We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming!”
Review of Kilmarnock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kilmarnock Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Kilmarnock B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Great property. Several guest houses all sharing a beautiful common area/garden with fountains and seating. Rooms were really nice. Staff extremely friendly. Fantastic breakfast included.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maryd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Kilmarnock Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 121 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2011

Stayed at the at the Inn on a spur-of-the-moment getaway weekend. Conveniently located near Williamsburg (bur far enough from Williamsburg to avoid the crowds). Our was clear and comfortable. Our hosts were very pleasant and helpful in getting us to navigate the region. Fun breakfast menu.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank copper16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

The Kilmarnock Inn is the perfect setting for a memorable and restorative stay. The owner Shawn Donohue has created the ultimate retreat in this quaint Virginia town. His attention to detail is reflected in everything from the beautifully decorated and maintained rooms, the lovely courtyard and the expertly and thoughtfully prepared breakfast. We were pleasantly surprised that they offer 3 units that are pet freindly. There are numeous places to walk the dogs in and around town. I would highly recommend the Kilmarnock Inn for a romantic retreat, family gathering or for those travelers that would like to try a bed and breakfast but like myself were hesitant to make to switch from a brand name resort to a privately owned venue.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank countryinnmtmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

A beautiful, quaint, down-home Inn with outstanding customer service. The property is well maintained with very clean rooms, unique decors and delicious fares focusing on keeping their guests pampered and relaxed. A wonderful little town with small shops, eateries and local vineyards provide a delightful supporting roll. A must stay!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanaGoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

I am a fan of B&Bs over traditional lodgings and have stayed at the Kilmarnock Inn on occasions and it has always exceeded my expectations. The rooms and the inner court are absolutely FABULOUS!
Morgan J. Robbins

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJRobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

I stayed a Wednesday through Sunday while on business in Kilmarnock. The Inn is a pleasant change from the typical chain hotel I might stay. More home-like in the sense that all of the buildings surrounding the main house have just a few rooms in them and you have a key to enter the building as well as a room key. You can come and go as you please, but the staff is readily accessible by cell phone on the off hours.

My room was on the second floor and had access to a very large shared balcony/deck with view of the courtyard around which the 6 (or so) houses that make up the Inn are arranged. I sat out one evening reading and enjoyed the breeze and the view.

This was my second overnight visit to Kilmarnock; but my first at the Inn. Located right off the main street, I was able to walk to the Buenos Nachos restaurant as well as the Town Bistro. In fact everything is a short walk from the Inn, which is located roughly in the middle of the 4-block downtown area.

While all of these are enough reason to recommend the Inn, what drove me to write a review was the breakfast. Cheryl, the chef, clearly enjoys what she does. My first morning I had the pleasure of trying a new recipe she was perfecting: a potato pancake. This was a crispy-on-the-outside, creamy-on-the-inside confection made of whipped potato and a blend of sauteed red and green peppers, onions, and just a hint of rosemary, which was fresh from the herb garden the grows along-side the Inn's property. I had those with scrambled eggs, ham, and toast, but that was no side dish, it was the star of the show.

I typically travel over 100 nights each year. At the Inn I felt special and it doesn't get better than that.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
2  Thank Cobbster_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

I was in Kilmarnock in June 2009 with a tour group but was unable to stay at Kilmarnock Inn as they have only sixteen (BEAUTIFUL!) rooms and our group needed twenty-four. However, I was so impressed with the place and the wondertful courtyard and the hospitality of the manager that I asked if he would arrange an evening courtyard dinner with entertainment when our group passed by on the way back from Tangier Island. No problem.! He provided a complete bar-b-que dinner with all the trappings including a Canadian Les Paul-Chet Adkins style guitarist.. And GOD provided a gorgeous lste June evening. Our guys thought it to be the highlight of their Northern Neck stay. This part of Virginia is a gem. The area abounds with Louisiana-Mississippi type hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BAP65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmarnock
1.2 mi away
Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel
23.3 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester Courthouse
101 reviews
23.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester Courthouse
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
213 reviews
12.1 mi away
Ma Margaret's House B&B
Ma Margaret's House B&B
#1 of 5 in Reedville
116 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#2 of 5 in Reedville
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmarnock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmarnock Inn

Address: 34 E Church St, Kilmarnock, VA 22482-9522
Location: United States > Virginia > Kilmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kilmarnock
Price Range: $139 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kilmarnock Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening in June of 2008! Celebrating our Presidential Heritage. Classic Bed and Breakfast with outside cottages sorrounding a 100 year old pecan tree with beautiful fountain. Right in the heart of downtown Kilmarnock, an easy walk to restauarants, shopping and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Kilmarnock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmarnock Hotel Kilmarnock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing