We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value and Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilmarnock
Reviewed August 9, 2008

Hotel is a two-story HI Express, built in 2001. The big plus is the staff: this is a friendly hotel with a staff that likes to please. Rooms are average. We booked late and rare for us we had to stay in two smoking rooms; despite allergies, the rooms were nice and got the job done. This property is well-maintained. Breakfast was fine, and the pleasant attitude of the staff made the stay memorable. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FredTravelVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 120 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2007

I recently booked a stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Kilmarnock based on Trip Advisor reviews. What a disappointment. The room I was given was dirty, the bathroom wasn't very clean, there were plastic bottle caps on the floor, it smelled of smoke and the TV had something smeared all over the screen. Sarah, the manager on duty did give me another room, but even that room had trash on the floor. I've stayed in many different hotels, but this was certainly one of the worst experiences. I only stayed one night and returned home.

Upon receiving my credit card statement, I found I was charged for 2 nights instead of one, and after repeated calls to the hotel, no one has yet to return my calls. An all around bad experience.
Next time I'll choose one of the bed and breakfasts in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lucy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2007

Pros: Large, clean rooms; overall, a nice bath, excellent linens with both soft and firm pillows that are marked as such; responsive staff; nicely kept property; good buffet breakfast consisting of several cold cereals, several types of coffee, hot sweet rolls, english muffins, bagels, hard boiled eggs, fruit and more.

Cons: location is about a mile or more to town - not much of interest is within walking distance; the shower curtain in our bath had some mildew.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 1stan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2007

We recently visited family in the Kilmarnock area and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. We were very much impressed with the friendly staff, clean room, and relaxing atmosphere of the area. The town is very quiet and relaxing. It is the perfect location to escape from stress of everyday life, relax by the river, and return to the smiling faces at the hotel. They made a trip we were dreading into a trip we can't wait to make again!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank daa2645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Baltimore, MD
11
Reviewed June 22, 2006

My family and I were in town for a wedding and choose to stay here as opposed to paying $250 per night at the Tides Inn. The hotel seemed new, it was clean and had a very nice free breakfast. Mary behind thefront desk was very helpful with directions etc. We would definatly stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Virginia
414
Reviewed July 26, 2005

My room and bathroom were clean - the two most important parts of any hotel. I found the hotel to be pricey (for the location) but they have the market - it's the only "large scale" hotel for miles. With this in mind, make sure to book ahead of time. Staff was pleasent enough to me - but i really didn't interact with them a great deal. Overall, it is an OK hotel. Nothing terribe. Holiday Inn in recent years has tried to price all their hotels higher - when I was a kid, Holiday Inn was the "cheap place" to stay. Now it is the same "cheap place" but with higher rates - if that make sense.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2003

My experience there was awful. Urine soaked bed. Staff merely flipped it when reported to management. Unwilling to correct billing errors. Patrons had to wait a long long time for front desk service. This happened to family and guests who opted to stay there during the weekend of my wedding. The service here is not comparable to the standard set by most national hotel chains. A visitor is better off at a local bed & breakfast, or locally run motel.

6  Thank Lilacious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmarnock
24.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester Courthouse
379 reviews
24.1 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester Courthouse
103 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kilmarnock Inn
Kilmarnock Inn
#2 of 2 in Kilmarnock
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#3 of 5 in Reedville
31 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
214 reviews
11.3 mi away
Ma Margaret's House B&B
Ma Margaret's House B&B
#1 of 5 in Reedville
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel

Address: 599 N Main Street, Kilmarnock, VA 22482-3828 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Kilmarnock Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Kilmarnock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilmarnock
Price Range: $112 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western® Kilmarnock Inn is located in the heart Kilmarnock, VA. This quaint community is located on Virginia's Northern Neck surrounded by the natural beauty of the Rappahannock River. Local favorites include golf, shopping, fresh seafood and of course the Best Western. The hotel offers 67 modern guest rooms with 40-inch flat screen TV's, a complimentary full hot breakfast each morning and free Wi-Fi. Guests will enjoy the convenience of an onsite fitness center, laundry facility and relaxing in the Great Room adjacent to our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kilmarnock Hotel Kilmarnock
Holiday Inn Kilmarnock
Kilmarnock Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing