We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Kilmarnock "home away from home"!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Back Inn Time

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilmarnock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Back Inn Time
Ranked #1 of 2 Kilmarnock B&B and Inns
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“My Kilmarnock "home away from home"!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

The best part of returning to Kilmarnock is getting to stay at Back Inn Time again, as I did last week. John and Lisette Raymond, the hosts, love what they do, and it shows. They are outgoing, friendly, helpful, and thoughtful with every little detail. The wonderful classic old home is filled with interesting collections and antiques, the gardens are gorgeous, private and spectacular, all combined with a warm and gracious welcome and 'incredible' -- there's no other word -- breakfasts....truly, why would anyone stay anywhere else?

Room Tip: All the rooms are exceptional, with private baths, and lovely and interesting decor. Choose from &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JTTRBUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
backinntime, Owner at Back Inn Time, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks again for the wonderful reviews, always love it when you come and visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
29
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

Our three nights were like home away from home! From the initial welcoming to the marvelous breakfasts each morning and a comfortable settling in each night - a delight! And if my husband says we'll be back - that's a compliment! A wonderful place to cozy up for a visit near the sea! John and Lisette's warm hospitality and exquisite care were greatly appreciated!
Jack and Judy

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack and Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
backinntime, Owner at Back Inn Time, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for the lovely compliments. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by this quaint charming four room B&B. The Innkeepers, John and Lisette, greeted us when we arrived making us feel most welcomed. Our room was nicely decorated and very clean. The breakfast we received each morning was delicious; each day a new experience. Lisette even tried a new recipe on us and we enjoyed each bite! John and Lisette took the time to sit and visit with us providing recommendations on what we should do that day. Back Inn Time B&B is conveniently located so that you can get a good feel for the Northern Neck of Virginia. Lots of history, shopping, and restaurants to enjoy. Or a great place to just get away from it all for a while. Thanks John and Lisette for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishersville, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

Once we arrived we were greeted by the inn owners, who were very welcoming. The room was just right, and breakfast in the morning was splendid.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kurtbaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
backinntime, Owner at Back Inn Time, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
THanks for the wonderful reviews, they are greatly appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

One of the nicest B&Bs we've had the pleasure of visiting. Lovely grounds, beautiful old house set well back from the road, well appointed rooms, tasteful furnishings, friendly innkeepers, delicious and ample breakfasts, and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleWolverine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington,NC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

My husband and I decided to travel to his hometown for a few days. We wanted somewhere to stay that was relaxing and could accomodate us with our 17 month old daughter. John & Lissette gave us just that. The rooms were beautiful and comfortable. They supplied us with a pop up crib for our daughter which was greatly appreciated. There aren't even adequate words to describe the hospitality and food. Fresh ginger snaps when we arrived and the most delicious breakfast. The location was ideal, just a few blocks from the center of town. The property was lovely and we are hoping to return during warmer weather when we can enjoy all the outside sitting areas.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shepherd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

This was my third stay at Back Inn Time, and the hosts, John and Lisette, were helpful, kind, yet not intrusive. A sad visit for me, to be with my Father during his final illness and death, and the hosts comfortably accommodated my erratic hours. Best part of every day was coming back to my room, always welcoming, often with fresh flowers, and finding a plateful of fresh cookies thoughtfully left out for my return, along with beverages and chocolates. Lisette and John could not have been more supportive, yet respectful of this challenging time. My sister, a travel agent, also visited here and though she does not like B & Bs, was charmed and delighted with the comforts and privacy we were given.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTTRBUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmarnock
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kilmarnock
23.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
12.5 mi away
Ma Margaret's House B&B
Ma Margaret's House B&B
#1 of 5 in Reedville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Chesapeake Bay RV Resort
Chesapeake Bay RV Resort
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Back Inn Time? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Back Inn Time

Property: Back Inn Time
Address: 445 Irvington Road, Kilmarnock, VA 22482-9532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Kilmarnock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kilmarnock
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing