We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful !!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in King George
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 King George B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

What a beautiful place to visit. Belle Grove has stolen my heart! Brett and Michelle have such a passion not only for Belle Grove, the history and the home, but also for the guests that will get to experience the plantation first hand! You will be delighted with a historical get-away and with the feeling of being pampered with true Southern hospitality. Extra attention is put into every detail, from the bedrooms to the breakfast and beyond! And the views from the balconies and porches!!! You have to see it to believe it!

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
136
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Beautiful location, very clean and quiet just like taking a step back to the past the owners Michelle and Bret are great, very knowledgeable of the history of the house and truly care about preserving the house and its history.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I recently visited Belle Grove, which was the site of my brother's wedding reception. And although it was more than a week ago, I keep returning there in my thoughts to further explore how this venue captured me, heart and imagination.

There is a charisma here that, I think, has much to do not only with its antiquity, but also with the people who have taken responsibility for the plantation's transformation. Their respect and love for the property is unmistakable, and they have every reason to be proud. These are not the stand-offish hosts; instead they encourage you to wander the floors and seem to want to take the time to point out various antiques and special features of the house to those who are interested.

Even walking through the front door will transform you! The colors and ornamentation exhibit Southern glamour, which I suspect is rather close to the original state of the house. I quite felt like a "belle" at Belle Grove, especially posing on the circa 1890s sofas, which were loaned as props for the 2012 historical film Lincoln. My favorite outdoor features would be the tree-lined drive and the back veranda with its view of the river.

The food was delightful and the service was grand. And I can't help but gush about the family of ospreys who live on top of the chimney!

I hope to one day return as an overnight guest so I can soak in one of those splendid claw-foot tubs. So until then ... I'll visit in my dreams. :)

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DaraPowersParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I was fortunate enough to be given a tour of this amazing new B&B by Michelle when I was visiting her B&B for a wedding. I was thrilled that for the first time ever, the birthplace of James Madison is open to the public. Not only does Michelle give a wonderful presentation, but the details she's painstakingly researched and her obvious passion are impressive, educational, and fun, and her true southern hospitality is so refreshing. The furniture, fixtures, and amenities are top-of-the-line; it's almost like being transported back in time, but with all the modern amenities that we've become so accustomed to (air conditioning, waterfall shower-heads, phenomenally comfortable beds, etc.). The upcoming events Michelle has planned are unique and fun. I can't wait to go back out for Tea with Dolly and the Madison's anniversary party!
I would definitely recommend Michelle, Brett, and Belle Grove Plantation B&B for ANY vacation, stay-cation, wedding, or event you can think of! Thank you Michelle and Brett!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have their own perks, plenty of space, and are tastefully decorated with antique fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near King George
13.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Dahlgren
Hampton Inn Dahlgren
#1 of 2 in Dahlgren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
17.2 mi away
The Kenmore Inn
The Kenmore Inn
#21 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
13.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 2 in King George
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
13.1 mi away
Monroe Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast
Monroe Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 7 in Colonial Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Property: Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9221 Belle Grove Dr, King George, VA 22485-2615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > King George
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in King George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belle Grove Plantation, the birthplace of President James Madison, located in King George County Virginia, is now the home of Belle Grove Plantation Bed & Breakfast. Our Southern Plantation was established in 1670 on the banks of the Rappahannock River. Belle Grove’s stately, historic mansion has four Master Suites with private baths and views of the river and plantation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Belle Grove Plantation Bed And Breakfast King George, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing