We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”
Review of The Tides Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Tides Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Irvington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We were invited to spend a weekend at The Tides Inn as part of a family event. I have to say that we were not only pleasantly surprised, but had a fabulous weekend. The facility isn't all brand new, but it is exceptionally well maintained. The setting is spectacular, with views over the marina and river from just about everywhere. The service, and the philosophy, make everything SO relaxing. Want to paddle a kayak on the creek for a bit? They are on the dock with smiling staff fo use all day. Want to ride into the quaint 150 year old town? Just mention it to the doorman and he brings you up a bike in a few seconds - no wait, no paperwork, just ride off and come back when you feel like it. Golf, tennis, boating, a host of other games, full marina, wonderful food at reasonable prices, and everywhere the friendliest and most unpretentious service you can imagine. Our entire family had a great weekend. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank The_Doge_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 596 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2014

As others have written, this is a remote destination in the Northern Neck of Virginia. Not too far from Richmond and Washington, DC in distance (but all face dealing with I95). We drove at night and it took much less time then others in our group. There's not much to the town except for a few stores and museum. There is a nearby winery that is great to sit out and enjoy locally produced vintage.

The facility is backed up in quiet cove where you can watch the boats (sailing, big fishing vessels, little wave runners, etc) come and go from a fantastic venue. There's plenty of activities (corn hole, game room, swimming pool, kayaking, crabbing) that's all part of the daily resort fee. The small par three Frisbee and regular golf course is very fun. Equipment supplied for all if needed. Free bike are provided to ride around town. There is a game room with a big fire place. You can rent a boat (we did a two hour fishing trip that was perfect) or just cruise around and sightsee. Pool is not huge and will be full of kids having fun. The spa got good reviews on the massages from people in our group. The golf course is five minute ride. It's challenging. It's not for beginners. It's well maintained, with tight fairways amongst tall trees. Small greens and a few water holes.

The patio is simply wonderful to sit out on for breakfast, lunch, dinner or just hang out. Can't beat the view. The staff in general is fabulous. Helpful, easy going and know that you are there to relax. The food is good and not too outrageous. I like the free afternoon lemonade and evening smores. The rooms are fine, nothing spectacular. They have many with the great view of the water.

Overall, if you want a good family, low key place this is the spot for you. Plenty of daytime activities. If you are looking for night time fun, you are going to have make it yourself. The small size, water views and water access are what separate it from the Homestead size places.

Room Tip: It's all about the water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We came from all over the country for a family weekend to this wonderful hotel. Although it is out of the way it was completely worth the effort. Stay at the Tides and you will be rewarded with a gorgeous setting and southern hospitality at its finest. From the moment you arrive the staff at the Tides make you feel as if they have been waiting just for you. There are so many good things to write about, from the plentiful free activities to the folks behind the front desk taking care of every detail immediately. The rooms are fine but the highlight is everything else around you.
We travel a lot and I was impressed. Go and enjoy. You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank s52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Thank you. Your review made great reading and the staff enjoyed your feedback.
Gordon Slatford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

A resort hotel like they don't make any more! A beautiful hotel, with amazing views across Carter's Creek, the Rappahannock, and onto the bay. The grounds are lovely, the pool and beach delightful. Service is friendly and thorough. The restaurant is great, and the cookies and milk in the lounge in the evening just the right touch. The only complaint was that the connecting door between our room and the next permitted even conversational level talk to filter in.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Thank you for your comments. Interconnecting rooms are a beautiful option but the doors will, unfortunately, in any property be less insulative than walls.
For those who like silence we recommend asking for a room that does not interconnect.
Gordon Slatford.
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We recently had a three-night family gathering at The Tides Inn, and while the staff was unfailingly pleasant, the facilities have passed their prime and the food -- suprisingly hailed by some at TripAdvisor -- was absolutely bland.

First, the food: since we have young children, we live on fruit . . . and every piece of fruit over the three days was absolutely bland and in the process of turning. LIkewise, for the buffet food: all of the breakfast food (eggs, bread, etc.) was downright bland and neutral. Food at the poolside cafe couldn't have been more average. Overall, I was hoping that the food would be the highlight of the trip, when it was singularly unappealing.

Second, the facilities: the location is fantastic, but the equipment is not far from the Age of the Edsel. Bicycles are creaky. The golf clubs offered could have been used by Ben Hogan. And the gym equipment is, honestly, ten-fifteen years old. The rooms are just okay.

It appears to me that the facility is just hanging on -- and the owners are unwilling to make the capital expenses to really have this be a top-notch resort, like The Homestead or Bedford Springs. As my brother-in-law said, the entire place is "underwhelming", and we will not be visiting again until -- and if -- there are any significant updates.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CSC28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

The Tides Inn is a relaxing "resort" in an area with surprising few other options. The rooms are beautifully decorated and appointed. The beds were super comfy. The staff could not have been more welcoming or helpful. The pool is one of the biggest I've seen at a hotel.

The downside is the restaurant food. Uninspired, out dated, overpriced for what you get. Come'on Tides, you're on the Chesapeake. Get inspired! And the restaurants are not updated, ie banquet seating, bright lighting, etc. If the Tides got their food act together and could become more of a "food destination" they'd have it all.

Not really a good place for young singles or couples without children. The crowd here is more families with children and the 60+ crowd....which is fine. But know what you're getting.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GeorgieB333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

We are sorry you were disappointed with our food. We use local fish, oysters and everything which is in season. For many it is a source of kudos but we accept your urging to review matters.
Gordon Slatford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We have heard our friends rave about the Tides Inn for years now. This past weekend my husband surprised me with a night away at the Tides Inn for my birthday. We were both underwhelmed with the facility! The setting on the river is beautiful with lots of natural appeal, but the facility is very outdated. We had a room with a water view, but unfortunately our room was 80 degrees at 7:30pm. We called to have them come fix the problem, but they said it was just the combination of old windows and the afternoon sun. We returned from dinner after 9:30 pm and it was only down to 77 degrees. When you are paying almost $300 a night, I expect a little more than to sleep in a hot hotel room. They didn't have another room they could switch us to, but they did take $50 off of our bill which was appreciated.
We had a nice time, but it seems overpriced for what you are getting.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank unstina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

We are now entering cooler weather and will soon be able to replace that ac plant, by the time the weather gets hot we will have all the capacity we need.
We apologise for the warm nights you experienced.
Gordon Slatford.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvington
4.8 mi away
Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel
23.6 mi away
Washington Burgess Inn
Washington Burgess Inn
#1 of 1 in West Point
13 reviews
19.3 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester Courthouse
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester Courthouse
390 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
218 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kilmarnock Inn
Kilmarnock Inn
#2 of 2 in Kilmarnock
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Inn

Address: 480 King Carter Drive, Irvington, VA 22480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Irvington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Irvington
Price Range: $192 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tides Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a lush peninsula in Virginia's historic Northern Neck, the waterfront Tides Inn has welcomed generations of friends and families who cherish the relaxed pace of local life and the Southern hospitality of our staff. Guests can learn to sail at the on-site sailing school or explore the calm waterways via paddle boards, kayaks and canoes while spotting golden eagles, osprey and herons. The 18-hole Golden Eagle golf course is a pleasantly challenging wooded course with water hazards, and there is also a Par-3 course, tennis, croquet, and spa, plus bicycles for pedaling into town. Our farm-to-table cuisine highlights oysters from the nearby Rappahannock River, and we're located on the Chesapeake Bay Wine Trail with several Virginia wineries nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Tides Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Irvington
Tides Hotel Irvington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing