We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal in a remote area”

The Historic Lancaster Tavern
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Historic Lancaster Tavern has been serving great drinks and wonderful cuisine since 1790. Our cuisine is New Southern Cuisine focus on particularly the Plantation South culinary region begins just south of the Mason-Dixon Line in north central Maryland, where it's bounded on the east by the Chesapeake Bay Shore region and on the west by the Appalachian South region. It encompasses much of Virginia and the eastern Carolinas, then sweeps southwestward along America's coastal plain.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Good meal in a remote area”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Good dinner. Polite service. Nice atmosphere. We walked around the Inn which had large clean rooms. Historic Inn built in the 1790's.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happytravelinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    18
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Heathsville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great lunch in Lancaster”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

In an interesting setting. Have eaten both lunch and dinner here. I have recommended it to out-of-towners. Price is reasonable. At dinner, try the scallops and bacon.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank LuvNorNeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Historic Inn with friendly service”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This is a charming place - from the employee's to the owner - everyone was really nice. Our meals were good (except for the crab cakes - which were not to our taste) and the service was exceptional. This is also a bed and breakfast (note: they only serve breakfast on the weekends - during the week they will include lunch with your overnight stay or reduce your room rate). There are two rooms upstairs at the Inn (which are decorated with antiques) or they have a small house next door with two bedrooms (which is where we stayed and is more plain and homey). The inn is along the road but it was quiet at night. The towns of Kilmarnock and Irvington are only a few miles away - there you will find some little shops and an antique store. Nice Inn and area to visit to get away or on your way to nearby Yorktown or Williamsburg.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LM50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park MD
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great historic inn”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

While the crab cakes were just average, everything else our party of 4 ordered was great. The setting and service were very good. Save room for a homemade dessert. We loved the peach cobbler and bread pudding.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wrestlerUMCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent chicken salad!”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This is in a 1700s vintage tavern. Lovely! Our servers were friendly and helpful, and the food was great. My husband got clam chowder that was delicious and my chicken salad was excellent.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Historic Lancaster Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Historic Lancaster Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing