We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better this time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lansdowne Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lansdowne Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Much better this time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a top notch property with lots of great amenities. I was here for a conference in January, so the golf options were not available, but everything else was. Great service, the food was much better than last time I was here, and the rooms are very nice. They have a nice workout facility as well. I would recommend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fischman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear fischman44,
We’re so pleased to read about your recent experience at Lansdowne Resort. It certainly seems that you enjoyed your time here. We’re thankful for your recommendation as well as you enjoyed the food, our workout facility and service. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back so that you can enjoy our beautiful room views and hopefully get a chance to play golf. Thank you for your review.

Sincerely,
Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    374
    233
    112
    74
See reviews for
332
400
71
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My recent experience:
1. The resort is beautiful!!! The grounds could not be more stunning! Go in spring or fall and i am sure it will be the most beautiful peaceful place you've ever been!
2. i called 3 times before arriving: Once to book, once to schedule spa services and once because we had to move schedules for the spa... Everyone was so courteous and helpful. They told me we could come early to the spa, usethe steam or sauna and just relax before our services. I thought how fabulous.
3. The lounge on the first floor is a must stop in!! Just a good vibe, decent drinks, awesome staff.
4. Arrive: pretty cold, lightly snowing, pull up because we see the valet sign, sit there, wait, wait nobody shows up
5. Checkin- nothing much just a standard checkin
6. Room is fine
7. Go to spa: the welcome staff is less then welcoming, seems chaotic with just myself and my friend checking in. Nobdy seemed to know where we should go. We are then told to head to the locker room and a locker room attendant would help is. Go in the locker room, we are standing there, looking around, dont see anyone. We get that worked out, change, then stand there waiting to know where to next. Another locker room attended comes. We finally get in for our services. The treatments are mediocre at best for the price.
7. After that we go to dinner at the Potomac restaurant downstairs. You have maybe 12 items total to choose from on the menu, our waiter seemed more interested in the boxing on the tv over by the bar then helping us, but the hostess was super kind and welcoming.
8. We went back upstairs to the lounge restaurant and ate awesome food, which appears to come from the kitchen downstairs, which seemed odd.
9. Stayed the night checked out
10. 5 days later noticed a nightmare billing problem that is still being worked out, that just by the way the the staff has handled makes me not feel highly about this destination.
This is my very candid review. I can make do with the not great spa experience because there are plenty of other things to do, i can tolerate the below par fancy restaurant because there is another place to eat and it's yum, i really don't care for the in consistancy in the customer service, but i can promise you I do not tolerate the messed up billing, i have to draw the line somewhere.
See title to some this up.
All my best

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilovetotravellocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Our company had its yearly celebration at this resort. From the planning to the hotel rooms -- everything was handled professionally, and the staff was fantastic. I would highly recommend this venue for special events.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Rhonda,
Thank you for choosing Lansdowne Resort to celebrate your holiday party. We are pleased to hear that our friendly, dedicated staff, our planning, and the well-appointed accommodations made your party even more enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back for a relaxing getaway at our resort in the near future!

Sincerely,

Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed here when my flight was cancelled and the airline put us up here. It was huge and had very clean rooms. My one complaint about the room was that it was very cold and I couldn't get it warm. The food was good, a bit overpriced for what it was, but the view from the breakfast room was spectacular. Actually, the view everywhere was pretty amazing. I went for a walk around the property before leaving for the airport and was reminded how beautiful Virginia is. My other wish is that if it does serve as a hotel for stranded passengers there are better toothbrushes for passengers stuck without toiletries (but that also could come from the airline, not necessarily the hotel's problem) but the mouthwash had been punctured and not replaced. I was too exhausted to call and ask for another.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mllespear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear mllespear,
Even though you were only with us for a night it seems that you truly got a sense of Lansdowne Resort and Virginia. We're thrilled you enjoyed your accommodations and we have informed the Director of Facilities of your concern with your room being cold. Your kind review and as well as your recommendation are greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay.

Sincerely,

Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed over the Christmas holidays - the well-decorated main lobby featured a giant Christmas tree and a suspended overhead train set. Guest rooms were on the small side and the lighting was disappointingly dim for reading (environmentally-friendly energy-saving bulbs), so we found ourselves spending our time in comfortable armchairs around one of the fireplace nooks in the main lobby.

We never got to use the spa, as they closed at 5 on Sunday and 7 weeknights), we never got to partake in a fitness class that met our schedule, we didn't get to use the indoor pool, and we never got to dine in the romantic On the Potomac restaurant (it was closed over the holiday), leaving Stonewall's and its pub grub as the only available dining option. The food was actually pretty good, but eaten in the ambiance of an upscale bar - the cacaphony of pool tables, big screen televisions, and a live musician - all competing for attention in the same area. (Room service was available, but who wants to sleep in a room that smells of dinner?) Thankfully we weren't assessed the $20 resort fee, as we weren't able to take advantage of any resort amenities while we were there.

On a positive note, they didn't charge for wireless internet access, as many top hotels do, and the Gilchrist & Soames toiletries were top-notch, and the bathtub supplies (shampoo, conditioner, and liquid soap) came from an environmentally-conscious dispenser bolted to the wall. It would have been nice if a fan had been installed in the bathrooms to remove the steam, but opening the bathroom door allowed the excess humidity to dissipate into the dry winter heat of the room. It also would have been nice if the hotel placed better weatherstripping along the bottom of the doors - there was a large group of young people attending a wedding at the hotel, resulting in a constant flow of footsteps and conversations in the hallway outside our room.

All in all, it's a very nice three-star hotel - I struggled whether to give it a fourth star, given their billing as a "resort" but having few amenities available over the holiday season. Perhaps we'll give them another try in the summer to see whether they can earn that fourth.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a quiet hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear drwong,
It is touching to know that Lansdowne Resort was a memorable part of your holidays, thank you for visiting with us during this wonderful time of year! We’re so glad you got to curl up by the fire in our main lobby to read and relax. I apologize that you were not able to use our many amenities while you were staying with us. Please come back during the summer to enjoy our aquatic complex by splashing around in our pool and relaxing in the hot tub or by working out at our state-of-the-art fitness facility. I am sure you will have a relaxing time in the spa receiving a massage – what better way to unwind! We truly appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us, we certainly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you for a stay at our resort soon.

Sincerely,
Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is by far the noisiest resort I have ever stayed at. The walls are paper thin and people congregate in the hallways at all hours of the day and night. If your neighbor flushes their toilet, it is so loud that it sounds like it is coming from your own room. If this place cost 1/4 of what I paid per night it would have been subpar, but for what they charge, it is unacceptable. I think many of the guests here pool their money and stay 4-5 to a room because I saw groups of people coming out of several different rooms during my stay. That would certainly help to explain the noise factor. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Carrie B.

Thank you for your comments regarding your most recent stay. I would like extend my sincerest apologies on behalf of my staff for the less than pleasurable stay you experienced with us. Our goal is to consistently provide the highest quality in both product and service and it is vital to our continued success to know when we have fallen short of our own high standards. Our guests are encouraged to reach out with any issues regarding their accommodations so that we may resolve them as quickly as possible. We wish we had the opportunity to do so with the concerns you mentioned. We hope you would return allowing us to meet and exceed our goals and your expectations. Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights for a company meeting. This place does it right. Although I was disappointed that I got a room with 2 very small fullsize beds, we had a bunch of people there, so I must have drawn the short straw there. The food is great. The views are incredible. This is a nice little gem on the Potomac River.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Douglas H,
At Lansdowne Resort we hope to create a productive atmosphere for those hosting meetings while also facilitating a number of opportunities to relax and enjoy the majestic setting of our resort. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed both the business and leisure portions of your recent stay. We appreciate your kind review and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.

Sincerely,

Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leesburg
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Leesburg
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg
2.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Historic Leesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Leesburg
Comfort Suites Leesburg
#3 of 7 in Leesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Ashburn Dulles North
4.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles - North/Loudoun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Resort and Spa

Property: Lansdowne Resort and Spa
Address: 44050 Woodridge Pkwy, Leesburg, VA 20176-5105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lansdowne Resort and Spa, A Destination Hotel is the ultimate sanctuary of sophistication and renewal, inspired by the "good life" of Virginia Wine Country. The resort features three world class golf courses, a destination spa, recreation and four restaurants. A refreshing getaway from Washington, D.C., the resort's beautiful natural setting in Leesburg, Virginia, sprawls 476 acres along the Potomac River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Lansdowne Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing