We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Inviting Vineyard With a Stunning View”

Saude Creek Vineyards
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Lanexa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
California
Level Contributor
201 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“An Inviting Vineyard With a Stunning View”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

My husband and I visited Saude Creek in the fall. We were the first to arrive that day for a tasting. We were struck by the beauty of their property, even in late fall. The property is gorgeous and expansive, and we loved that you can see the Pamunkey River from the outside deck. We enjoyed the tasting and the knowledgeable woman who poured the tastings. Most of their wines are quite unique in taste. Our favorite turned out to be the Tavern White. The Squire's Blend is the most interesting of all of their wines. We really liked that it was unlike anything we've ever tasted before. We love to find wines that are "different" and Saude Creek is definitely the place for that. They have barbecue available on-site (at least on the weekend they did) and they have an inviting space where you can sit back and relax, inside or outside, with your favorite glass of wine. They have live music on the weekends as well. It's definitely an inviting vineyard that you will want to return to again and again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MakingMemories317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    29
    7
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Sunshine, music & wine”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

live music on Saturday afternnoon with ample outdoor seating to enjoy weather and a picnic. Good BBQ available or bring your own food.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by on our way to Richmond. The atmosphere was beautiful. We were surprised to walk in and see people just hanging out and listening to music. This was a very inviting atmosphere. We walked up to the bar area where they were doing the tastings and was greeted by their friendly staff. The bars had hooks to hang your purses on as you participated in the tastings. They have a nice variety of wines included in their tastings. Their wines were good and one of my favorites was the Saude Creek Red. I can't wait to go back to this winery to enjoy some of their events!

Helpful?
Thank echappell86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The vinyard has a big lodge for tastings and to just kick back and enjoy a glass/bottle either inside or outside. We were there on a Sunday afternoon and the live music was just finishing up. Good thing, too. They were not bad, but the music/singing was a little too loud and we could not hear the woman who was giving us our tasting very well. After that we all agreed that the Chambourcin was our favorite so we got a bottle and drank it in front of the magnificent fireplace. We didn't buy another bottle at the time, but in hindsight I wish I had left with a bottle of their new wine, Sweet Rebellion. Guess I'll just have to go back again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fassanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great outdoor space.”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Friendly staff, nice relaxed atmosphere and lots of outdoor space with great views. Visited three vineyards in one day and this was my favourite. I wish we lived closer!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jellybean38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saude Creek Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Saude Creek Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing