We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel was great, but”
Review of Keswick Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Keswick Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The Keswick Hotel lived up to our known experience. We've stayed many times and although it has changed ownership, several times, it's still a wonderful visit. The public spaces and rooms are typical of an opulent southern mansion, very spacious, with every amenity (including all of the electronics and wifi). If you just have to take your pet, it's pet friendly. All of the staff is abundantly courteous and helpful, especially Lisa at the front desk, a true gem! Their restaurant, Fossett, it quite elegant and the menu/food is very good but it doesn't live up to the rest of the ambiance. It was quirky that so many dish garnishes were either pickled or laced with vinegar. Also, their golf course is under a major refurb and it is not is use. This earth work unfortunately takes away from what is typically a gorgeous setting.

Room Tip: This is a very rural setting so there is no noise except the 7.a.m. train and its whistle that's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for your review and for providing us with the helpful feedback on your stay. Your comments have been shared wtih our team so that we can continue to improve. We are delighted that the golf course project is moving quickly and we look forward to having the wonderful view restored for our guests this spring. We hope that you will return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 478 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with very accommodating staff. We spent 2 nights here. The room was large and furnished with antique/reproduction pieces which made it feel so different from the usual badged hotel rooms. The bar was busy but well run. Breakfast was good with a wonderful view over the golf course. The course was closed as it was bring remodelled. The only complaint was the trains rumbling through at 3am.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Keswick deserves nothing but a superlative review. In every aspect the place exceeded my expectations. I came for a wedding in September and I was continually impressed on all fronts. The property is charming and unique; all the furniture is hand-picked and the decor is a cross between southern plantation and British country club. The rooms felt like guest suites in a wealthy friend's estate and they were beautifully decorated. I particularly appreciated the Molton Brown products in the bathroom and the turn-down service at night. I have never encountered a staff that was so polite and so efficient. They somehow managed to be always present, but never intrusive, anticipating our every need. The food was excellent. There are always free light refreshments in the lobby, and if you have to leave they have coffee and tea to go. I would love to return. Everyone who was at the wedding agreed that the place is spectacular.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjm77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are delighted that a wedding brought you to Keswick Hall and that everyone enjoyed their visit. We loved your description of our decor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have stayed here before and was not disappointed again. My room this time was a litlle dated but very clean and comfortable. Last time my room was freshly renovated. The grounds are spectacular for a hilly run. Very attentive staff. I even spilled a glass of red wine on my white blouse and housekeeping was able to remove it by morning! How did they do that? Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for your return visit and review. We are delighted that our housekeeping team was able to assist with the red wine stain!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We spent the last three nights at Keswick Hall. We returned after a not so good experience just a year ago. Last year our suite was very rundown and shabby for a hotel of this caliber. The bathroom was totally inadequate and outdated. The carpets were filthy. We complained to the GM and were given a reduced rate as well as showered with flowers and champagne. When making the reservations this year I mentioned the previous problem as well as my concerns and was told this would be our best vacation ever. We book a gourmet package for two nights and was told on the phone that this package was unavailable and the rate would be much higher on the middle night. Just prior to arrival I checked the website and found the package was a little higher priced for this night but a package was available. When registering we asked the desk clerk for this package and he again said it was unavailable. We pointed out the website rate and after checking behind the scenes we were given the Internet deal.
Then we proceeded to what was an improved but still very rundown room. Yes the antiques are beautiful and the decor in part quite lovely. The balcony was magnificent. But these things did not make up for the very rundown bathroom with a chipped plastic open toilet seat and mold near the base of the shower. The floor was patched from one end to the other. The toilet seat did not match the base and was very discolored. The lighting in the room made it impossible to read and the outlets barely charged our modern day technology. We also had several flies on board with us. Why complain! We went there and did that last year. We were told then the establishment was under new management and the conditions were being evaluated. We chose to return and try again. We have learned our lesson. While a world class golf course is being built this does compensate for the rundown rooms.
Generally speaking we encountered warm and friendly staff and realize the setting is superb. The dining room was lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidM19722013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for responding to our General Manager's e-mail and for providing us with your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at Keswick Hall and we had a good experience, however we stayed at room #31 and that is the ugliest room I've been in my life, I could not believe those dark brown curtains with dark brown duvet in a 5 star hotel, I was always happy when I was not in our room! #avoid31

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ritafig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for your review and please accept our most sincere apologies that you did not care for the decor in room 31. Each of our 48 rooms are individually decorated so hope that you will visit again and allow us the opportunity to find a room decor that better suits your preferences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I had a very pleasant stay at Keswick Hall. Check in was efficient and the entire staff was helpful and friendly. My room was large, well furnished and comfortable. I had both lunch and dinner outside which was very pleasant. The food was good and reasonably priced. The public rooms were plentiful, attractive and comfortable. I was most impressed with the pool. It has all the qualities I like. It is attractively situated, large, deep (seven feet), plenty of space to relax, nicely landscaped with poolside service. I would return for the pool alone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GilAxlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your review. The Horizon Pool isa highlight for many of our guests and we are glad that you also enjoyed it. Please do return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.8 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#23 of 35 in Charlottesville
355 reviews
6.5 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,853 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#22 of 35 in Charlottesville
543 reviews
7.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
976 reviews
6.4 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keswick Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keswick Hall

Address: 701 Club Dr, Keswick, VA 22947-2615
Location: United States > Virginia > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: $194 - $731 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Keswick Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History and spectacular landscapes come together at Charlottesville, where Thomas Jefferson country meets Virginia's Blue Ridge Mountains. Celebrated landmarks, including Jefferson's Monticello and the University of Virginia, are clustered here among swathes of the East Coast's most beautiful scenery, home to renowned horse races, hunts and vineyards. This is the setting for Keswick Hall & Golf Club, an impressive resort with 48 newly refreshed guest rooms, a luxurious spa and the award winning Pete Dye golf course, Full Cry. Enjoy tennis, archery, award-winning dining, croquet, children's activities and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Keswick Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Hall Hotel Keswick
Hall At Monticello Charlottesville Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing