We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIFIC”
Review of The Tides Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Tides Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Irvington
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
402 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“TERRIFIC”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

After reading at a few reviews, I was concerned rooms might not meet superior standards. We stayed in the Garden wing with balcony overlooking the Bay and it met all expectations. Not even a smidgin' of disappointment. A lovely suite just large enough without being too large, wet bar, terrific bathroom, comfy bed, bathrobes and large balcony. This resort has an ambiance of summer camp "superior", complete with campfires and Smores, kayaking, bicycles, swimming, golf, tennis...all in style. Grounds are immaculately and beautifully kept, manicured to perfection. Public rooms are fashioned in relaxed elegance, all with expansive and beautiful bay views.

After a 2 day stay, we immediately booked a 7 day stay later in the month. Dogs are accepted and at fair rates. It can be truly referred to as dog friendly. While a number of hotels accept pets, prices are outrageous and hardly "friendly."

The small, tidy and charming village of Irvington offers a couple of informal eateries. But best of all is a combination deli-catering business just 2 miles down the road in a neighboring village (White Rock?). A colorful chef and crew, offeri truly wonderfully prepared food, take out dinners and lunches. BBQ chicken is superb. Ribs equally superb. Try a REAL Reuben for lunch, melt in your mouth. And don't miss their cheesecake. Jimmie's Market (apologies if the name is incorrect) and the front desk can direct you correctly. After leaving the hotel contiinue straight on King Carter Dirve. At the stop sign continue straight...2 miles to the next village and you've arrived.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simmonskUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    163
    49
    36
    16
See reviews for
155
281
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

This place is amazing. The room was clean and cozy and beautiful views! The food was great and the location was so quaint. We loved the back side of this inn. Beautiful water views and great pool. This whole town is a great place to escape to!

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NicoleSienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Staying at The Tides Inn is like taking a step back in time to another more glamerous era. When you pull up you are greeted outside on the circular drive, by a nice gentleman who directs you and offers help with luggage. Our room is lovely, water view from our private balcony,plantation shutters, beautiful bathroom and an extremely comfortable bed. Excellent air conditioning. We have enjoyed biking, tennis, boating and swimming and not paid extra for anything. All is included in the 29 dollar resort fee. The meals are excellent, gourmet and you are expected to dress nicely in the dining room. The feel is first class and everyone has greeted us with a smile and made us feel like a VIP. A wonderful place to come for a relaxing escape from a hectic world.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fishingcreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We appreciated the efficiency and friendliness of the General Manager, Gordon Slatford.
We appreciated his comments on the menu.
We loved the dinners we had and the selection of wines.
We appreciated the helpful, and thoughtful waiters and waitresses.
The service was fast and smooth, but we felt at ease that we could spend as much time as we liked at our table. There was not an instance where we felt hurried.

Room Tip: Get acquainted with the hotel's web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terchike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

My wife and I just returned from a three night stay at the Tides Inn. We loved it! The staff was so friendly and welcoming that we warmed up to the Inn immediately. The views of the water from the restaurants and the patio were outstanding, so cocktail time outside in the evening was particularly special. The food was very good, and once again that great view made us want to linger and enjoy. One of the nice things about the Tides Inn is their daily "resort fee" is really inclusive as bikes, tennis, internet, kayaks, par 3 golf, etc. is all available at no extra charge! We really look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fletcher51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We had a relaxing stay at the Tides Inn for 3 nights during April. We stayed in a suite in the Garden House. We brought our two dogs. They were very accommodating with the dogs, providing a dog bed and water bowl/dog biscuits. They had doggie clean-up bags next to most all of the trash cans so that we could clean up after the dogs. The pet friendly rooms are on the first floor of the Garden House.

The suite was nice and fairly clean. Our in-room refrigerator was not working. They promptly brought in a new one. We had a view of the water and a very large balcony.

The resort grounds are very nice, and the location is ideal for boating. They charge a $24/day resort fee, which covers wireless internet (which worked very well) and various resort activities (smores and cookies w/milk at night, golf, tennis, some boating). The 9-hole short course was fun to play. They loan you clubs if you don't have them.

Dining was sub-par. Service in the Chesapeake Room was very slow, and the food was just OK. Not worth the exorbitant prices. Go in-town and eat at Nate Dog's Trick Cafe. It was excellent!

Irvington is a a very boring town. Stay at this hotel to just relax. Otherwise, there is nothing to do in the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lawahoo2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

My wife and our extended family (kids and girl/boy friends) stayed here over Easter weekend. Overall, it was very nice and we enjoyed the weekend. The hotel staff are all very friendly and helpful. However, the room rates and food were definitely on the expensive side for what you get. We stayed in water view rooms in the main building and the views were excellent, but the rooms were a bit on the small side and not extraordinary, given the rates. As a group we also did the cove boat tour, which we all enjoyed very much. Our boat captain was informative and very nice and helpful. We ate dinner in the Chesapeake Room and it was delicious, although again, too expensive for what you get. Easter Sunday dinner at The Tides Inn was to be a buffet at a cost of $50 per person, so we skipped it since we aren't real enthusiastic about buffets and the price just seemed too much for our group. Instead, we went to the Hope and Glory Inn just down the road for Easter dinner and it turned out to be the highlight of the entire weekend -- absolutely superb!!

Room Tip: Go for the water view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rom61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvington
4.8 mi away
Best Western Kilmarnock Inn
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
353 reviews
19.3 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Washington Burgess Inn
Washington Burgess Inn
#1 of 1 in West Point
12 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
207 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#3 of 5 in Reedville
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Inn

Property: The Tides Inn
Address: 480 King Carter Drive, Irvington, VA 22480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Irvington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Irvington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tides Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a lush peninsula in Virginia's historic Northern Neck, the waterfront Tides Inn has welcomed generations of friends and families who cherish the relaxed pace of local life and the Southern hospitality of our staff. Guests can learn to sail at the on-site sailing school or explore the calm waterways via paddle boards, kayaks and canoes while spotting golden eagles, osprey and herons. The 18-hole Golden Eagle golf course is a pleasantly challenging wooded course with water hazards, and there is also a Par-3 course, tennis, croquet, and spa, plus bicycles for pedaling into town. Our farm-to-table cuisine highlights oysters from the nearby Rappahannock River, and we're located on the Chesapeake Bay Wine Trail with several Virginia wineries nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Tides Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Irvington
Tides Hotel Irvington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing