We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Resort”
Review of Keswick Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Keswick Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Keswick Hall, just a few miles north of Charlottesville, VA, in the horse, winery and plantation areas of Piedmont region of Virginia. It is a wonderful getaway location. A first class property, with an Arnold Palmer 18 hole golf course and a complete spa/club house. The hotel has all the amenities one could as for. The room had one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. We were greeted on our anniversary stay with a complementary bottle of sparkling wine and the service just got better from there. Turn down service was standard. Our room had a very large private balcony overlooking the front grounds of the hotel and the golf course. The heated year around salt water infinity pool was a wonderful experience. It's open 24 hours a day!
Dining room in the main hotel was elegant and the food was superb in the Palmer dining room located in the spa. We will be back to enjoy this great retreat again. It's less than 2 hours from Washington, DC.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the balcony rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moarng06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for your review and for choosing Keswick Hall for your anniversary getaway. We hope that you will return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 473 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Keswick Hall for our anniversary. The property is beautiful. We had a balcony deluxe room with a king bed. The room was very pricey and in addition to the room rate, there is a "resort fee" which seems excessive given what we paid over $600 per night for the room. I am not sure what you get for this fee, since you have to pay extra for golf or spa treatments or any of the other activities they offer. Frankly, I think they should remove it from our bill. Especially since it is based on your room rate. So if you pay more for your room, you pay more for the "resort fee" even though you are using the same pool.

The room had French doors leading out to a very nice size balcony with a view of the golf course. The only drawback was it was located right by the service entrance to the restaurant/hotel and a parking area. The room was very quite. The bathroom was large. There is a gorgeous "horizon" salt water pool right next to the Hotel. However, they want you to walk down to the next building to change into your suites and them walk back up to the hotel pool. Very inconvenient.

We ate at the hotel 2 nights. The first at the Palmer Room. It is a bar. The food was underwhelming but the staff was pleasant. We ate dinner at Fossett's Restaurant. The food was outstanding. We were fortunate that the sommelier was available that evening. He did a wonderful job of pairing the wine with our food. We ordered room service once. It was good. The only complaint was the latte. It was plain and not very good.

The location for this property is good. Not too far from Charlottesville and the "downtown mall" or Monticello. I would recommend booking your Monticello tour online. There are many wineries in the area. (The Virginia Wine In My Pocket) is a great app for finding all of the wineries in Virginia. It includes a description of the winery, location and hours. We enjoyed the King Family Vineyard. They have polo matches on Sunday afternoons. Dave Matthews also has a winery, Blenheim.

The Shenandoah skyline drive is beautiful. It can be easily accessed just off 250 around the Afton exit. The views are incredible.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sawtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you for your review. Please know that we have been carefully considering the resort's fees and effective on October 1, resort fees at Keswick Hall will be a flat, nightly fee per room. The fee will continue to include guest us of the three swimming pools, tennis courts, bicycles, resort tours, children's activities, wine tastings, nature trials, resort tours, etc. and access to the private Keswick Club located next door, where guests may enjoy the golf course and the spa at special Keswick Hall guest pricing.
We hope that this will assist in your decision to return to the resort again and we would ask that you contact our General Manager's office directly for special assistance with your reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with family while visiting Charlottesville area. The resort is within a 10-15 minute drive to "downtown" and Monticello. Overall the place is fantastic. The really good things were the room (especially the bathroom and great shower), the relaxing infinity pool, more than adequate work-out room, the breakfast food (but very expensive), the friendly and helpful staff, and most of all the early coffee cart (6:30 I think) that you can enjoy in very pleasant surroundings. My kids really liked the pool table at night. Hard to find something bad to say, but the one that stands out is the cheesy snacks in the hotel room that are typical overpriced (read: rip-off) shlock that one should only find in hotels of lesser caliber (or how about not at all?). It's really disappointing to arrive in a beautiful resort and magnificent room and then see the basket of peanuts for $12 or bottled water for $7 (I'm just approximating). Am I naive?? Do people actually like this stuff? Anyway, point made. Oh, and the dogs! Some guests have them and they occasionally bark, a lot, in the rooms. Overall this place is a pleasure and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajlcdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you enjoy your stay and will look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

great historic value. they provide bikes to ride around and there is a beautiful view of the golf course from one of the pools and the outdoor restaurant. very scenic. service at the restaurant was a little slow. very pricey hotel. outstanding bakery on premises - outstanding!! the best breakfast pastries ever!

Room Tip: our room was huge and nice. amenities are old fashioned-no closet - just a wardrobe to store your t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goodfood72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for your review and for your praise of our pastry department. Pastry Chef Chris Salzman and his team will be delighted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We visited Keswick for the first time about seven years ago and finally got a chance to return. It is still as lovely as I remembered. We enjoyed all of our three day stay from breakfast and lunch on the veranda to dinner in the dining room with spectacular views. The pool is relaxing as is the outdoor patio in the evening. A perfect place to relax, unwind and pamper yourself.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nightmare3am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your review and your return to Keswick Hall at Monticello. We hope that you will visit again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I loved almost everything about Keswick Hall, from the beautiful colonial-style room to the luxurious bed to the view of the gardens and golf course from the windows to the think slippers provided to the carafe of water thoughtfully placed on the dresser. The property is large enough for me to do a 10-mile run one morning while seeing deers, hares, and the hotel's hound dogs out in nature. Yet it has an intimate feel thanks to the excellent customer service of the staff. I definitely would like to return here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drummingtosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your review and the mention of many of the details about the resort. So glad that you were able to enjoy the nature trails and all the wonderful wildlife that surrounds us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Inn is wonderful with plenty of activities. Front office staff is great too. Room was lovely and food was memorable in the restaurant and bar.

Service in the restaurant needs work. Sean was an exception--excellent bartender and waiter as was the Brazilian woman whose name I did not get. Maid service spotty--Inn needs more help all around.

Expect that most of the Inn will be filled with big groups, companies, weddings etc. As such, some of the activities like the infinity pool will not be available to individual guests. Also, there will be few people to meet outside of the club members who use the facilities. For us, that turned out fine as we met some wonderful locals who gave us tips on where to go in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agnabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the service issues that you experienced and for the inconvenience that the private group functions may have caused. Your comments will most certainly be considered as we continue to refine resort policies and service procedures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
6.5 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,810 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#23 of 35 in Charlottesville
348 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#20 of 35 in Charlottesville
537 reviews
7.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
942 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keswick Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keswick Hall

Address: 701 Club Dr, Keswick, VA 22947-2615
Location: United States > Virginia > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: $244 - $901 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Keswick Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History and spectacular landscapes come together at Charlottesville, where Thomas Jefferson country meets Virginia's Blue Ridge Mountains. Celebrated landmarks, including Jefferson's Monticello and the University of Virginia, are clustered here among swathes of the East Coast's most beautiful scenery, home to renowned horse races, hunts and vineyards. This is the setting for Keswick Hall & Golf Club, an impressive resort with 48 newly refreshed guest rooms, a luxurious spa and the award winning Pete Dye golf course, Full Cry. Enjoy tennis, archery, award-winning dining, croquet, children's activities and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Keswick Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Hall Hotel Keswick
Hall At Monticello Charlottesville Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing