We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great food, neat atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doener Bistro

Doener Bistro
Ranked #62 of 204 Restaurants in Leesburg
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food, neat atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great fast food that doesnt make you feel like you are gonna die when you are done.The fries are also good. A friend had the schnitzel and wasnt impressed so definately get the doner when you come.

There are a few German beers on tap which help add to the atmosphere. They also have live music on various nights.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank swingerhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    29
    17
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
317 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“A little bit of Germany in Leesburg”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Wanted to try this place out since we spent 3 years living in Germany and loved it there. There were 4 in our party - one had the doner box, one had falafel, and two the schnitzel and pommes. Overall the food was good, but the schnitzel we thought were just OK - pretty thin and a little dry. The beef in the doner was OK - good sauce and pommes. The falafel was very good.

They let you try a small sample of the beer on tap which was nice. I had the Warsteiner Pilsner and it was very good. Lots of choices of German bottled biers. The prices are certainly very reasonable, it was about $40 for the 4 of us and that included 2 biers.

There is a fairly small outside seating area with the traditional tables and benches you would see in a German biergarten. You order inside at the counter then put your number on your table and a server will bring your food when it is ready. Didn't wait long at all for the food and all the staff were very friendly. There is a small parking place in the rear, parking on the street, and a good sized lot right across the street that services Market Station (Fireworks Pizza, Tuscarora Mill, etc).

Don't find many places like this in northern VA and it was definitely a little piece of Germany - you can even get Milka chocolate, Haribo candy, etc. It was a fun time and food was good and very reasonably price, but I can't rate it "very good."

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Gutes essen! (Great food!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Authentic German doners! A 'doner' is like a gyro. They serve a huge one that is incredible. I have tried everything on the menu and it all FANTASTIC! That is no exageration either. I challenge anyone to find better authentic German 'hand food' anywhere! And the German beers they serve are amazing. I'm not much of a beer drinker, but the pilsner they always have on draft is the best. I always have to have two. DONT FORGET TO GET THE CURRY KETCHUP FOR THE FRIES!!! AMAZING!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank OhYew812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Currilious mmmm mmmm good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Great food good vibe glad I snagged a tooth on the doner will be back soon

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pop3cfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Cute little Schnell Imbus”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is very cute and kitchy version of a German street hotdog stand...it does, boardwalk fries, frankfurters, bratwursts, and schnitzels and does have great German Beer. Its basic but tasty if you can afford the extra calories and aren't watching your cholesteral....The manager is German and gives it an air of authenticity. We probably ordered too many treats one night and had to roll ourselves home.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kittystu2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doener Bistro also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Doener Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing