We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to get away for a relaxing weekend”
Review of The Tides Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Tides Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Irvington
Certificate of Excellence
ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to get away for a relaxing weekend”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

My wife and I were looking for a quiet, weekend getaway and decided on the Tides Inn after a glowing endorsement by our local travel agent. The Tides Inn probably has some of the best, most dedicated staff that I have ever come across in years of traveling abroad. They all seem to genuinely love what they do and it comes across in all the little details that add up to an overall pleasant experience for the guest. Room accommodations in the main building where we stayed were very nice and in the style of old British colonial with Indian influences. While not the most spacious, the room was appointed very nicely with quality linens and toiletries. Don't plan on making heavy use of high tech communications, as there were no flat screen tvs and Internet, tv and cell phone reception/communication were weak/spotty throughout the resort. The Inn offers a number of dining options - including a more formal restaurant and one serving fare in a more casual setting. We had breakfast and lunch several times in the 'casual' restaurant, choosing to sample some of the local restaurants for dinner. The food at the Tides Inn was very tasty with fresh ingredients, if a bit pricey for what amounted to standard American fare. A little more creativity in the menu would have been nice. The resort offers a diverse mix of activities for individuals of all ages - including golf, bicycling, an excellent Spa, a well-equipped marina with kayaks and one of my personal favorites - S'mores by the fire each night. When we were not outside enjoying the beautifully-maintained property and waterfront views, we had just as much fun playing Scrabble or reading in the large indoor parlor called the View room. Overall: Very nice facility + friendly and attentive staff + good mix of activities + excellent spa = solid choice for a relaxing weekend (especially during off-peak season when there are less crowds). We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globetrotterOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you for writing of your experiences at The Tides Inn.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I note your comment on Flat Screen televisions and confirm we are currently starting a replacement programme with LCD screens.
Our menu is always changing with the seasons and Asparagus is our primary influence for the next few weeks.
Best regards.
Gordon Slatford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    169
    55
    36
    17
See reviews for
164
289
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

My wife and I just returned from the Tides Inn in Irvington, VA. We had a wonderful time and the staff there made it a very special weekend. Everyone from the Bell and Valet staff to the housekeeping and frontdesk staff made our weekend a very special getaway. We live about 2 1/2 hours from the resort and we have stayed at places like the Greenbrier, Homestead, Inn at Perry Cabin and the Tides Inn is our new destination. If you have a boat, you should definitely check out the superior docks that the Tides Inn offers. It is a work of art. We took the Cove Cruise with Stormy and it was fun to see the beautiful homes that line the inlets. We ate in the Chesapeake room for breakfast each day and had one dinner there. We also ate in the East Room, which is their more upscale restaurant and the ambiance and service in there is 5 stars. You also get a packet of herbs at each setting and we planted those on our return. The General Manager, Gordon stopped by and spoke to us for about 30 minutes and he is definitely a hands on manager who deeply cares about the comfort of the guests. We rode the complimentary bikes into Irvington. The resort has a state of the art fitness center and tennis courts and a par 3 golf course. Everything seems to be complimentary. We also visited Kilmarnock, VA, which is about 4 miles away and there are some really good antique shops over there. The resorts sister property is the Enchantment resort in Sedona, Arizona and we have been there as well. If you get a chance to visit that resort you will be awe struck by the setting and their spa and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for the Windsor House
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KodiakEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you for your review.
Every year at about this time we have a number of training seminars for our staff and we used your comments to demonstrate how care and attention can make a stay really perfect. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Gordon Slatford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

My wife and I go to the Tides Inn every New Year's Eve and are never disappointed. The food is outstanding and the facilities simply beautiful. We always get a suite in the main hotel and the rooms are large and comfortable. The staff is quite attentive and the location is spectacular. The morning views over the bay are simply breathtaking. You can never go wrong going to the Tides Inn for vacation or simply a long weekend.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PCreasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Having been to several old Inn's, B&B's and Resorts in the Maryland and Virginia area, besides other world travel and staying in four and five star hotels, we love to re-visit the Tides Inn. Thanksgiving and Christmas time is especially wonderful. We have not found the ambiance, elegance and old world charm as great as at the Tides Inn. The staff is wonderful and attentive - the food is absolutely fabulous. Gordon the General Manager was a delight to talk to as he made the rounds visiting with his guests. Again at the Tides Inn you feel special and welcomed.

Room Tip: The rooms are situated that one has a fairly good view of the bay from high or low.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ursula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

(Just a little background to possibly help a reader understand that this review is offered by someone who's been on 46 luxury cruises (the very best lines), and has stayed at only the finest hotels (4 and 5 stars) throughout the world for over 35+ years)
For the last seven years, we have celebrated Thanksgiving weekend at the Tides Inn with our adult children who live and work/attend school in the D.C. area. (My wife and I make the trip from the Oregon Coast for each visit). Gordon (the resident GM) is the most visible property manager I've ever come across and he deserves cudos that I can't adequately articulate here regarding the "quality of product" that is delivered at The Tides. The attention to detail, the quality of the accommodations, the friendliness of the entire staff, (regardless of whom), the truly gourmet cuisine in the East Room, (where we have dinner every night without exception! -the presentation and quality of all menu items are just superb -no shortcuts taken here!) the ambience of the resort, the activities and numerous extra touches (all at no cost) (e.g. Smores at night, cookies and milk by the fireplace in the King Carter Room, cider set up to greet you as you drive up, a par three golf course - clubs provided, many bicycles available for guests use, croquet, etc. etc. etc.- I believe all reflect on Gordon's consistent and profound abilities to manage what is truly a five star plus resort. By now, it's no suprise to any reader that it's our family's "home away from home". So much so that we added Easter to our annual visits last year and can't wait to return to the Inn again in early April for our next visit (having just returned from another extrordinary Thanksgivng stay!) I could write for hours about the Tides and still not do it justice. You have to experience it for yourself to understand what a gem it truly is! Just be prepared for a level of service and quiet elegance that you may likely have thought disappeared years ago. (You'll even get a call from the concierge a few weeks before your visit to assist with activities, dinner, spa, golf and any other reservations you may require as well as any special arrangements you might desire). This will be your first clue as to how special the Tides Inn is and what's in store. It NEVER disappoints! One final point: The fact that in seven years, there seemingly has been zero turnover in staff (the same Maitre D and assistant, Front desk staff, Concierge staff, Waitresses and waiters, bartenders, etc) to me speaks volumes re: how well managed The Inn is and what a very special hotel/resort it truly is! Happy staff makes for excellent service and the fact that they're (happily) there year after year tells the story best. I would be remiss not to call out Susan (Gordon's assistant) as well as Rachel (concierge/special services) and Craig (Dock master) for always making us feel so welcome. Gordon? Just the quintessential host!

Richard C
Oceanside, Oregon

Room Tip: All accommodations are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments. I have always believed the way to run a resort is from the front with the customers and not neccesarily from behind a desk.
Your comments woudl lead me to believe the philosophy is good and true.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Tides Inn.
Best regards.
Gordon Slatford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

My wife and I decided on a close yet quaint, upscale getaway. The Tides Inn quickly came to mind and a destination we had not visited. Upon check in, Earl, a 28 year dedicated employee, greeted and guided us to the front desk where we met Tony and Bryant, the front desk manager. They selected a beautiful suite that met and exceeded our request for our accommodations. Earl then gave us the tour of the property and displayed his professionalism as he showed us to the room. Once settled we made our way to the restaurant bar. The bartenders, Lisa and Dennis, are a must to visit. Great drinks, recommendations for local activities and must sees. We actually had dinner reservations for the dinning room but chose to forego the table to spend more time with Lisa and Dennis. Awesome weekend!! Thanks staff!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you on behalf of all the staff you metioned. Our greatest reward is your satisfaction and I did note a few high fives between the mentioned staff when this was posted!.
We loook forward to welcoming you back soon.
Gordon Slatford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

I have stayed at the Tides many times and find myself returning from this recent stay thinking I cannot letmuch time pass without another visit. The Tides is timeless and yet completely current; the hospitality, amenities and natural beauty make any visit a luxury and at the same time a necessity. Where else can you experience the ever changing landscape of the water, wildlife and peace while feeling pampered and deliciously spoiled? Try one of their beautiful Vista suites, have their special "Lemonade: and dine on the freshest seafood imaginable. Sleep under a fresh white lofty comforter and enjoy hot coffee as the sun rises and the watermen awaken. It is bliss, the on site spa, golf course and many activities that occur daily.....it would be easy to spend several days relaxing and seeing this beautiful Chesapeake Treasure..

Room Tip: Vista suites are prime for space and luxury. Very nice views and beautiful baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anita p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you, I could not have written it better myself
Come back soon
Gordon Slatford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvington
4.8 mi away
Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester Courthouse
364 reviews
19.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester Courthouse
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Washington Burgess Inn
Washington Burgess Inn
#1 of 1 in West Point
12 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kilmarnock Inn
Kilmarnock Inn
#2 of 2 in Kilmarnock
115 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#2 of 5 in Reedville
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Inn

Property: The Tides Inn
Address: 480 King Carter Drive, Irvington, VA 22480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Irvington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Irvington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tides Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a lush peninsula in Virginia's historic Northern Neck, the waterfront Tides Inn has welcomed generations of friends and families who cherish the relaxed pace of local life and the Southern hospitality of our staff. Guests can learn to sail at the on-site sailing school or explore the calm waterways via paddle boards, kayaks and canoes while spotting golden eagles, osprey and herons. The 18-hole Golden Eagle golf course is a pleasantly challenging wooded course with water hazards, and there is also a Par-3 course, tennis, croquet, and spa, plus bicycles for pedaling into town. Our farm-to-table cuisine highlights oysters from the nearby Rappahannock River, and we're located on the Chesapeake Bay Wine Trail with several Virginia wineries nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Tides Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Irvington
Tides Hotel Irvington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing