We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“5 Star Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lansdowne Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lansdowne Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Dennis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5 Star Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This has been the second time we had the pleasure of staying at Lansdowne.it is a magical place. The views are spectacular- we experienced them from 2 of the golf courses,our room,& all the buildings.Service is impeccable- sometimes too attentive-as we experienced with the dining room manager in The Crooked Billet-who stopped by our table at least 6x's. What a pest! The food served in all the restaurants was creative using local game,farm and seasonal bounty-we just loved the beautiful food. The rooms are immaculate as well as the public areas. This is my kind of place! We are golfers - so Lansdowne offers 45 holes of unbelievable golf-o yeah!

Room Tip: This visit we used a travel website to get a better price-but of course our room location for the vi...
See more room tips
Green Features: very aware of the surrounding environment - preserve the forest & river valley which is evident by all the wildlife you can see on the grounds. You do not see disruption of natural landscape.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    410
    257
    127
    78
See reviews for
368
433
75
366
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

A group of friends and I played golf one afternoon at Lansdowne. It was a great experience to say the least. Just to start the staff at the club house was very friendly and accommodating as we got a late start. The golf course was beautiful and in excellent shape. The views from the Tee Boxes and Greens were great. Being a hack on the course, I can attest that the course was rewarding for a well hit ball, but doesn't overly penalize a player for a missed or into the rough shot. After our golf outing we visited the clubhouse for drinks and food. Again, the staff was very friendly, the food and drink was excellent. The seating in the club house was very comfortable and the view of the Potomac River and Mountains was beautiful. If you are looking for a great day of golf on a challenging and fun course, friendly staff, and great food and beverage on the 19th, Lansdowne is a must play resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Rosemary B,

Thanks so much for sharing such a wonderful 5-star review on Tripadvisor. I am so pleased you enjoyed all the guest experiences during your stay, especially the dining and the golf. As for your server, we have been striving to improve the service levels at the resort, so I guess on the bright side it is better to be overly attentive versus being under serviced. However, great feedback, and again, thanks so much for a great 5-star review.

James J. Horsman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I was at this resort for a quick overnight stay and have to say that it is quite beautiful and has some impressive views. I can understand why they host so many weddings! I was also pleased while the main business is really golf, their facilities were also perfect for a business meeting. Rooms are nice and big, free wifi, robes in room and Gilchrist and Sommes amenitites. We ate in 2 of the restaurants on site and the food was delicious. Its a bit of a ride from DC, especially in traffic but I look forward to having another meeting at this resort. My only complaint is that the pillows are small and too soft. I had to pile 3 of them to get some type of support for sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpecialKNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

I had the opportunity to enjoy Landsdowne resort last weekend after a weeding. we needed car service to the wedding as the shuttle was full, not a problem as the concierge staff had us a nice town car that would be ready upon our arrival as we were running late. Valet did a great job welcoming us and made us feel immediately at home, fronr desk staff were true ambassadors of hospitality and had us ready in minutes. of to the wedding in a flash. We returned that evening and enjoyed in room dining, went down to the lounge for a tasty night cap and ambiance.Staff was outstanding,quality and value is there. Truly a nice stay, my only regret was leaving before we played golf.

Room Tip: upgrade to an alcove suite, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hello Scott W,
Thanks so much for submitting a 5-star review on Tripadvisor. Sounds like you had an amazing weekend with us. Please spread the word to your friends in the Alexandria area as our Northern Virginia resort makes for nice weekend getaways and escapes. Thanks again for your 5-star review and we hope to see you again soon.

James J. Horsman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feeding Hills
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We drove 8 hours from New England to play Golf @ the Resort. We were greeted and treated... "Like Royalty" upon our arrival! ( Really appreciated that! ) Even despite the rain we experienced... Golf course was AWESOME!!! ( Jim enriched us with the history of the course. That was an added, unexpected bonus!! ) The indoor pool was great and location to shopping & Washington D. C. were outstanding!! Very Happy with the Landsdowne Resort...( Hopefully ) I will have the opportunity to return in the future!!! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We were guests at the resort over Columbus Day weekend. Our purpose was to attend a wedding at the resort. The room was lovely. Clean with nice amenities. Big plus - bottled water in room was at no additional charge. Lighted, magnifying mirror in dressing area and additional plus. The bathroom though! It was incredibly small and difficult to close the door while using the toilet or showering. We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant. The food was good however the meal was overpriced at $20 a person. We were not given an option of full buffet or continental although we saw other tables having that. Front desk staff were helpful.
Staff in the bar appeared inexperienced and overwhelmed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bklynred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hello bklynred,
Thanks for your recent comments. Your rooms feedback is well taek and we are in the midst of discussions to make a solid update in this area in 2014. In fact, there are many updates, improvements and changes happening here since I arrived four months ago. We will get there, but your feedback in the meantime is much appreciated.

JamesJ. Horsman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Came for a business trip. Wouldn't come back unless I had to.

Pros:
- grounds are beautiful
- hotel seemed clean and well kept
- every staff member I dealt with was friendly and professional

Cons:
- sheets on my bed hadn't been changed! Previous guests' hair, etc was left behind
- room service food bland

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank heel5man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leesburg
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Leesburg
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg
2.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Historic Leesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Leesburg
Comfort Suites Leesburg
#3 of 7 in Leesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Ashburn Dulles North
4.2 mi away
Courtyard Dulles Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Resort and Spa

Property: Lansdowne Resort and Spa
Address: 44050 Woodridge Pkwy, Leesburg, VA 20176-5105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lansdowne Resort and Spa, A Destination Hotel is the ultimate sanctuary of sophistication and renewal, inspired by the "good life" of Virginia Wine Country. The resort features three world class golf courses, a destination spa, recreation and four restaurants. A refreshing getaway from Washington, D.C., the resort's beautiful natural setting in Leesburg, Virginia, sprawls 476 acres along the Potomac River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Lansdowne Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing