We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT GARDENS” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oatlands Historic House & Garden

Oatlands Historic House & Garden
Ranked #4 of 76 things to do in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A historic garden property administered by the National Trust for Historic Preservation.
Herminie
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“GREAT GARDENS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was the mansion that had the best gardens. Mom and I visited Morven Park and the George C. Marshall House a.k.a. Dodona Manor. Friendly staff. Happy touring.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank londonschic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    58
    8
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
212 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“what a surprise, wonderful home and guide was outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

didn't expect this to be so good. Lots of Virginia and US history, beautiful old home with 4 acres of garden. Our guide was excellent telling us lots of stories about the families that have lived there over the hundreds of years. We really enjoyed it, probably spent a couple of hours with house and garden.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasGunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice plantation and great staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We really like touring the mansion and grounds here. The guide was extremely knowledgable and we learned a lot about the families that built and lived in the house. I'm sure funding is an issue, but we would have loved the same detail and guidance upstairs.

We were very disappointed with the green house. There were ZERO plants in it. Possibly the greenery will return after renovations, but in its current state it's not impressive.

If we lived closer we would also love to try the candle lit Christmas tour as well!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful home. Real Virginia history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have been to Oatlands a number of times and always take out of town guests to see it. It is both a state of Virginia and a national treasure. In the spring and summer the English style gardens can be a wonderful experience for the senses. In winter, the candlelight tours are always a treat and the house is nicely decorated. If you are in the Leesburg area, this is worth your time to visit any time of the year.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jimpat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The gardens are beautiful. The tour was very good the guide was very knowledgeable about the history of the the families that lived there,

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jcmmm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oatlands Historic House & Garden also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Oatlands Historic House & Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing