We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mold and mildew problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilmarnock
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mold and mildew problems”
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Booked two rooms for one night. Hotel smells of cigarette smoke upon entering and throughout the hotel. Our non-smoking rooms were directly across from smoking rooms so was hard to escape the smell. Both rooms had visible mold and mildew on the outside wall from an apparent leak. Drywall was pulling away from the window and was black with mold spots. Room smelled of mildew.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    25
    25
    19
    13
See reviews for
38
28
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hampton
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2009

we had a great stay at this hotel. it is very clean and the staff attended to every my every need. the breakfast was phenominal!!! we were there to visit family and this hotel is our home away from home. we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miami09gurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deley27
2 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2009

I stayed at this hotel while traveling in business and found it to be very nice. Rooms were clean, staff was helpful and pleasant and the breakfast was very good. I will definitely stay there if I am back in the area.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deley27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2008

Stayed in the HI Express Kilmarnock for an overnight. This HI Express went the extra step in presenting me w/a bag of snacks upon arrival. Not sure if that is because I'm a member of the Priority Club or not but it was a pleasant surprise. No other HI Express did this and it made me feel special. Check in was good--my room location request was honored, room and bathroom clean, location excellent (to the town, shopping and restaurants), continental breakfast very good (included hot items).

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamaroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2008

I stayed here last week while visiting a friend in Kilmarnock. I had stayed here once last year and found it to be clean, quiet and the staff to be helpful and friendly. This had not changed at all. This time I tried the free breakfast and it was pretty good, even having warm biscuits, little omelets, and sausage(?) gravy. The attendant was very nice and kept the dining room clean and the offerings replenished. Later I checked out and went out to my car, which would not start. The woman at the front desk summoned a man from maintenance who jump started my car and gave me directions to the Advance Auto nearby. All of this was done cheerfully. The people at Advance were very nice too. All in all, what could have been a disaster was only a brief inconvenience.

  • Liked — The staff and the comfy bed.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leverhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2008

Recently I had the opportunity to stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Kilmarnock. Not only was the staff friendly and accomodating but the hotel was extremely clean, and the breakfast was very good. We left feeling that it was an excellent value for the price we paid.

  • Liked — The large rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mlb2118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2008

Hotel is a two-story HI Express, built in 2001. The big plus is the staff: this is a friendly hotel with a staff that likes to please. Rooms are average. We booked late and rare for us we had to stay in two smoking rooms; despite allergies, the rooms were nice and got the job done. This property is well-maintained. Breakfast was fine, and the pleasant attitude of the staff made the stay memorable. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FredTravelVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmarnock
24.1 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester Courthouse
101 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester Courthouse
364 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Tides Inn
The Tides Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kilmarnock Inn
Kilmarnock Inn
#2 of 2 in Kilmarnock
116 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
211 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#2 of 5 in Reedville
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel

Property: Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel
Address: 599 N Main Street, Kilmarnock, VA 22482-3828 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Kilmarnock Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Kilmarnock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilmarnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western® Kilmarnock Inn is located in the heart Kilmarnock, VA. This quaint community is located on Virginia's Northern Neck surrounded by the natural beauty of the Rappahannock River. Local favorites include golf, shopping, fresh seafood and of course the Best Western. The hotel offers 67 modern guest rooms with 40-inch flat screen TV's, a complimentary full hot breakfast each morning and free Wi-Fi. Guests will enjoy the convenience of an onsite fitness center, laundry facility and relaxing in the Great Room adjacent to our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kilmarnock Hotel Kilmarnock
Holiday Inn Kilmarnock
Kilmarnock Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing