We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful spot, thin walls”
Review of The Tides Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Tides Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Irvington
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot, thin walls”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

What a glorious spot for a resort. Carter Creek is a beautiful place to unwind and enjoy, and we did, mostly. But as others have pointed out, what could be near perfection is marred by troublesome details like hearing every word of our neighbors' conversations and comings and goings all day and night from our premium king balcony room in Lancaster House. A shame. I would like to sing the praises of the Tides, because I am so glad it's still around, but I would expect privacy at these prices.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnotherHappyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    161
    49
    35
    16
See reviews for
154
277
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We have had friends speak of The Tides Inn for years, and this year was our own to experience this lovely resort! We travel exclusively with our two spoiled cocker spaniels and selected TI because of their pet friendly policies.

Traveling from the DC Metro area in about two hours, we arrived ready to put a harrowing work week behind us! We settled in our appointed room overlooking a quiet cove with a balcony and views of the distant Rappahanock! The hotel supplied comfort items for our 'kids' and we set off to the patio bar to enjoy the tranquil atmosphere of this Northern Neck resort.

The grounds are expertly manicured and benches and quiet alcoves are plentiful to sit and contemplate the views. The room was nicely appointed and appeared newly renovated. The buildings appeared to also have had recent renovations and were lovely. We hung out at the pool for the balance of the weekend and imbibed in their various drink services from the bar and restaurant. The crab cake is indeed, the best! The breakfast buffet on the patio each morning was a good value!

All the staff were helpful and quick to ask if there was anything we required. We wanted for nothing, during our visit! Gordon, the Inn Manager was certain to stop by and inquire as to our comfort!

The lawn had many engaging activities for young and old alike. This resort is great for families and couples with so much to do (biking, paddle boarding, boating/sail/canoe/motor, golfing, walking, sunning, swimming), if you are inclined. We never even ventured into town!

We will surely return to this quiet paradise!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
I do recall talking to you as you watched the day beginning from under the Cedar tree. You have lovely dogs and both were so well behaved. I agree with you that it is nice for people to bring their pets with them, particularly when they are as well behaved as your two little bears (Ed note the Spaniels were very cute and like a pair of miniature brown bears)
We look forward to your return.
Gordon Slatford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stepped back in time at this fabulous resort. This is a destination resort and not on an interstate. Once you arrive, you are treated to true Virginia hospitality. Golfing, boating, history, it has it all. The food was fabulous. Room accommodations were more than expected. Service was above expectations. I don't usually order room service, but on this trip we were so impressed with the service and food that we stayed in the room for breakfast twice. We were greeted with cold drinks upon our arrival and the service in the restaurant was impeccable. Cell phone service is not very good. I used this to my advantage and really was able to unwind.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roydebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Very glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to unwind from the real world. Cellular service can be limited dependent on your service provider, AT&T is good as is Verizon.
Maybe turning off the cell phone is what the doctor ordered!.
Gordon Slatford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have been coming to the Tides Inn for more than 15 years, and all the renovations and additions that they have done this past winter has been truly magical and breathtaking. The terrace lounge is the place to be... It is a great place for families to spend the vacations or a weekend. The staff and the management team make sure that every guest has a better experience than Disney's customer service. They have so many activities to do that a weekend just does not do justice. Keep up the great work Mr.G.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joshua J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

A long drive but well worth it once you arrive. A warm welcome and great staff. Food was delicious and large terrace was nice. Bed was very firm as were pillows so I'd ask for softer ones! The meeting room was spacious and had access to outside air which was delightful. Rain stopped on the way there and the sun shine was welcomed in time for our cocktail party.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Maybe your next visit will be for pleasure and not business although we like to think business is a pleasure at the Tides Inn.
Gordon Slatford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

This was my first visit to this resort and I was very pleased. The staff was absolutely wonderful and very helpful. From the valet to the front desk was smooth and easy. I arrived early with no expectations of my room being ready and the front desk supervisor offered to call my cell as soon as available and I was able to check in shortly thereafter. The property is well kept and the view was so serene and pretty. The room was spacious and great. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom space was amazing. Upon arrival I was given a schedule of activities which offered a great deal for visitors to participate in. Had dinner on the property which was a pleasant experience. The reason for my visit was for work, but I would definitely go back to this hidden gem for a leisure trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We absolutely loved The Tides Inn! Plenty to do, very professional and friendly staff, and the Journey Spa was an amazing experience. When we returned home, we felt reconnected, relaxed, and recharged. I wrote a blog post about how much we enjoyed ourselves here: http://makingmindfulness.blogspot.com/2014/05/our-low-key-honeymoon.html. Check it out.

Room Tip: We loved our waterfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Wow.
That was quite some blog. I was delighted that we looked after you so well, the staff and I get an immense amount of satisfaction from creating great memories and we are grateful to you for sharing your experiences.
We wish you a long and happy life together and I think on your next visit I should buy you a celebratory drink.
Gordon Slatford.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvington
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
19.3 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Kilmarnock Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Washington Burgess Inn
Washington Burgess Inn
#1 of 1 in West Point
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#3 of 5 in Reedville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Inn

Property: The Tides Inn
Address: 480 King Carter Drive, Irvington, VA 22480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Irvington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Irvington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tides Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a lush peninsula in Virginia's historic Northern Neck, the waterfront Tides Inn has welcomed generations of friends and families who cherish the relaxed pace of local life and the Southern hospitality of our staff. Guests can learn to sail at the on-site sailing school or explore the calm waterways via paddle boards, kayaks and canoes while spotting golden eagles, osprey and herons. The 18-hole Golden Eagle golf course is a pleasantly challenging wooded course with water hazards, and there is also a Par-3 course, tennis, croquet, and spa, plus bicycles for pedaling into town. Our farm-to-table cuisine highlights oysters from the nearby Rappahannock River, and we're located on the Chesapeake Bay Wine Trail with several Virginia wineries nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Tides Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Irvington
Tides Hotel Irvington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing