We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Oktoberfest” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doener Bistro

Doener Bistro
Ranked #69 of 211 Restaurants in Leesburg
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Oktoberfest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were looking for a place to find some grub, decided we hadn't had our Doener Bistro "fix" in a while. When we pulled up, we happened to pick the right time. We sat outside in the crisp fall sunshine and enjoyed some great German food, German speakers, and good times. We always enjoy the Doener...reminds us of our many visits to Germany.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DanProko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    30
    17
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“German Beer Fans - Thumbs Up; German Food Fans - Thumbs Down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is what it is - a great place to get excellent German beer and a snack. German food is some of my favorite food in the world. That is saying a lot. I have traveled to 63 countries. If you want a great selection of German beers, you can get it here. Just don't expect to see Kassler Rippchen or some of the many fantastic German dishes that often get no culinary respect. But if you want a sausage and a beer - this is your spot.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, VA
Level Contributor
323 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“German style fast food in downtown Leesburg”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

I'm partial to what passes for fast food in other countries, so I was happy to find Doener Bistro in downtown Leesburg. It's a small, quirky restaurant worth a visit simply to enjoy the surroundings. There's outdoor and indoor seating, and a small counter (inside) to place your order. The menu features a fun collection of beer as well as a nice sampling of doner, brats, schnitzel, currywurst, falafel and pomme frites. The food tasted OK -- I tried the doner and my wife had the schnitzel, and we also shared a large order of fries. (I'll visit again someday to see if the brats or other sausages are a more tasty option.)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank afinetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sehr Gemuetlich!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

One of my favorite places. This is not high cuisine, but if you're in the mood for a good Currywurst or a Gyro and a good German brew, you can't beat it. Throw in the atmosphere in the biergarten and the occasional football match on the television and you'll feel right at home.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food but lousy personalities.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is a case where the food is good but the people working there just don't want to be thre and it shows.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank terrymcenaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doener Bistro also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 

Been to Doener Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing