We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lansdowne Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Suites Leesburg(Leesburg)(Great Value!)
$129
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
$102
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$101
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$99
$89
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$89
Homewood
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$99
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,248)
Filter reviews
2,248 results
Traveler rating
1,006
580
380
174
108
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,006
580
380
174
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseriverside hearthgolf clubpotomac rivergirls weekendbreakfast buffetbusiness meetingbeautiful propertyfire pitfitness centerindoor pooldc areadulles airportweddingryecotonclubhouse
Filter
Updating list...
1,783 - 1,788 of 2,248 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice facility with a lot of options for leisure/entertainment. But if I'd known in advance how horribly overcrowded the resort management has allowed this to become, I *never* would've come here. Despite 5 nice swimming pools, they were out of towels, out of chairs, the pools themselves were packed wall to wall and the deck and snack areas were dirty disaster zones. Seriously, this is a management issue - limit the memberships, or build an additional facility! We didn't feel like resort guests at all, rather more like straws on the camel's back. So disappointed that we spent time and money in this, totally not worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TT476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear TT476,

We are deeply disappointed to read that your recent stay did not impress you in every way. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your visit. We will share your comments with our entire team to make certain we continue to provide top-notch service and well-appointed accommodations to our valued customers. Thank you for your feedback, it is our hope that you will reconsider a future stay with us.

Warmest regards,
James J. Horsman
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We visited Lansdowne on the weekend of our 10th Wedding Anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. All of the staff were kind, friendly and attentive throughout our visit, from beginning to end. The Spa was excellent and relaxing. The food was wonderful and artfully prepared. Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The location was very convenient to shopping, attractions and major highways. Overall, it was a wonderful experience and we look forward to visiting again, perhaps with our children the next time.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Corner King room configuration.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonsoir206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Bonsoir,

We are thrilled that you were able to spend your 10th anniversary with us. We are pleased that you chose us for this special occasion. Thank you for commenting on the wonderful service, our team is always thrilled to hear feedback such as this. We hope we can help you celebrate your special occasions for many years to come. We certainly look forward to your return.

Warmest regards,
James J. Horsman
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We visited Lansdowne Resort for one night over a busy Memorial Day weekend in 2013 (we're an over-30 adult couple, no kids). In booking the reservation, the staff was friendly and helpful over the phone. When we arrived at the property, however, no valet approached our vehicle or offered to help with our bags. Front desk staff was friendly, but a number of them were trainees, and they frequently had to get the attention of a manager to help answer our questions, making check-in slow. Our upper floor room was clean and attractive. We checked at the spa on the property, and they informed us no services were available through the weekend (all appointments were taken), so IMHO, they were not properly staffed to accommodate holiday weekend guests. Several weddings were occuring on property, and they seemed to command a lot of the staff attention. The pool areas were clean and staffed with lifeguards, but one of the outdoor pools was closed and the indoor lap pool was crowded with active young children. We relaxed at one of the outdoor pools and the cafe staff was attentive. Drinks were a good size, but not terribly strong. We opted for dinner in the town of Leesburg, and there were many quality choices in the 'old-town' section, rather than the restaurants on property, which did not appear to offer many vegetarian options on their menus. We had the buffet-style breakfast in the morning, which was typical resort or crusie-style fare, lots of options, but nothing especially innovative. Overall, Lansdowne Resort was clean and attractive-looking in a corporate/Disney-like way, but the staffing and services left much to be desired, and in our opinion, makes them fall well short of the 4-star reputation they promote.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Steve J,
I am very disappointed to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations during your most recent visit. This feedback is certainly not indicative of the comments we typically receive so please accept my apologies for the shortcomings that you endured. I hope that we can earn an opportunity to better serve you in the future as I am confident we would be able to provide you with an experience you would expect from a four diamond property. Please know that your business is greatly valued and we are sorry that we fell short during your stay.

Warmest regards,
James J. Horsman
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this property for one night in June, his Step- mom booked us the couples package which was supposed to include a bunch of goodies, champagne, overnight stay, chocolate and strawberries, couples massage, breakfast for two and a dinner credit. While yes, we did get all of these things eventually- the package was very confusing. We had the champagne and strawberries sent up but they never arrived. When we called regarding the delivery they said "Oh, we don't even have you under that package". ??? Then we made dinner reservations early in the day and went to cancel them about 30 minutes before our dinner time and the hostess stand said they never had our reservation to begin with. ??? We sat by the pool and had drinks, the waitresses were completely clueless. I asked for a Mai-Tai and the poolside waitress said she had never heard of that drink and did not know if the bar could make it. ??? The waitress was painfully slow - she brought my sandwich and fries and I asked for ketchup- 15 mins later she did not bring the ketchup- I asked again and asked for new fries because they had gotten cold...she said she had to ask if she could get me new fries...then came back and took my whole plate and said she had to show the kitchen the cold fries, leaving me eating my sandwich with no plate. ??? After we left we saw the waitress in the lobby "running out" talking on her cell phone. Clearly she had a place to be and we were interrupting her plans. I am not sure why she just did not close out our ticket and give us another waitress. I will give some leeway for it being the first weekend of summer- so the new staff probably did not have a lot of "ramp up" time to train.... I am guessing that was the issue with the pool staff.

Regarding the rest of the hotel - the room was nice, we ate dinner instead at the bar downstairs and played wii, which was a blast! The staff at the bar was great. Breakfast the next morning was by far our best meal- the spread was beautiful- food was perfect and staff was very accommodating, and made us happy first thing in the morning.

The front desk staff was clueless at most requests, the concierge- clueless.

The spa- we got our couples massage and felt they were WAY overpriced!!!!!!! Including tip we spent WAY more than we wanted to. It was not worth the price. The spa was nice though we used the steam room, sauna and relaxation rooms.

I would come here again maybe at a less busy time, and not get a massage. We have another voucher for a free night stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Cruise,
I’d like to apologize on behalf of the resort for some of the hiccups that occurred during your recent stay. Your experience with the poolside dining is unacceptable and I will be sure to bring this matter to the attention of the food and beverage manager to ensure that it does not happen again. It is our goal to empower each and every employee to handle situations such as yours with ease without having to ask permission. I would also like to apologize that our staff was not as informed as they should have been; this is a matter that I will follow up on with our front office manager. I do hope that you will return to the resort at a later date and give us another chance to exceed your expectations and provide you with value during your stay.

Sincerely,

James J. Horsman
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our first stay here was just wonderful! Purchased a Certifikid voucher for an overnight stay. Stayed overnight on a Monday and were able to check in early. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Went straight to pools and they were clean and well staffed with lifeguards. We stayed all day and enjoyed all the different pools and the pool-side service. Only one restaurant in the resort was open for dinner. So we went out to eat and enjoyed some outlet shopping. Room was very clean and comfortable. We were treated with water bottles, sodas and cupcakes. Bathroom was large and clean. Cannot wait to stay again!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanCG619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear JoanCG619,
It is wonderful to read that your first trip to Lansdowne Resort was such a positive one! I am glad to hear that you had a chance to use the pool facilities and were able to take advantage of all that the area has to offer including some great shopping. We look forward to your next visit to the resort.

Sincerely,

James J. Horsman
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews