We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“DC Getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lansdowne Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lansdowne Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“DC Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Great hotel for a quick getaway night. Good food, outlet shopping and movies nearby. Best spa around. Go early to your appointment so you have time to use the hot tub, sauna and steam room.
You can upgrade your room to a corner King for a small charge. Big room with lots of windows.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Elizabeth,

There are few things better than good food, outlet shopping, and movies! It's just great that you enjoyed your accommodations, spa, and room views. We offer a number of great deals throughout the year and certainly recommend checking the specials and packages on our website before booking a future stay. Thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    435
    262
    130
    78
See reviews for
379
457
79
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Linden, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent NYE here with friends. It was far enough away to feel like a 'get away', yet close enough that we didn't need to travel a great distance for an overnight. Fun 80's cover band. The property is lovely, clean and very professional staff. Perfect for special events and conferences. Nice amenities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueMt_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We recently stayed at the resort over the holidays to visit relatives. The resort was wonderful. After a quick check in and settling in to our room , we went to in in the pub. Both of our meals were very good. The French onion soup was outstanding. The room was very clean and comfortable. Everything was very clean. We would love to stay again when it was warm and could use one of the pools.

Room Tip: Any room would be great. There is no highway right by the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enjoytravel0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Enjoytravel0410,

We're glad you enjoyed your recent stay at the Lansdowne Resort. We invite you to visit our website to view a number of special offers and packages before booking your next stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy the aquatic complex during the summer, it is most relaxing. Thank youyou for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a very relaxing and enjoyable time during my stay. Spa services services were excellent. The staff was courteous and professional at all times. I will definitely return for another visit and recommend Landsdowne to other friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Melinda S,

Thank you for your recommendation to family and friends. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your spa services and your time at Lansdowne. Thanks for your review and kind words about our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

A friend gave me a spa treatment to Spa Minerale as a belated bithday gift in December. I decided to extend the trip and stay overnight. The hot stone massage was so relaxing I fell asleep and didn't want it to end!. My room was very nice and comfortable. I will definitely return again (possibly for another birthday get away).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear FM,

Even though you were only with us for one night, it seems that you truly enjoyed your belated birthday gift. We're thrilled you enjoyed your guest room as well as your spa experience. Your kind review, as well as your recommendation, are greatly appreciated. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for a longer stay soon.

Sincerely,

Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wallet was stolen from the spa locker room in December. This has never happened to me before.

I had my wallet in my robe pocket because the locker was broken. The wallet was out of my sight for two very short periods (less than 5 minutes each) over the course of an hour-- once when I was in the steam room and once in the shower. The robe had deep pockets and the wallet was not noticeable. To my knowledge no-one except the attendant was in and out of the locker room at the time. I was surprised that this would happen in a four star hotel given the clientele. I suggest you make sure your valuables are secure.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank daugust48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Daugust48,

I read with great concern your comments regarding your experience in the spa. It is disappointing that we did not have the opportunity to resolve your concerns while you were with us. We are truly sorry about the incident you described and continue to research the situation. Let me assure you this is an isolated incident. Actions have been taken to make certain this does not happen again. Thank you for informing us about the lock on the locker. We have taken action to inspect all the locks to ensure they are functioning correctly. We take pride in our team and our security efforts as the safety our guests are of the utmost importance. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope you’ll consider a future stay with us so that we may change your impression.

Sincerely,

Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Having pre-paid my stay on Expedia, I arrived at 11:00 pm, exhausted from a 10 hour drive to find 50 or more people in line for check-in at the hotel's front desk. Apparently the resort is routinely used by United Airlines to lodge passengers from cancelled flights, and the front desk is just not able to handle the traffic in an efficient manner. In addition, I was greatly surprised to find an invoice in the morning for an additional $20 per room "Resort Fee". Nowhere in the Expedia reservation process did I see that there would be an extra charge. To add insult to injury, when I went to the front desk at 9:00 am to question the charge and check out, the same 50 plus passengers were in line trying to check out. There were only 2 clerks working at the front desk, making it a long wait AGAIN! The desk clerk was irritated that the person in front of me complained about the inefficiency of the check in and check out process. While the hotel manager eventually waived the resort fee, this level of inefficiency and hidden charges is just inexcusable. Otherwise the hotel was quite nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calderman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Calderman2,
We extend our sincerest apologies for any confusion regarding your check in and regret if there was any miscommunication on our part for the resort fee. I checked the Expedia website and it does list our resort fee under “Fee” on their page and it also lists what is included in our resort fee. We greatly appreciate the time taken to share your experience by completing our survey, as well as providing us this review. Should you consider a future stay with us, please don’t hesitate to let us know of any concerns so that we can ensure a comfortable stay for you. Thank you and we hope to have a future opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leesburg
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Leesburg
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Leesburg
Comfort Suites Leesburg
#3 of 7 in Leesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Historic Leesburg
4.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles - North/Loudoun
6.0 mi away
Aloft Dulles Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Resort and Spa

Property: Lansdowne Resort and Spa
Address: 44050 Woodridge Pkwy, Leesburg, VA 20176-5105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lansdowne Resort and Spa, A Destination Hotel is the ultimate sanctuary of sophistication and renewal, inspired by the "good life" of Virginia Wine Country. The resort features three world class golf courses, a destination spa, recreation and four restaurants. A refreshing getaway from Washington, D.C., the resort's beautiful natural setting in Leesburg, Virginia, sprawls 476 acres along the Potomac River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Lansdowne Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing