We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Place to Escape to” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lansdowne Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lansdowne Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great Place to Escape to”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Very nice resort. Ask for a corner king room, quiet and huge. Bed was very comfy! Beautifully decorated. Room safe (love those) Robes provided. Very clean room and bathroom. They provide towels for the pools, spas etc, so no need to pack those. Good health club faciliites with new machines. Lockers available in Health Club. Several pools outside and one pool inside. Spa Minerale located on the property. Golf and 4 restaurants. The views from the back terraces are excellent, very calm and quiet while we were there. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank queban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear queban,
You are very kind to be so complimentary of the many facets of Lansdowne Resort, thank you very much. The staff will be happy to know how much you enjoyed your visit, and I am glad you were able to enjoy the weather from the back terraces. It would be our pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Lansdowne Resort for another stay with us in the near future.

Sincerely,

Stefan Huber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    371
    232
    112
    74
See reviews for
331
400
71
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bexbach
Level Contributor
207 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

nice hotel located 20 min drive from dulles airport .
the hotel offers a hourly free shuttle to the airport .
the hotel is new and stylish .
the rooms are large and well equiped . the bathroom is clean . the sleeping comfort is very good .
the hotel is directy at the golf course .
a nice hotel not only for a layover !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank khzuerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear khzuerich,
We're glad you enjoyed your recent stay at the Lansdowne Resort. Even though you were only with us for a night, it seems that you truly enjoyed your stay. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for a longer stay soon.

Sincerely,

Stefan Huber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

This is primarily a wedding destination. They had like five or six when I stayed there. That's how I got suckered into staying here. The scenery is pretty and they seem to have some nicely decorated restaurants. The food served at the wedding reception was good.
The room was decent. Nothing to write home about. The bed was very hard. The most annoying thing was the housekeeping staff kept letting doors slam when leaving rooms. It would shake the walls it was so loud. Very disrespectful.
One plus is they had really fast elevators. Not sure that means anything, but I noticed it. Maybe this would be a good place for a golf weekend, but I won't stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent one night at this property when a late arrival from Tokyo caused us to miss our onward flight. We did not use any of the hotel's facilities. It appears to be a higher end facility: well maintained overall, and our room was spotless. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Paul B,
We're glad you enjoyed your recent stay even though it was for a short time. Your kind review and mention of our staff as well as your accommodations are greatly appreciated. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for a longer stay soon.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I called the day before arrival for a family members funeral. The reservation clerk went above and beyond to help my family through a difficult time. Hotel is in a quite peaceful setting, well appointed clean rooms and fantastic staff! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Michelle D,
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback and to let you know how much we appreciate your comments about our staff and the resort. We take pride in our employees and it is simply the team's extraordinary commitment to excellence in customer service and support that motivates them to always go the extra mile. We truly appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us, we certainly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you for a stay at our resort soon.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I and 18 others were returning from Vail, CO when we missed out plane in Washington, DC. The airlines comped us in this resort and it was beautiful! The rooms were spacious, the breakfast delicious and the bar was very friendly. I wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the place and use the pool, etc. I would recommend it highly!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaykay48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello Kaykay48,

We hope your next visit will be longer so that you might enjoy all Lansdowne Resort has to offer. While disappointed your return from Vail became more complicated than one would hope, we are happy to have had you and your husband as a guest. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
256 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

After getting stranded at Washington Dulles courtesy of United Airlines, I had low expectations for what their hotel voucher would buy. The shuttle ride was not encouraging either as many were stuck from our late flight and several others, so the small shuttle had standing room only for what seemed like a long ride away from the airport.

Upon arrival however, I was pleasantly surprised. The Lansdowne Resort staff did a good job working the line and getting everyone a room. The room was clean and nicely appointed. I read a little about the hotel and learned it is only 8 miles from Dulles - it seemed longer while standing in the courtesy van but was much shorter when returning in the morning.

The rooms are fashionable and mine was very clean. The hotel features a spa and golf (when the snow melts) It is right along the Potomac, although you couldn't tell from midnight till 5AM!
If there was a disappointment for a stranded traveler it was that the toothbrush they offered as a convenience was supposed to have toothpaste injected into the brush shaft but it was dried up and did not work as intended. Still, it was a much better stay than expected as I have been to airline referred hotels before and been very disappointed.

I had a pleasant ride via taxi back to the airport and an uneventful, quiet evening with free wi fi during the evening.

It would be nice to see the Lansdowne Inn during the daylight!

Room Tip: Can't really say - took what I got and was too tired to argue....my hallway was quiet on the 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moved2Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Moved to Texas (Austin, Texas),

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts regarding your recent experience at Lansdowne Resort. The unfortunate cancellation of flights due to mechanical difficulties or weather can certainly be a trying time for all concerned but we are happy to learn that you enjoyed your brief stay with us. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and your accommodations.

Be assured we will be addressing the “all in one” toothbrush/toothpaste with our provider. I apologize for this inconvenience. Hopefully your next visit will take place when the snow melts and you will be able to take advantage of our amenities (including all 45 holes of golf!) and our aquatic complex - it is most relaxing.

Please say “hello” to our friends in Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leesburg
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Leesburg
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg
2.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Historic Leesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Leesburg
Comfort Suites Leesburg
#3 of 7 in Leesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Ashburn Dulles North
4.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles - North/Loudoun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Resort and Spa

Property: Lansdowne Resort and Spa
Address: 44050 Woodridge Pkwy, Leesburg, VA 20176-5105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lansdowne Resort and Spa, A Destination Hotel is the ultimate sanctuary of sophistication and renewal, inspired by the "good life" of Virginia Wine Country. The resort features three world class golf courses, a destination spa, recreation and four restaurants. A refreshing getaway from Washington, D.C., the resort's beautiful natural setting in Leesburg, Virginia, sprawls 476 acres along the Potomac River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Lansdowne Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing