We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Stolen Ipod and Flash Drives” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lansdowne Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lansdowne Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Lansdowne Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   44050 Woodridge Pkwy, Leesburg, VA 20176-5105   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
The Good Life Getaway
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Stolen Ipod and Flash Drives”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

Nice location, the place is a little shop worn and could use some renovation. The food (all inclusive package) was OK but is conference center food. Nice roaches happily playing on the restroom walls in the middle of the day The one closest to the restaurant.

Someone on the staff went through my wife's briefcase and lifted all of her flash drives and her brand new Ipod. $500. Thank you very much.

So, don't leave anything in the rooms that you want to keep!

Doubtful we will ever visit again.

We are seasoned world travelers and on the move just about every month. We know good service from bad. This place rates OK. I do think it's a touch pricey based on the condition.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank DublinGemologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    340
    207
    103
    74
See reviews for
279
368
66
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

My husband and I went to a conference at the Landsdowne. After reading mixed reviews, I wasn't too sure what to expect. What a pleasant surprise!!!! The location was more "in town" than out of town. It was in great proximity to good shopping and restaurants, but away enough that you felt like you were secluded. The staff was very welcoming and polite - and were very attentive. The rooms were wonderful and the bed was probably the most comfortable I've ever slept in!!! There was a small coffee maker (only one cup) so that was a little disappointing. The breakfast downstairs was a buffet and it was incredible - the variety was great! The dinner buffets weren't as good - and we only went to the one restaurant. The other ones were a bar and a 5 course restaurant. The views were nice, and the weather was a little warm so we were able to walk the grounds some. I'd love to go back when it's warmer! My husband and I talked about making this "our" place to visit once a year. A def. romantic getaway - I highly recommend it for everyone!!

  • Liked — proximity to shopping and restaurants but being a "resort" getaway as well!
  • Disliked — no fridge or big coffee maker in room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sonshinex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2008

My husband and I were looking for a nice place to take a mini weekend getaway (2 nights) and we definitely found it here. We booked the "Ignite your passion" package which included breakfast in bed, champange, and flowers in your room at admission. The facilities were comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful and the massages were fantastic. If i had one complaint it would be the food. We had appetizers/bar food the "Stonewalls Tavern" which was mediocre at best. Our dinner at the "Potomac" was delicious but the portions were miniscule and the price was expensive. Lucky for us, we're from the area and knew of places within driving distance that were equally good and more reasonable. Despite this, we had a really great time. We'll definitely keep this one on the list!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ovrwrkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

My husband and I stayed for a Saturday night. We were given a gift certificate for a free night stay with Sunday Brunch.
Everyone was polite from the doorman to the restaurant staff.
This is a very nice property and have no complaints about the ambiance or decor. The room was large w/ a seperate area for the desk. The bed comfortable and the shower nice. Only complaint is the outdated TV. We rented a pay-per-view movie, which wasn't cheap, but the TV quality made the experience less then exceptional. We don't golf, so can't comment on that, but the indoor pool was enjoyable as was the whirlpool. The Sunday Brunch was great! The food was really good and there was a large variety of choices, oysters on the half shell, omelets, crab claws, fruit, salmon, caviar, waffles, etc......Also, a great dessert spread and all you can drink Mimosa's & Bloody Mary's!
Bottom line, I would stay again if given the chance.

  • Liked — Sunday Brunch
  • Disliked — TV
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kimkru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2008

The hotel was just not what you expect it to be....and the staff
is very rude. We had a group of (20+) friends, all in town for
someone's 40th birthday party. After the birthday party we all
arrived back at the resort to sit in the bar and enjoy ourselves.
We found out that the bar does not serve food past 11, and
we were all a little hungry, so we ordered pizza to be delivered.
You'd figure if the bar doesn't serve food and there is no
place to get food in the hotel at this hour, that would be fine for
a hotel guest to order pizza. Well when the pizza arrived the
bar staff kicked us out of the bar and said we were not allowed
to bring outside food into the place, but didn't have any food
to offer us. We were the only group in the bar, no one else
was around....the bar staff gave us the check immediatly and
told us to get out with our pizza. They would rather lose a customer then let them enjoy one slice of pizza with a hugh
bar tab. It was unreal how they treated a customer, I've never
been treated so rude over something so small.

The hotel rooms were old, small and dirty. The rooms are
overpriced for what you get.

  • Disliked — The staff
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UnknownPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

We were told that if we got the weekend escape we would not have to leave the hotel. With 5 restaurants on site, a spa, indoor pool and breakfast in our room, if we preferred, what could go wrong?

1. Two of the places in the clubhouse close down around 6 o'clock on this Saturday night.
2. We could not eat in the Tavern or the Grille because they were closed off for private parties.
3. Our choice was the fine dining restaurant - which averages $50/person with dinner and drink.So, we went out.
4. When we ordered breakfast to the room, we were told we had a $25 limit. Not bad, until you see that a basic breakfast costs $16, plus $3 delivery plus $3 gratuity plus $2 tax. That is without coffee or juice. So even though they promise breakfast in your room as part of the package, you really cannot get it without paying extra for a complete meal.
5. When we went down to dinner at the Grille on Sunday evening, the food was minimal, cold and inedible. Several things were left over from the brunch we had attended that morning. We were unable to eat the food, left a tip for the waitress and went out again.

Our $620.00 weekend away cost us over $900 after we paid for edible food and extras out of pocket that were part of the package.

If you go, plan to do things ala carte. Pay for the room, add what you
want and check out the food on the buffet before you sit down. We loved the room. the bellmen were wonderful and our waitress was incredible. If only the rest of the experience was as wonderful.

For example, when I questioned the "manager on duty" he was more than a little rude and did nothing to help me. We left feeling taken advantage of and unappreciated. Doubt we will return.

  • Liked — bellmen
  • Disliked — management/food
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank walderworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2007

I enjoyed this resort very much. The room we had was elegant and cozy, the spa was great, and the location better than I thought.

Although the resort sits adjacent to shopping centers and neighborhoods, it did feel like we had gotten away. I recommend trying one of the nearby Wineries. We went to Tarara Winery and enjoy wine tasting. Afterwards we enjoyed shopping at the Leesburg Outlets which is literally a few miles away.

The resort rooms were excellent. They were clean, cozy, and the resort allows early check in, you just need to inform them at least the night before. I told the concierge that it was our anniversary and they sent us a complimentary bottle of champagne upon our arrival.

The only con about this resort is probably the restaurants. Although they look nice and classy, we browsed through the menus and peeked at the buffet and did not think it was worth the prices. Instead we visited the local town center and found an excellent seafood and steak restaurant. Can't remember the name but it's a sister restaurant of Sweet Water Tavern. I highly recommend it.

We also went to the spa which was wonderful. The service was great, the massages were great, and the steam room, sauna, and whirl pool were great. Will go back again.

TIP: I purchased my weekend package online when they were having a featured special: about $160 per night + a free $50 gift card to spend at the resort.

  • Liked — the room and spa
  • Disliked — the expensive restaurants
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank someonesomewhere24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leesburg
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Leesburg
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Leesburg
Comfort Suites Leesburg
#3 of 7 in Leesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Historic Leesburg
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Ashburn Dulles North
4.2 mi away
Courtyard Dulles Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Resort and Spa

Property: Lansdowne Resort and Spa
Address: 44050 Woodridge Pkwy, Leesburg, VA 20176-5105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lansdowne Resort and Spa, A Destination Hotel is the ultimate sanctuary of sophistication and renewal, inspired by the "good life" of Virginia Wine Country. The resort features three world class golf courses, a destination spa, recreation and four restaurants. A refreshing getaway from Washington, D.C., the resort's beautiful natural setting in Leesburg, Virginia, sprawls 476 acres along the Potomac River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Lansdowne Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing