We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice plantation and great staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oatlands Historic House & Garden

Oatlands Historic House & Garden
Ranked #4 of 76 things to do in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A historic garden property administered by the National Trust for Historic Preservation.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice plantation and great staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We really like touring the mansion and grounds here. The guide was extremely knowledgable and we learned a lot about the families that built and lived in the house. I'm sure funding is an issue, but we would have loved the same detail and guidance upstairs.

We were very disappointed with the green house. There were ZERO plants in it. Possibly the greenery will return after renovations, but in its current state it's not impressive.

If we lived closer we would also love to try the candle lit Christmas tour as well!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    57
    8
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful home. Real Virginia history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have been to Oatlands a number of times and always take out of town guests to see it. It is both a state of Virginia and a national treasure. In the spring and summer the English style gardens can be a wonderful experience for the senses. In winter, the candlelight tours are always a treat and the house is nicely decorated. If you are in the Leesburg area, this is worth your time to visit any time of the year.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jimpat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The gardens are beautiful. The tour was very good the guide was very knowledgeable about the history of the the families that lived there,

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jcmmm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This plantation is a must see to anyone visiting the Leesburg area. Worth the time and money. Get to see how the old time plantations operated and functioned.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oatlands Candlelight Christmas Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I've lived in Leesburg since 1999 and just went on the candlelight Christmas Tour last December (2012). First of all, you have to like history, but even if you don't, it is a beautiful house and very well decorated. They have a different theme, apparently, every year. The tour guides (young and old) are very knowledgeable of the house and its history, especially about the family that lived there. When I arrived at the carriage house (where you buy tickets/gift shop), they had hot cider and cookies available. The house is a short walk (uphill) from the carriage house.

Well worth the time and money, but not conducive to the physically handicapped due to the stairs. The entire tour took a little over an hour, but you could spend longer if you wanted. The grounds are lovely and I vowed to go back in the springtime this year, but didn't make it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oatlands Historic House & Garden also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Oatlands Historic House & Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing