We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The good the bad and the springy...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lansdowne Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lansdowne Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Alburtis, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The good the bad and the springy...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel is nice, has great amenities and a lot to do nearby....But there are some issues.... Firstly the $20 per day resort fee they slam you with without prior notification. Their idea of notification is when you check in. For people on a budget it's an unwelcoming surprise.... Just put it in the cost of the room when booking and stop pearl harboring people.... Secondly, the rooms are tastefully decorated. Flat screen tv's and nice bathrooms. What they didnt update or skimped on was the matresses. Every move my husband and I made we felt springs jabbing us. 4 nights there and not one good nights sleep. The blanket was also so thin. Just constant uncomfort. The ac unit was loud and the vent omitted a smell of melting plastic. It didnt help either with the humidity in the room. Even if these issues were corrected it wouldnt have helped us rest any more because there were weddings and parties fri sat and sun. Music could be heard in our room from one of the club houses outside into the late night and then the parades of people up and down the halls hootin and hollering in the wee hours of the morning. They sounded as if they were in our room. The doors and walls of your room hold as no sound barrier. Thirdly, the pools were nice, staff was pleasant. Breakfast buffet was good and a wide selection. All of the seat cushions are very worn and cracked and need to be replaced. Only wish I had seen the gathering of roaches though in the door jam to the back patio by the restaurant before we ate.... Lastly I did request a crib in the room and to my surprise it was already in the room set up and with blankets. I found that very nice. So I write this with mixed reviews. If more attention is paid to detail, provide comfort and peace for sleeping, I think this could be a great place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felicia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Felicia N.,

Thank you for the positive feedback concerning our staff and services. We will share your compliments with our team. We apologize for the conditions of the mattress and the experience you encountered with noise in the hallway due to weddings. What you describe is unacceptable and not up to our standards; we have contacted the Director of Operations and he will make every effort to act quickly to correct the issues. We hope that you will allow us to serve you again. Thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention.

Sincerely,

Lloyd W. Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    355
    219
    108
    74
See reviews for
312
383
67
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Beautiful rooms, great views, nice location.

You will need a car to get around, as the resort is not within walking distance of anything. This is especially true to eat as not all the restaurants are open during the week. The clubhouse restaurant and bar were open every evening but the menu choices are very limited.

The crab cake sandwich was really good and the soup/salad/sandwich combo was good as well.

The breakfast and buffet was almost like eating on a cruise ship. Great selections and ice cream everyday at lunch.

Golf course with 45 holes is good as well. I did not play the tough course.

Room Tip: If our conference is here next year will arrive early to golf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acrafton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Lansdowne Resort. We appreciate your comments and all of us at Lansdowne Resort enjoyed having you with us and making your stay a wonderful experience. We look forward to providing you with the highest level of service and hospitality on your next trip to Lansdowne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We spent two days at this beautiful resort on the Potomac. This is a great place to stay with kids. I wish I had brought my golf clubs to play the Robert Trent Jones designed course which looked outstanding. Front desk staff was helpful and courteous giving us both an early check in and late check out. Grounds are well maintained the the outdoor pools are great. Rooms are nice sized as well. The restaurants are a little pricey though. The only breakfast option was a $20 per person buffet so we ate off premises for most meals. The restaurant in the golf clubhouse seemed to be the best option for families. Leesburg is a nice historic town about 8 miles away with lots of dining and shopping options. This is a large convention hotel and I'm guessing convention business is way down as the place was pretty empty. One complaint: The lifeguards wanted to go home early on a cloudy Sunday with scattered rain so we were stuck without use of the outdoor pool for the day. There was a good 5 hour window of no rain and the pool remained closed. The pool staff said it was the call of the golf course manager who referred us back to the pool manager when we called him. Other than that disappointment, this is a nice resort at a decent price and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BBasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear BBasil,

Thank you for sharing your recent Lansdowne Resort experience. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. Our team has been working exceptionally hard to deliver a unique experience for every guest! We will share your comments about the pool with our staff to see where we can better our guests’ experience in the future. Thank you so much for staying with us; we hope to see you in the near future for another great visit.

Sincerely,
Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Recently stayed two nights on a Living Social package and was quite pleased with all the resort has to offer. Every staff member we encountered was helpful and pleasant; unlike other places where customer service seems forced, the staff at Lansdowne appeared to enjoy their jobs and interacting with guests.

Breakfast buffet both mornings was very good - dining room decor is a little tired and could use updating but it did not detract from the experience. We decided against the pricey On the Potomac restaurant and opted to eat evening meals at Stonewalls Tavern and Pub 46. Food was average in the Tavern (pork spring rolls were exceptional) but I thought food/drink prices were a tad high. The portabello fettucini at Pub 46 was terrific and the weather allowed us to sit on the terrace and enjoy the gorgeous view. Wait staff in both locations were great. The 3 pools are beautiful with food/drink service offered pool side. The workout facility is impressive and I'm glad we brought our walking shoes as there is a 2.5 mile walking trail with beautiful scenery to enjoy.

The room was very clean and nicely appointed - a refrigerator would be nice to add. We enjoyed the free summer concert on Fri evening (despite the rain) - there is no reason to leave the resort if you're coming for a weekend getaway. Our only disappointment was not playing golf (green fees were quite high) but if you just want to hang out and relax by the pool, this was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Handshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Handshaw,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback and kind words about the staff. We value your opinion and appreciate the unique opportunity to see ourselves through the eyes of our customer. It was nice to hear how you enjoyed all the amenities we have to offer from the pools, to the work out facilities, and the walking trail. We look forward to having you back at the resort for another wonderful experience.

Sincerely,
Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

The absolute best staff; courteous and friendly! Meal was superbly prepared and presented. Very reasonably priced. A truly delightful experience and well worth the visit. Staff took time to explain the various meal components and appeared to actually enjoy there job......well done!

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hurambee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Hurambee,
We’re so glad you enjoyed your experience. Please keep an eye open for an announcement re: a fresh new menu at Lansdowne Resort restaurants later this fall. Chef Hans Rouillard has some interesting things in mind for our guests!

Sincerely,
Lloyd W. Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I had a 4 night stay here for a business conference. The location is a bit odd in a residential area, but it close to Leesburg's great restaurants and history. The room was small, dark and in need of updating. The resort is also a country club for locals. Hotel was very quiet. Great views over the Potomac River

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fardog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Fardog1,

We appreciate you taking time to write a review for the resort and thank you for your valuable feedback. We strive to constantly exceed expectations and feedback from our guests is critical to our success in achieving this goal. We hope to see you back if your travel brings you to Virginia.

Sincerely,
Lloyd W. Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Lansdowne was a fabulous getaway! The rooms were not the standard hotel rooms. Great restaurant options and the room service was prompt and wonderful too! The pool was more like an outdoor water paradise, numerous pools, lush landscaping, hot tub and water slide. Top off the weekend with a treatment at Spa Minerale. The massage was a great way to end the weekend. I would and definitely will go back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leesburg
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Leesburg
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg
2.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Historic Leesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Leesburg
Comfort Suites Leesburg
#3 of 7 in Leesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Ashburn Dulles North
4.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles - North/Loudoun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Resort and Spa

Property: Lansdowne Resort and Spa
Address: 44050 Woodridge Pkwy, Leesburg, VA 20176-5105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lansdowne Resort and Spa, A Destination Hotel is the ultimate sanctuary of sophistication and renewal, inspired by the "good life" of Virginia Wine Country. The resort features three world class golf courses, a destination spa, recreation and four restaurants. A refreshing getaway from Washington, D.C., the resort's beautiful natural setting in Leesburg, Virginia, sprawls 476 acres along the Potomac River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Lansdowne Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing