We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Option”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in King George
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 King George B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
“Excellent Option”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My wife,daughter and myself stayed at Belle Grove for the first warm weekend of this year. The house's architecture, furnishings and history provide a level of interest and comfort for all of us. The gracious hospitality and superb quality of food offered by Michelle and Brett was unsurpassed. All this, plus the chance of perhaps glimpsing or hearing from some of the spirits of past residents of the property all blended together for an excellent time. Truly recommended as a place to relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
153
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Goldsboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Belle Grove Plantation in King George, VA on a spur of the moment trip for my husband's birthday. We were very impressed with the property upon driving up to the house. I had recently broken my foot and both Michelle and Brett were very helpful and accommodating to my needs. They even cooked dinner for us that night since I was exhausted from traveling that day. Both Michelle and Brett made both myself and my husband feel at home the minute we walked in the door. We stayed in the Conway room and it is absolutely beautiful with antique furnishings. The home has been meticulously restored to its former glory while accommodating modern luxuries while maintaining its historical integrity. It is very obvious that Michelle and Brett did a lot of research and placed a great deal of thought and love into restoring Belle Grove to the beautiful plantation that she is. I think you will not be disappointed booking a stay with Michelle and Brett and you will not find a more decadent breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Wife and I was looking for a near by BB to escape from work and home. Wow, we nailed it! Brett and Michelle provided the best hospitality! The Madison suite is our favorite! Breakfast was off the charts! The bed was like sleeping on a cloud! The tour and history lesson was very intriguing and informative. We loved our stay so much, we convinced our parents to make reservations ASAP! Lastly, we highly recommend the Belle Grove Plantation and look forward to our next stay in the near future!

Thank you,

Mark & Cindi

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbelt, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2014

T’was Two Nights Before Christmas


T’was two nights before Christmas and quiet as a mouse, two strangers stirred in James Madison’s house.

The stockings were hung, decorations were there and the tree was adorned with natural fare.

No children were present, just Ma and I there, but rest we both needed or else we’d despair.

We arrived at 5:30 were met with much grace, unloaded our luggage then took a tour of the place.

The furnishings were marvelous, the décor was just great, selections were made from Sherwin-Williams color plate.

A snack was provided that ate more like a meal, while Michelle’s history lecture was given with zeal.

We changed and then headed to Port Royal for dinner, a meal that did nothing to make us much slimmer.

Night came and we slept in our bed with no chatter, no need to jump up to see what was the matter.

A wonderful breakfast followed our long winter’s slumber, mascarpone pancakes we ate, not counting the number.

The pancakes were topped with cinnamon and cherries, a wonderful beginning to Christmas Eve full of merries.

We hated to leave, but our leave was required with our bodies well rested and no longer tired.

Our bellies were full, our senses were filled, and we’ll never forget our James Madison thrill.

They heard us exclaim as we drove out of sight, we could not imagine a better Christmas Eve’s eve night.

Room Tip: There are four rooms, all are wonderful! There are no words to describe how wonderful this experien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We not only had the opportunity to stay in a place of historical significance but experienced Southern hospitality at its best with our hosts Michelle and Brett Darnell. We wanted a romantic setting for our wedding (the first for 2014 at Belle Grove Plantation), it was, and Michelle took care of all the details with excellent recommendations for the wedding officiant, Tamara Riley (No Ordinary Ordained) and Photographer Minh Hussey (Instant de Vie Photography.) Even the weather cooperated just in time for the ceremony on the balcony facing the river, the sun peaking through the clouds and raising the temperature slightly (about 35 degrees?) In the evening Michelle and Brett surprised us with a lovely arrangement on the bed (the Madison Suite) consisting of a bottle Champagne, fresh strawberries and cookies on a silver tray and white bath towels shaped as two kissing swans. About the Inn, it is very comfortable with all the modern amenities and Michelle has done (and continues to do) an outstanding job at decorating the rooms. This is a labor of love. She is also a gourmet chef and the breakfast is not to be missed. The Belle Grove Plantation and hosts Michelle and Brett Darnell offer an unforgettable stay.
We will be back.

Room Tip: The Madison Suite has windows facing the river on one side and the entrance to the property on the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonileri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My new husband and I married at Belle Grove Plantation, partaking in an elopement package that included the ceremony, photos and an optional dinner. Since we had invited a few guests, we ate dinner at the recommended restaurant across the river, but everything Belle Grove Plantation offered was superb. Michelle and Brett show great attention to detail and the comfort of guests. Our accommodations in the Conway Room were not only comfortable, but also spacious and interesting. The venue is large and beautifully furnished with historical and antique pieces, many with their own interesting stories. The third party services coordinated through Belle Grove Plantation were also exceptional. Our officiant offered a particularly lovely service that was completely unexpected. We would certainly return to Belle Grove plantation again, and recommend their bed & breakfast, especially for those with an interest in early American and Civil war history,
Thanks again Michelle and Brett

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nc_carol2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My three friends and I stayed at Belle Grove, for a friends birthday. From the time that I spoke to Michelle, on the phone to make the reservation, until we hugged Michelle and Brett, our hosts, good bye, we were made to feel at home. They made our birthday celebration so very special. The plantation, and birthplace of James Madison, is wonderfully decorated, and was like being in the 1700's. The rooms are beautiful, as is the entire house. The breakfast was amazing and the tips for local sites, were extremely helpful. We've decided to go back this lovely plantation in the spring.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are wonderfully decorated and have their own charm. Every room is exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near King George
13.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Dahlgren
Hampton Inn Dahlgren
#1 of 2 in Dahlgren
243 reviews
17.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
13.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 2 in King George
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
18.0 mi away
Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast
17.3 mi away
The Kenmore Inn
The Kenmore Inn
#1 of 3 in Fredericksburg
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Property: Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9221 Belle Grove Dr, King George, VA 22485-2615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > King George
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in King George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belle Grove Plantation, the birthplace of President James Madison, located in King George County Virginia, is now the home of Belle Grove Plantation Bed & Breakfast. Our Southern Plantation was established in 1670 on the banks of the Rappahannock River. Belle Grove’s stately, historic mansion has four Master Suites with private baths and views of the river and plantation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Belle Grove Plantation Bed And Breakfast King George, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing