We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but pricey”
Review of Keswick Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Keswick Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

great historic value. they provide bikes to ride around and there is a beautiful view of the golf course from one of the pools and the outdoor restaurant. very scenic. service at the restaurant was a little slow. very pricey hotel. outstanding bakery on premises - outstanding!! the best breakfast pastries ever!

Room Tip: our room was huge and nice. amenities are old fashioned-no closet - just a wardrobe to store your t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goodfood72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for your review and for your praise of our pastry department. Pastry Chef Chris Salzman and his team will be delighted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 478 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

We visited Keswick for the first time about seven years ago and finally got a chance to return. It is still as lovely as I remembered. We enjoyed all of our three day stay from breakfast and lunch on the veranda to dinner in the dining room with spectacular views. The pool is relaxing as is the outdoor patio in the evening. A perfect place to relax, unwind and pamper yourself.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nightmare3am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your review and your return to Keswick Hall at Monticello. We hope that you will visit again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I loved almost everything about Keswick Hall, from the beautiful colonial-style room to the luxurious bed to the view of the gardens and golf course from the windows to the think slippers provided to the carafe of water thoughtfully placed on the dresser. The property is large enough for me to do a 10-mile run one morning while seeing deers, hares, and the hotel's hound dogs out in nature. Yet it has an intimate feel thanks to the excellent customer service of the staff. I definitely would like to return here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drummingtosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your review and the mention of many of the details about the resort. So glad that you were able to enjoy the nature trails and all the wonderful wildlife that surrounds us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Inn is wonderful with plenty of activities. Front office staff is great too. Room was lovely and food was memorable in the restaurant and bar.

Service in the restaurant needs work. Sean was an exception--excellent bartender and waiter as was the Brazilian woman whose name I did not get. Maid service spotty--Inn needs more help all around.

Expect that most of the Inn will be filled with big groups, companies, weddings etc. As such, some of the activities like the infinity pool will not be available to individual guests. Also, there will be few people to meet outside of the club members who use the facilities. For us, that turned out fine as we met some wonderful locals who gave us tips on where to go in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agnabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the service issues that you experienced and for the inconvenience that the private group functions may have caused. Your comments will most certainly be considered as we continue to refine resort policies and service procedures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at Keswick this past weekend enroute from Charleston, SC to CT so that we could break up the drive and visit Monticello as well. We had our 2-year old Black Lab with us so we needed a pet-friendly hotel. We could not have been more pleased. Spectacular hotel with equally spectacular accommodations, even for our dog (the hotel is very pet-friendly, for example, with water bowls conveniently placed throughout the grounds). The grounds and vistas are incredible, and we had an incredible dinner at Fossett's - a true gourmet experience. My only regret is that I didn't play the Arnold Palmer golf course. We'll leave that for the next time!!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank arrowatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your review and recent visit. We do hope that you will visit again to enjoy a round of golf and visit with Maggie, our beloved Border Collie, who works the course!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Wonderful memories of our 6 night stay at Keswick with our two sons in early August. The dinners we had on the terrace and the breakfasts at Fossets were, dare I say, flawless. Great Virginia inspired menu and excellent service. However what really sold us on this resort was the kids club (golf and tennis), great golf lessons for the adults with Bubba, and the stunning landscaping of the property. It has a huge range of facilities for such a small hotel of 40 odd rooms. Don't expect a mini fridge or safe in your room, it's not Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons. The main wing of the building is an old house. It's not a custom built resort so the rooms are quirky, with antique furniture - that's part of the charm. For us it was unique and reminded us of hotels we've stayed at in Tuscany and England. It is expensive but we loved every minute of it and really missed it after we left. All our fears about Virginia heat during August turned out to be a non-issue. ps visit the Blue Ridge and Devils Backbone brewery when you stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bermudamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for allowing us to share summer vacation with you and your family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Keswick Hall for three nights in mid August and while the resort is an exceptionally beautiful property there were slipups with the service under the new owners that caused us to depart feeling disappointed, for the first time in 17 years.

The staff seemed very young and inexperienced and while they tried to be friendly, it is never a substitute for competence.

It took one hour to get a wine bucket with ice delivered to my room. After 20 minutes I called room service again to make sure they hadn’t forgotten about the order. The young woman said she would check on it. Another half hour went by. A third call to room service was forwarded to the front desk. He assured me he would take care of it. Ten minutes later the ice arrived. No one in the first two calls ever asked the anyone to bring the ice. There was never an apology from management.

The next morning at breakfast I ordered an iced tea. The restaurant staff was incapable of making and delivering an iced tea throughout the entire course of the breakfast. After my first complaint they said they were having trouble with the iced tea machine. After my second complaint the hostess said she would check. After my third complaint she asked if we wanted to see the manger. Also, no one came by to pour my wife a second cup of coffee. As we were ready to leave a glass of iced tea finally appeared. This was totally unacceptable. If you know it’s going to take 20-30 minutes for the iced tea machine to brew tea, you just make a cup of hot tea and pour it into a glass of ice. But no one at this five star restaurant could figure that out. The young manager did offer to buy our breakfast but it was already included in the package. There was no follow up from anyone higher up.

This is supposed to be a non-smoking resort. But that only means no smoking in your room. Each day at the pool there would be one woman, yes only one woman, who would decide to smoke and foul the air for everyone sitting around her. Imagine sitting around the pool at one of the most beautiful, green, hilly, fresh, country settings and having cigarette smoke blown on you. I complained to the manager who said they are still formulating their smoking policy for the pool. To his credit he went over and spoke to the smoker, who continued to chain smoke every 20 minutes for the rest of the afternoon. So we ended up moving from the pool area. The manager did offer to buy our lunch but I declined since, in this case, the hotel policy did permit smoking at the pool. The policy needs to be changed. One smoker can inconvenience a lot of guests who are spending a lot of money to be there. Smokers can go to their own area when they want to smoke.

Another issue I want to mention is the resort fee, or service charge, 10% of the room rate. Some resorts are starting to charge this. A lot of guests call it a scam and say we should refuse to pay it. My feeling is the hotel will get it one way or another, either as a service charge or add it to the room rate. But what I don’t understand is how they can base the resort fee on the room rate. I was in a $500 a night room. Why should I pay twice the resort fee of someone in a $250 a night room? It just doesn’t make sense. It’s insulting to the guests. And the resort fee doesn't even include a mint or cookie with turn down service, nor a bottle of water.

Finally, when we checked out, not one staffer at the hotel ever said to us, “Did you enjoy your stay,” something that employees at even a Holiday Inn are trained to ask.

Not to be entirely negative, the resort property is beautiful, the pool is outstanding, and our balcony room had a stunning wrap around terrace.

In spite of these missteps we would return to Keswick Hall. It’s a beautiful resort and it really has no competition nearby. But the new owners should pay more attention to service and better train their staff. Do not take the Conde Nast rating as the number one small resort in America for granted. It could be in danger.

Tom Giusto, Alexandria, VA.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for making us aware of your disappointments during your recent stay. Our General Manager has reached out to you personally via e-mail and we thank you in advance for your consideration of his message.
Please know that we were very concerned with all of your comments and have taken steps to address the service issues in room service and during breakfast service. We have also now implemented a no smoking policy at the Horizon Pool and a new resort fee structure will be in place beginning October 1. In the meantime, those resort fees have been removed from your bill.
Thank you again for taking time to make us aware of these issues so that we can continue to improve the experience for our guests. Please accept our most sincere apologies that these areas had not addressed prior to your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.8 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#23 of 35 in Charlottesville
354 reviews
6.5 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,837 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#22 of 35 in Charlottesville
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
965 reviews
7.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
962 reviews
6.4 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keswick Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keswick Hall

Address: 701 Club Dr, Keswick, VA 22947-2615
Location: United States > Virginia > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: $197 - $753 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Keswick Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History and spectacular landscapes come together at Charlottesville, where Thomas Jefferson country meets Virginia's Blue Ridge Mountains. Celebrated landmarks, including Jefferson's Monticello and the University of Virginia, are clustered here among swathes of the East Coast's most beautiful scenery, home to renowned horse races, hunts and vineyards. This is the setting for Keswick Hall & Golf Club, an impressive resort with 48 newly refreshed guest rooms, a luxurious spa and the award winning Pete Dye golf course, Full Cry. Enjoy tennis, archery, award-winning dining, croquet, children's activities and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Keswick Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Hall Hotel Keswick
Hall At Monticello Charlottesville Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing