We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Times a Charm!!”
Review of Back Inn Time

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilmarnock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Back Inn Time
Ranked #1 of 2 Kilmarnock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Three Times a Charm!!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

John and Lisette have become like family..much less friends! When staying out late...past 9!...in our stay this week, we wondered if 'Ma' was waiting up for us! That's how comfortable we feel when stepping 'back inn time'! A pleasure always...and we so appreciate their lovely gardens, wonderful breakfasts, cuddly beds and caring, fun-loving hospitality! Going back...for a fourth time? And a fifth and a....for sure!!! Jack and Judy

Room Tip: All are comfy, cozy and well-appointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack and Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
backinntime, Owner at Back Inn Time, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thanks again for staying with, its' always a pleasure to have you both here.
See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
36
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Back Inn Time in Kilmarnock has one of the best breakfasts I've had at any B&B. Their signature sticky buns were wonderful, as were the fritatta with ham and pear with nuts.
The rest of the accommodations are generally excellent too. Well appointed, clean bedrooms with nice touches like chocolates and water; cookies in the foyer; interesting pictures and photographs on the walls; antiques throughout the rooms; and well-kept grounds.
The husband-wife team (doing this in retirement), Lisette and John, spare no effort to make the rooms welcoming and the breakfast memorable.
Only wrinkle was the afternoon tea advertised on the Web site: there wasn't any. But John provided good information on area restaurants for dinner, and both of them were very gracious hosts at breakfast.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
backinntime, Owner at Back Inn Time, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We really appreciate this wonderful reviews, thanks for taking the time to express yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We spent one night this weekend at the Back inn time B&B for a wedding. Lovely, warm, nice and friendly. John and Lisette joined us for a wonderful breakfast and great conversation.
Highly recommended.
Jacob & Joyce.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacobg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
backinntime, Manager at Back Inn Time, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thanks for the kind words, so glad you enjoyed it,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh NC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I needed to make a quick trip to the Northern Neck for family business, so decided to make a long-weekend-getaway out of it. Lisette and John provided us with lovely accommodations and breakfasts. (When we returned home, I even purchased pillows exactly like the ones on our bed at the B&B!) Very convenient for visiting the many wineries in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndiannp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
backinntime, Owner at Back Inn Time, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thanks for staying with us, its always a joy to meet wonderful people like you..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My granddaughter (age 17) was on spring break last week. I wanted her to experience a nice bed and breakfast. We love Kilmarnock, Virginia so I decided to check out the B&Bs there. We found the perfect place for us. This B&B sits back off the road surrounded by trees. The rooms were just lovely and very comfortable. The breakfast was soooo good. We can't say enough about our host, John and Lisette. What a wonderful couple. Even though it was very early in the season (April), they made us feel like one of the family. We can't wait to stay there this summer. Thanks John and Lisette for making Brianna's first B&B one that she will always remember.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianab0716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
backinntime, Owner at Back Inn Time, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful compliments you gave us, it was our pleasure to meet both of you and we are looking forward to seeing you again....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

John and Lisette are gracious, gracious hosts who provide a welcoming and caring attention to their guests in every detail, from fine Belgian chocolates to leaving the lights on for early morning departures. This is my second stay in their lovely, comfortable home and I wouldn't consider a trip to Kilmarnock complete without a stay. While many compliment the house, it is the very private and extensive garden that I find contributes to the overall pleasantness and tranquility of my stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabetht435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
backinntime, Owner at Back Inn Time, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
It's always a pleasure to see you again and Thank you for the wonderful compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here as a mini-get-a-way while attending a meeting close by. This place is just wonderful, the hosts are easy and very attentive. Great food, creative and served with pride. Given the choice we would definitely stay here again. Very private and the bed was fantastic. Love it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eagleye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
backinntime, Manager at Back Inn Time, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks for the fine review, hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmarnock
1.2 mi away
Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel
23.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
359 reviews
22.9 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kilmarnock Inn
Kilmarnock Inn
#2 of 2 in Kilmarnock
113 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Tides Inn
The Tides Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
564 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#2 of 5 in Reedville
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Back Inn Time? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Back Inn Time

Property: Back Inn Time
Address: 445 Irvington Road, Kilmarnock, VA 22482-9532
Location: United States > Virginia > Kilmarnock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kilmarnock
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing