We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilmarnock
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Holiday Inn in Kilmarnock was a good hotel for the price. The rooms were very clean, the bathroom spotless. The breakfast that came with the rooms was nice and had a very good variety - everything was hot, fresh. The front entrance area did have a smoke smell, but I attributed it to the patrons who were smoking near the front door. This is a more rural area of Virginia, so elimination of smoking from the hotel is still a surprise to some, and standing 50 feet away from an entrance is not widely practiced. Personnel were friendly, and pleasant. Room had a good selection of cable channels, beds were very comfortable, bathroom clean with many amenities and the only noise was doors slamming shut in the hallway. This is a Holiday Inn, not the Four Seasons, so I believe for the price and expectations, this is a good, solid hotel in which to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 117 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

First of all, the carpet in the halls and in the elevator is filthy. Second, the entire hotel, to include my room (209) reeked of stale tobacco--in the drapes, the carpet, the furniture, the bedding---everywhere. I was not welcomed upon arrival or thanked upon my departure. The only positive thing I can say is that the bed was extremely comfortable. I am in the area a lot and next time I will drive an additional 25 miles and go to the Hampton Inn in Gloucester, VA because they have NONE of these issues and actually act like they are happy to have you stay with them. Extremely disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Christine C,

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

During our stay at the Holiday Inn Express, November 26th for two nights, we experienced excellent service. Our first encounter was with Sarah Hathaway, the property's General Manager. She was professional, competent and friendly. It was obvious that being sure we enjoyed our time at the hotel was very important to her.

This attitude continued to be demonstrated by our Housekeeper, Erica Noel. She ensured that we had everything we needed in our room and went the extra mile to fill my requests. Christina Henderson, our Breakfast Hostess, continued this impressive service. The breakfast was very good and her interest in being sure we enjoyed the meal and her friendly competence made it even more enjoyable.

This is an oasis within an industry where the guests are not always the staff's highest priority. I recommend staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Kilmarnock, VA to anyone looking for warm, friendly, competent and efficient service during your visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank practans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Overall a good value. It was definitely difficult to wash your hair and hands and not feel like there was still soap on them, the water is very soft. The room overall was clean except for some red mold in the Jacuzzi Jets of the tub! I sleep with two pillows at home but too soft pillows here were not enough not a big complaint about this. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Not very clean. Walls are paper thin, and other lodgers were very noisy late in the night. Non smoking room smelled of smoke. Reception staff were nice and attempted to be helpful. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear P T,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff.

However, We’re sorry you received service poor service from our housekeeping and for the noise during your stay. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The staff, save the overnight guy, are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is reasonably well maintained. It's a typical somewhat aged Holiday Inn Express.

Parking is good. Internet signal strong and uninterrupted (and free). Rooms are clean. Location is great. No noise problem at all.....and I was there on a 100% occupancy night. Large TV with good channel selection. Billing was completely correct.

But, cracked tile in the bathroom. Caulking around vanity looks like it was done by a 5 year old. LIght bulb out in bathroom. Room smelled kinda stale. Midnight desk clerk was a jerk (unhelpful and acted like a welfare office bureaucrat). "Late check out" is noon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WinstonIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

great management, great people, great place. the general area is beautiful , full of histor, full of just down home type of folks. the people are friendly in the shops as well as just general conversation. fantastic history land, landscape is makes you feel so at peace.

Room Tip: once you arrive, ask for an upgrade
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kogm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmarnock
24.1 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester Courthouse
101 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester Courthouse
373 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kilmarnock Inn
Kilmarnock Inn
#1 of 2 in Kilmarnock
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
213 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#2 of 5 in Reedville
30 reviews
11.3 mi away
Ma Margaret's House B&B
Ma Margaret's House B&B
#1 of 5 in Reedville
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel

Address: 599 N Main Street, Kilmarnock, VA 22482-3828 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Kilmarnock Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Kilmarnock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilmarnock
Price Range: $118 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western® Kilmarnock Inn is located in the heart Kilmarnock, VA. This quaint community is located on Virginia's Northern Neck surrounded by the natural beauty of the Rappahannock River. Local favorites include golf, shopping, fresh seafood and of course the Best Western. The hotel offers 67 modern guest rooms with 40-inch flat screen TV's, a complimentary full hot breakfast each morning and free Wi-Fi. Guests will enjoy the convenience of an onsite fitness center, laundry facility and relaxing in the Great Room adjacent to our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kilmarnock Hotel Kilmarnock
Holiday Inn Kilmarnock
Kilmarnock Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing