We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Keswick Hall
Nearby Hotels
The Clifton(Charlottesville)
$199
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Monticello(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$153
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
200 South Street Inn(Charlottesville)
$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Charlottesville(Charlottesville)
$219
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$107
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$207
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
Autograph
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
481 results
Traveler rating
323
92
41
16
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
323
92
41
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolmain restaurantbeautiful propertypublic roomsjunior suitehunt clubrolling hillstennis courtsbottle of champagnesouthern charmcharlottesville areavisit monticellothird floorfitness centervilla crawfordfossett's restaurantorient express property
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 481 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2014

I have visited Keswick twice this year with my family and both times we have had an excellent experience. It is very near to Monticello and some wineries so it makes a great weekend or weekday visit location. This is an upscale, boutique hotel with the feel of a large mansion where the staff gets to know you and provides exceptional service. We had a delicious dinner at Fossett's with the waiter Tom recognizing us from our visit months earlier. My wife and college aged children raved about the food and desserts and did I. Decent and affordable wine selection also. Prior to dinner, we had drinks by the infinity pool where Jim, the waiter, allowed us to sample some wines prior to pouring a full glass and customized the snack tray for the types of items we would enjoy. After dinner, we were able to go to the billiards room to play for a while and to review some old books in the library room. They also do a full bed turndown and room pick up in the early evening. Many more amenities and events such as Sunday brunch, afternoon tea and a golf course (soon to reopen with a full makeover) are also available. For my family, this was a wonderful time and we are looking forward to our next trip.

Room Tip: Get a view of the pool area and the golf course.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a relaxing one night stay at this gorgeous historic property in November. We dined at Fossett's for dinner and breakfast and enjoyed both meals. A nice bar is available for drinks or to hang out in the evening. Our room was small, but clean and decorated with antiques. We would definitely return again when in the area.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank luvgreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We just spent two nights at Keswick hall as part of our honeymoon. It's a beautiful property and well run with good attention to detail. Would certainly go back when next passing through.

Staff: 10/10
I thought staff were excellent and attention to detail was strong - we had a hand written note in our room upon arrival as well as a bottle of cava from the management to celebrate our honeymoon which was a thoughtful touch. There was an issue with the a/c on our first night which the front desk took care of immediately after we let them know about it and they left us a bottle of wine and another note to apologise for the inconvenience. Overall they struck an excellent balance between not being oppressive and taking an interest. Lisa on the front desk was especially helpful. Our only small complaint was that housekeeping hoovered the corridor outside our room at 9am on our second morning and maintenance seemed to be drilling the wall - not so good if you are looking for a lie in - I'm sure they won't do it again!

Accommodation: 8/10
We had a comfortable room on the backside top floor overlooking the parking lot. Fixtures were nice quality and bed was comfortable. Bathroom was good size and well equipped. Only downside was that window in bedroom was quite small and high up with limited views - would have been interested to see rooms on other side and on first floor which I suspect have better views and bigger windows.

Food: 9/10
Food in fossets fine dining restaurant was good as was breakfast. Serving staff were charming

Location: 8/10
You probably need to be a golfer to best appreciate the views across the golf course - to me it looked slightly artificial while still being pleasant. But perhaps that's because it is still work in progress. Otherwise well located for visiting Monticello and other nearby vineyard attractions.

Facilities: 9/10
Gym is well equipped, lots of swimming pools and even more tennis courts including ball machines although didn't appear to be anybody playing while we were there - tried to play but weather prevented us. Did not try out spa or golf but looked promising

Value: 9/10
I thought value was reasonable - should have booked through Amex for a better bed and breakfast rate but still ok

Overall: 9/10
We enjoyed our two nights - strikes us as a very safe pick for a relaxing or romantic weekend stay. Probably wouldn't spend more than a couple of days though depending on what you are looking for - it has the feel of a weekend club so while buzzing on the weekend felt rather empty during the week

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Oliver C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stayed at Keswick Hall for 3 nights for meetings. My second trip to Charlottesville and second stay at Keswick.

Just an all-around beautiful property. The setting is amazing and the amenities are fantastic. Meetings took most of the time so the highlight for me was the stunning views overlooking the hills from the lounge when we had breaks.

Didn't make it in the pool but the family aquatic center is huge. The infinity pool looks incredible but it was under repair while I was there. Tennis center, golf course, all right there and many things available off site.

My room was fantastic with a semi-private veranda overlooking the front drive. Huge bed and a colossal bath tub.

A bit of a drive to downtown Charlottesville but well worth the travel to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ahbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet K, General Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you so much for your visit and for taking the time to post. It was a pleasure having you with us. We are sorry the pool was not open while you were there but the refreshments to the pool and the soon-to-be-open Pete Dye Golf Course will be perfect reasons to return. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Keswick Hall.

Warm Regards,
Monte Hansen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We were visiting UVA for several days and unfortunately someone else recommended another hotel that was not only a lot more expensive , it was terrible. Luckily we heard about Keswick hall, beautiful place in wonderful setting. service , rooms , food everything was first class I do not have one bad thing to say. will definitely be going back regardless if we need to go to UVA or not.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank michael k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet K, General Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you so much for visiting Keswick Hall. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we definitely look forward to having you visit us again soon - whether for a UVA visit or not.

Warm Regards,
Monte Hansen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews