We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (649)
Filter reviews
649 results
Traveler rating
323
196
69
40
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
323
196
69
40
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrisbee golfnorthern neckresort feeginger alepar golf coursegarden housechesapeake roommain buildingshe crab soupchesapeake baygolden eaglewater viewthe main dining roomcarter's creekturn down servicefire pitsouthern hospitality
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 649 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2017

Just spent a few days at the Tides this Columbus Day weekend. Here's the short list of the weekend:
- Fantastic service
- Room was great (307 - super view!!)
- Loads to do at the hotel and suggestions for nearby
- Take advantage of the Sunset Cruise from Capt Gene - super guy / wonderful trip
- Meals - wow! Food was great. The Tides was super and there were great local places as well. The front desk has them all - don't hesitate to ask.

Overall - a great place to relax - as a couple or even with a family. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: 3rd Floor / Marina facing - great rooms!
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnBa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Well thank you kindly for a lovely review. Captain Gene is very popular with our guests and can provide our guests with many different boating experiences while they are in residence. Our Activities department is waiting to help all of our guests with any tours or activities they wish to reserve.
Gordon Slatford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017

Great She Crab Soup and Caesar Salad! But the icing on the cake was the excellent hospitality from Arturo upon arrival it truly made the meal. Always great service & food at the Tides. The view from the Chesapeake Club is beautiful as well as the grounds. I live close by so I don't have experience with the rooms at the Inn itself.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank WKH2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

We often want to eat at the places the locals eat at when staying at hotels and resorts.
Well here you do not have to travel far as our Chesapeake Club Restaurant is a top choice locally.
Gordon Slatford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2017

We've been coming to the Tides Inn for many years and it remained one of our favorite locations for a relaxing few days even after the sale from the Stephens' family. We've loved seeing great additions such as the Spa while keeping many of the wonderful employees and traditions. So it is hard to write that we were disappointed to see that it is starting to become a bit worn around the edges-carpeting, peeling paint, etc. Still lovely, still worth staying there, but we would hate to see it continue to go in this direction. Meals continue to be great. The Northern Neck Hangtown Fry is a favorite for breakfast if you don't get the buffet. Pet friendly!

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank Coquina_Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Thank you for your review. I am currently reviewing plans for the Winter which will certainly include attention to a couple of areas which have worn this year. The Tides closes for 2 months every Winter in January and February and we try to schedule some of our renovations when it is least inconvenient to our guests.
You are right the Hangtown Fry is great for breakfast (Hey abandon the diet for a day and have fun!)
Gordon Slatford.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017 via mobile

This was my second stay at The Tides. The last time was about 8 years ago. The rooms and common areas of the hotel have not changed and really need a little freshening up. Room was clean but AC was very loud all night. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Staff at restaurant and front desk were very nice and you could tell wanted you to enjoy your stay. I did the Bee Hive tour through the activities center. Excellent and very informative tour. The lady doing the tour was VERY knowledgeable about the bees and how they behave. Gift shop was not as good this time as it was 8 years ago. Back then the gifts shop had much more locally made items and just an over all better selection of products to choose from. You should look into stocking Jen Callahan products. She is a wonderful artist from the Tappahanic area and her products may sell well to your clients. Overall a really nice stay.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Thank you for your review. We have had so much fun with our bees this year, I am guessing Britt took you around and she, with me, are half our Junior Beekeeper team. Not sure when we become senior beekeepers but we are told we have to work hard and make sure our bees are happy for at least a year before we can fully graduate.
I am glad the staff looked after you so well.
Next year you will be able to actually enjoy the honey which this year is all being kept to feed the hives through the winter.
Gordon Slatford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017

Overall the stay was very good. Our room was nice but the soaking tub was not good for people over 70. We had to help each other get in and out of the shower. In the future we need to request a walk in shower.

On one occasion when we were enjoying the view on the terrace we could not help but hearing a continuous conversation of 2 waiters complaining about not working many hours and how little pay they were making. This was very annoying and continued for a good length of time.

Room Tip: Request rooms in the Garden overlooking marina but not on the end!
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Terrell V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2017

Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
I will investigate the staff comments, certainly should not be discussed in public but I do not like them to be unhappy when business levels change.
Gordon Slatford.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews