serve as a warning in case someone is thinking of having anything delivered there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ASK73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    361
    223
    108
    74
See reviews for
319
388
67
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent one night away. I wanted to go somewhere that was not too far (1 hour drive) but that felt like we were away. We were very pleased. I enjoyed my salt scrub at the spa and my husband enjoyed his time on the golf course. We dined at a local restaurant but enjoyed room service the next day. Wonderful getaway! Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baker109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Baker109,
Thanks so much for your 5-star review for Lansdowne Resort via Tripadvisor. We are a great escape for many in the DC area and I am pleased to know that you view our AAA Four-Diamond Northern Virginia resort as a convenient and relaxing retreat. I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!
Sincerely,

James J. Horsman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
190 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights at a business conference. The rooms were clean, I liked the flatter pillows and the food was good. Had I been paying myself, seemed a bit expensive. Tv was nice, Internet was free. It would have been nice to golf. But I didn't have time.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I was at this resort for a family event in October. The resort is off Route 7, but it is not easy to get to, since there are not good direction signs (I am glad we printed out the map prior to going). The property is very nice, and we had a room on the 9th floor with a nice view of the golf course.

We got there early (around 2 PM), and we found parking in the self-parking lot that was pretty close to the lobby area. The staff was very nice and checked us in early. My wife had a nice time at the spa, and I went to the very well equipped fitness center, with good cardio, machine, and free weight choices.

The room was clean and well furnished. A couple of minor bad points: The warm air was kind of dry for some reason (of course, we were at a wedding, so the drinks we had may have had some impact). Also, the shower water pressure was not the best. The water got to a good temperature quickly, but both showerhead settings did not provide good water pressure.

The ballrooms for the wedding and reception were very nice, and the food was really good. We had a good time.

Room Tip: Higher floors are likely to have better views of the golf course or surrounding area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I was put up in this hotel by United, who cancelled my flight home and stranded me in the DC area. After a long day of travel, my fiance picked us up two beers at the bar with her credit card. We used my card on our vacation, and she used her credit card at the Lansdowne bar. Big mistake. When we arrived home the next day the credit card company called and said that the card had been used three times at establishments around the area. This card hadn't been used for weeks and certainly not around the DC area except for at this one bar.
The management seemed somewhat interested in the fact that someone working there was stealing credit card info but I never heard back on any action taken to find out what happened. To my knowledge the person who stole our info is still employed there.

In summary, nice hotel (hence the two stars) but use CASH at the bar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harveylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Harveylaw,
Thanks for your concern, and for the record, we can publicly state that our accounting office conducted a full and thorough investigation into the allegations. We also communicated with you via email numerous times, yet our numerous attempts to contact you via phone to resolve the issue were not returned, although we left several messages. However, we were able to complete the investigation with the data you did provide and we trust this has been resolved to your satisfaction. Despite this being a very unfortunate occurrance and one I cannot recall having happened before during my time at the resort, I can report that our employees working that night are in excellent standing with us and are exceptionally trustworthy employees. Once again, we trust this issue has been resolved and we regret this isolated incident impacted your stay.
Sincerely,

James J. Horsman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Lansdowne demands and enforces cancellation notice 72 hours ahead of check in time, so be sure that your life will not change within the window. This is one of the longest cancellation notice requirements that I have ever seen. I can say from personal experience that 48 hours will not do for Lansdowne, and that you will be charged for one night's stay.

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times. The rooms are always attractive and clean. Some of the rooms have very nice golf course views. I miss On the Potomac, the fine dining restaurant that is now closed. The other dining options are OK, but On the Potomac felt more special.

This is a golf resort, and the golf is very nice. As a golf resort it competes in my mind with similar resorts in Florida, Arizona, and Nevada and is a firm middle of the pack choice.

I calculate the value at poor because I averaged the cost of the stay that I was able to complete with the cost of the stay that I was unable to complete, canceled within 48 hours, and was charged for. In the event that I return to Lansdowne, I will average that cost in, and see if the value then rises to average.

Room Tip: Always ask for a golf course view. The other views are uninspiring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I was here for a small meeting and have been here several times. On the plus side the property is lovely and the meeting spaces and restaurants are excellent. The food is wonderful and ranges from the standard stuff to new or unusual foods to try (dried kiwi on the coffee bar, breakfast roll with eggs and meats, etc.).Room amenities are nice with large bottles of soap, shampoo, etc in the shower with pumps, good tv, nice chair with footstool. Great fitness center. The downsides: only two accessible plugs in your room, desk chair height does not match the desk height (chin on the desk!), disability access to the dining room is far from the main entrance, and AC in my room was not working well. Finally, the signage for the resort makes it very difficult to find even with GPS. The rooms are quite dark, as well. Overall, a lovely place which needs a bit more attention to detail to get a 5 start rating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leesburg
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Leesburg
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg
2.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Historic Leesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Leesburg
Comfort Suites Leesburg
#3 of 7 in Leesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Ashburn Dulles North
4.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles - North/Loudoun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Resort and Spa

Property: Lansdowne Resort and Spa
Address: 44050 Woodridge Pkwy, Leesburg, VA 20176-5105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lansdowne Resort and Spa, A Destination Hotel is the ultimate sanctuary of sophistication and renewal, inspired by the "good life" of Virginia Wine Country. The resort features three world class golf courses, a destination spa, recreation and four restaurants. A refreshing getaway from Washington, D.C., the resort's beautiful natural setting in Leesburg, Virginia, sprawls 476 acres along the Potomac River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Lansdowne Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing