We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced for the service”
Review of The Tides Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Tides Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Irvington
Certificate of Excellence
Hedgesvill
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Overpriced for the service”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A luxury property on the water. We thought we would be pampered. Instead we checked in with the comment that we might as well ask the bellman to help with our bags because there would be a baggage gratuity on our bill each day ($7.50) Then there was the resort fee each day which in part was to cover wi-fi service. Unfortunately wi-fi was not available in our room. Then I asked the front desk (in person) for some half and half for coffee in our room. Not possible. That was housekeeping. We called. Housekeeping brought packets of fake coffee creamer. Didn't want that. So she told us to call room service. Not for $8 -- thanks anyway. Dinner was a disappointment in the main dining room. Mediocre but expensive. This place could be so nice but they need help and they need to stop nickel and diming their guests for every little service.

Room Tip: Stay far away from weddings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Oh dear. and we never have any mandatory gratuities except where requested by a group organiser. The following is a list of just some of the things included in your stay for no extra charge, it is really very impressive, We do however have to charge for some things!
Bicycles, Par 3 golf including clubs,All non motorised water craft, all sports activities, morning coffee, newspapers, internet access, smores every night, organised acticvities including yoga etc, car parking, local transportation, computer access, movie library, outdoor movies with popcorn, I could extend this but our mantra is to not charge wherever possible.
Gordon Slatford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    161
    49
    35
    16
See reviews for
154
277
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
160 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Fantastic food, views, amenities, service, quality, quiet... fantastic people making sure you enjoy your stay... but make sure to go tired, hungry and adventurous - not to mention romantically inclinde!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GastroEclectico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Well Well Well , you obviously had a great time.
Thank you for your review.
Gordon Slatford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I were recently married at The Tides Inn and cannot rave enough about the staff, the food, the grounds, just everything. The Tides is an absolutely gorgeous spot with southern charm located on the mouth of the Chesapeake Bay and Rappahannock River. It is the perfect place for couples, families, friends, and people looking to relax.
We had a wedding of approximately 175 guests and the food was absolutely amazing, my guests cannot stop raving about it. We have gotten comments from our friends that our wedding was one of the best and most beautiful weddings they have ever attended. A big reason everything was such a success was due to The Tides. My husband and I did work hard to make our wedding a success but The Tides Inn staff worked even harder. It ended up being better than we imagined, it was perfect. They made us feel as if we were extended family and worked with us to make it a wonderful experience for us and all of our guests.
It is a great wedding spot, the best word to describe it is magical. I hope others can enjoy this resort as much as my husband and I. This place will always hold a special place in my heart, I absolutley love it and highly recommend it to anyone for any special event or if you just want to get away and relax!

Room Tip: The beds are amazing! All the rooms are good. You can bring your dog to the rooms in the garden ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeganS673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you Megan. We always have a great time arranging and creating fabulous weddings.
Every wedding is different and reflects the bride and grooms personalities, have a look at our facebook page for pictures and stories of life at the Tides Inn together with a pot pourri of pictures

Megan and John, we look forward to welcoming you back next October to celebrate your anniversary
Best wishes
Gordon Slatford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Tides is old Virginia and has the feel of a clubby old I
Inn. Our room had a groung-level patio and a lovely view of the docks. It was decorated in a nice Tommy Bahama style. Bed was comfy, toiletries good quality. Our room had an old-fashioned big box tv i didnt mind, but it's the first I've seen one in a hotel room for years. The drawbacks: Service, while very friendly, is very hit or miss. The lovely young woman taking reservations for dinner seemed confused, and the dining room ended up without a reservation for us. The pool staff seemed to be shutting down before the posted time. At turndown service they supply your room with bottles of ginger ale and a tub of ice. But we missed turndown service one night, so we were out of luck. They have no ice machines available to guests. That actually was a big deal to us, as we were taking an off-site sailing class and needed to keep lunch chilled. They told us to ask for ice at the dining room, but they acted as if this was an unusual request. Also, bellman service was not offered at check-in or check-out. It was still a very nice weekend, but they have a little work to do.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunscreensaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your observations. Every guest is another pair of eyes and I truly appreciate constructive feedback. Your comments have helped us to get back to being the best that we can be.
Best regards.
Gordon Slatford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Anniversary time for me and my hubby means finding someplace to go for a nice relaxing overnight. This year we chose the Tides Inn. My husband flies a small plane so it was an easy flight to Hummel Airport and then a shuttle from the Inn picked us up for a small fee. The Inn is lovely and cozy. Lots to do if you choose to or just unwind on balcony of premier King room. We stayed in the Winsdsor section. I would highly recommend this building. We had beautiful room, bathroom and balcony overlooking water. We sat at bar while waiting to check in. This was great, had drinks and appetizers. Very good. We like to pack a picnic so did not eat in dining room for dinner. Did eat there for breakfast where they had buffet with the everything you can think of. After breakfast we rode the bikes, which are complimentary, Also available are canoes, kayacks and many other activities. Really enjoyed everything. They have a really nice pool area if you were to go when the weather permits. The grounds are well kept and beautiful. Of course it helped that the weather was picture perfect! We would return again sometime in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbiem17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The Tides Inn's staff is very friendly; oddly, the only staff that we did not find to be friendly were the hostesses in the restaurant - where we ate breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The food is on the heavy side. The physical hotel is pretty dated and plain- very "dark." The beds were great though and I appreciated the Frette linens. Hanging a "Do Not Disturb" tag on the hotel door does nothing to quiet the housekeeping staff, who raised a ruckus all morning long as they cleaned other rooms on the floor. Loved the ability to just take the bikes and ride into town. I was surprised at how small the town is - I thought it would be more akin to St. Michael's in Maryland. There are only two restaurants in Irvington and maybe three shops, including a clothing shop and furniture/decorations shop. We liked stopping by the Saturday morning farmers' market in town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I planned a weekend getaway and this was our first time going here. After looking at the website and the gorgeous pictures, we couldn't pass it up. Upon seeing the website, we saw this was a "pet friendly" resort, which was very exciting because we were going to bring our small dog! When we arrived, we were very dissappointed. Our room was accessed from the outside and had a "musty" smell and very outdated. We were very shocked how humid it was inside the room. When the A/C kicked on, it was VERY cold with air blowing directly on you. The rooms were way too small, so it was either too cold or too hot. When we looked at the bed, it almost looked as if someone had been laying on it already and there was dog hair on the "clean" sheets. After we settled in, we found ourselves very uncomfortable and just plain dissappointed especially for what we paid. The website's pictures are very deceiving and there is nothing "luxurious" about this resort. Long story short, we ended up leaving that night and do not plan returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank almslm29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
It is always sad when someone does not like the Tides but to rate it so low on the basis of "not what one expected" is perhaps not what Trip Advisor was intended for.
Many of our rooms do have external access and this is a perfect scenario particularly for our pet friendly rooms which all have balconies and fabulous water views.
I think the humidity probably came from having patio doors open and the AC on full, that will cause a lot of condensation.
I am sorry for your dissapointment.
Gordon Slatford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvington
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
19.3 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Kilmarnock Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Washington Burgess Inn
Washington Burgess Inn
#1 of 1 in West Point
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#3 of 5 in Reedville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Inn

Property: The Tides Inn
Address: 480 King Carter Drive, Irvington, VA 22480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Irvington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Irvington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tides Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a lush peninsula in Virginia's historic Northern Neck, the waterfront Tides Inn has welcomed generations of friends and families who cherish the relaxed pace of local life and the Southern hospitality of our staff. Guests can learn to sail at the on-site sailing school or explore the calm waterways via paddle boards, kayaks and canoes while spotting golden eagles, osprey and herons. The 18-hole Golden Eagle golf course is a pleasantly challenging wooded course with water hazards, and there is also a Par-3 course, tennis, croquet, and spa, plus bicycles for pedaling into town. Our farm-to-table cuisine highlights oysters from the nearby Rappahannock River, and we're located on the Chesapeake Bay Wine Trail with several Virginia wineries nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Tides Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Irvington
Tides Hotel Irvington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing