We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL PLACE”
Review of Keswick Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Keswick Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL PLACE”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

It is a very chick and gorgeous place. This is a true high quality 5 star resort. The staff members were extremely polite and courteous. We came with the entire family and felt very much pampered and well received. The amenities are of great quality and our room was fantastic on all fronts! Now I booked a room for my parents to come and enjoy the weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica_ML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your review and for also booking a room for your parents to visit in the future. We look forward to having them with us and to your return to the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    87
    39
    13
    8
See reviews for
75
263
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Good friends in DC recommended staying at Keswick Hall just outside Charlottesville, and it did not dissappoint us. The price tag is up there, but we were only staying a night, and it really felt like a treat. The grounds are spacious, with very nice outdoor pools and gardens, and the public areas were very inviting, with large fireplaces and comfy couches. The evening we stayed there was a torrential downpour, and the four of us gathered in front of the fireplace in the game room and enjoyed some after dinner drinks. The service was very attentive, but not intrusive. Breakfast the next morning was delicious, and the staff was very flexible with regard to how it was prepared. They were there to satisfy us; a novel concept these days!

Some guests comment on the sleeping rooms being a little outdated. We appreciated the charm of it all. We were on the third floor, with sloping ceilings and rather tight spaces. Taller guests might have found it claustrophobic. Our friends had a more "normal" room, so just check out your room before settling in. The only complaint is that we had to pay the resort fee eventhough we only stayed one day, and did not use any of the extra facilities or amenities. Not a big deal, but annoying.

All in all, I would check it out if you're looking for a little luxury in the beautiful country around Charlottesville.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dimitrivaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your review and your feedback regarding our guest rooms and the daily resort fee. We are continually evaluating these areas and your opinions will be of assistance as we consider future changes. We hope that you will return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was bound for Old Seabrook on October 28th, 2012--two days before Sandy hit the East Coast. I had to cancel a long awaited vacation as I realized it was just not a smart during a hurricane. So I Googled "Great Hotel in Virginia (thinking it was further inland due to the storm) with Indoor Pool" up came Keswick Hall. Now after reading the other reviews, I had a heck of deal on the room rate, under $200.00. My room, a Superior, was large, the bathroom well appointed, and a sitting area. The view was not so great of the kitchen and I heard trucks coming and going---and since there were only about 10 people in the hotel I think they could have arranged for a better spot. But,the hotel is lovely, serene, old world charm, with decent bars and restaurants (I really liked the food and the atmosphere at the Palmer Bar and Restaurant), beautiful grounds to walk, and terrific pools and gym. For me it was just the ticket for a relaxing, peaceful retreat from the storm (we had rain and some wind but no power loss). The ambiance is casual but refined, the management very helpful, and the people at the Club were friendly. It was a memorable vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for review. While we are sorry to hear that Sandy changed your original vacation plans, we are delighted that you joined us at Keswick Hall and found your stay so enjoyable. Please return soon to enjoy the many outdoor activities that the resort offers under sunnier skies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Keswick is an example of a property that SHOULD be 5 or 6 star...but falls short because the guest rooms are in need of some freshening. We stayed in room 10, which had a nice balcony overlooking the pool. This was an upgrade that we had because of our AX Platinum card. My husband and I agree that the room was overpriced. For example, there was no closet (instead, a wardrobe), and the room and bath were small.

However, the SITE of the hotel is absolutely breathtaking - set right in the middle of the most glorious Virginia horse country - and the public rooms grew on us - very cozy and elegant yet relaxed. Breakfasts in the restaurant were wonderful, and the dinners were elegantly and graciously served, though we agreed that the food was good, but not great. The restaurant has the added benefit of a stunning view of the golf course and rolling, verdant hills.

All in all, we agree that Keswick, despite its shortcomings (especially considering the prices), is the place to stay in that most magical part of Virginia.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize that you were not as delighted to your guestroom as we would have liked. Each of our 48 rooms is unique and your guestroom was located in the portion of the building that offers some of the most breataking views and is also the original structure dating back to 1912, thus the unusual lack of a closet. Please be assurred that we are continuing to make improvements and that your feedback will assist us in that effort. We hope that you will consider returning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We visited Keswick Hall for one night during the week and found it to be very comfortable. We stayed in Room 20 which faces the front of the hotel. The room was spacious and beautifully furnished and the bathroom included a spa tub and separate shower. Dinner in the Lounge was quite good with good service from the bartender. Breakfast the next morning in Fossett's overlooking the golf course was excellent. To be fair, if you enjoy golf and outdoor activities, you should consider staying several nights to truly experience the property. I should also note that this is a private club for residents and other members, so you will be comingling with members and their families. I found the overall service to be good, but there was an air of detachment from the young woman at the check-in desk, possibly because she was on the phone at the time. As other reviewers have noted, the $25 resort fee that is added to your bill seems to be nothing more than a surcharge that should be eliminated or incorporated into the nightly rate which is not inexpensive.

Room Tip: Golf course rooms have superior views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curt909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review and your specific feedback regarding the welcome that you recieved at the Front Desk and also your comments on our recently reduced resort fee. We will continue to evaluate both of these areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was our second trip to Keswick, the first under the current management. We found the staff to be very welcoming and helpful. We were a bit surprised by the condition of the manor. There was tape on the carpet in the lobby. The carpet in our room was a little stained. We had a room with a beautiful golf course view. When we went out on our balcony, we were surprised to see the glass in the light was missing. Normally, I could overlook these small things, except that we paid more than $800 a night for the room. That price did not include anything except the room. We were strongly considering a trip two of the sister resorts (Kiawah and Primland), but will probably look at other options.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank offthepathtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review and your feedback. We apologize that you did not find the inn to be in its best condition but we are pleased to report that the items you mentioned are quickly being addressed as we continue to make improvements to the resort, including the public area carpet which has now been replaced.
We have sent you a direct message and look forward to your reply at your convenience. We also encourage you to continue with your plans to visit our sister properties, The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Resort and The Sea Pines Resort. Both properties have been part of our collection for many years and are exceptional in every way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We very recently spent two nights here. We had room 13, which I suspect is amongst the smallest of their rooms. It was as clean as can be with a large bathroom that must have been remodeled quite recently. Only two quibbles: no nightstand (and therefore no lamp) on one side of the queen bed, so reading in bed was not an option for one of us. Also, we returned to the room at 3:30 to find it as yet unserviced. Not too happy about that as we had been out since 9:30 and wanted to relax a bit. We did love the room's location, in the Villa Crawford side of the hotel, so it was a quick trip to the pool and spa areas. If you are there on the weekend, be sure to have the afternoon tea! Beautiful grounds, friendly service, we just loved it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDVINFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay but do apologize for the inconvenience of just having one bed side table and the late hour of service by Housekeeping Department. Your valued feedback has been shared with our management team so that we can work to better maintain our standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.8 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#19 of 35 in Charlottesville
346 reviews
6.5 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,695 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#15 of 35 in Charlottesville
521 reviews
7.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
865 reviews
7.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keswick Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keswick Hall

Property: Keswick Hall
Address: 701 Club Dr, Keswick, VA 22947-2615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Keswick Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History and spectacular landscapes come together at Charlottesville, where Thomas Jefferson country meets Virginia's Blue Ridge Mountains. Celebrated landmarks, including Jefferson's Monticello and the University of Virginia, are clustered here among swathes of the East Coast's most beautiful scenery, home to renowned horse races, hunts and vineyards. This is the setting for Keswick Hall & Golf Club, an impressive resort with 48 newly refreshed guest rooms, a luxurious spa and the award winning Pete Dye golf course, Full Cry. Enjoy tennis, archery, award-winning dining, croquet, children's activities and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Keswick Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Hall Hotel Keswick
Hall At Monticello Charlottesville Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing