We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must try!!”

Bollywood Masala Indian Restaurant
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Must try!!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you are looking for a great Indian restaurant check out this place!! We tried appetizers and dinner, all was delicious. I had the Bollywood special..amazing!! Do your self a favor and check it out. Just to show how good it was! I had a person that did not like Indian food and 3 children under the age of 5 and all ate everything.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelsinger97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    17
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife and I have enjoyed Indian food for more than 40 years now, including one two week period in London in the 1970s when we ate Indian food every night. Without claiming to be an expert on the cuisines of the Indian subcontinent, I am pretty confident that I can tell good Indian food from bad.

This place -- sort of an offhand suggestion by the desk clerk at the Comfort Inn on route 301 -- serves GOOD Indian food!! Very good, in fact. We had the attention of our waitress, the owner's wife, and the owner/chef himself in selecting our dinner. The result was delicious!

We also overheard the owner/chef talking with two ladies for whom this was to be their first Indian meal. He guided them in their choices without being condescending or patronizing, and the advice he was giving them was, in my judgement, excellent.

If you're in the habit of ordering condiments on the side when you eat at an Indian restaurant, be sure to try their mixed pickle. It's excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BetweentheLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Beach, Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great to have ethic restaurant near Colonial Beach”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Bollywood Masala is a good spot to get a fine meal, especially appreciate having this type of food near Colonial Beach. Entrees on the buffet are quite tasty, just wish the variety would change more frequently. Very pleasant staff and nice, clean enviornment.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Gem”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had the most delicious meal at this Indian restaurant on Route 301, shortly after crossing into Virginia from Maryland. The husband and wife owners are gracious and welcoming. The husband Raj is also the chef, and he came to our table to help us order. My wife and I love Indian food, but we usually eat Indian at luncheon buffets and don't remember the names of the dishes we liked best. Raj made excellent suggestions of Aloo Tikki Chat (Gourmet Grilled Potato Patties with spices and herbs) as an appetizer, two entrees Mango Kadhai Paneer and Bollywood Chicken (which he made less hot at our request), Garlic Naan, and a homemade Indian Black Forest Cake for dessert. It was truly one of the best meals we have ever eaten. This man is a chef of the highest order. Wish this restaurant was close to home as we would be regulars!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Papa_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really Good Indian!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised during my first visit to Bollywood Masala. The food was outstanding! Service was excellent, there was no waiting to be seated and they were very attentive. I would consider Bollywood to be "a little pricey", almost $30 for dinner (including drink and garlic naan). Not something I would do every day but very much something I would do for a really good night out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dbbrakebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bollywood Masala Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing