We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sao Rafael Suites
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Maritur(Albufeira)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Baia Grande(Sesmarias)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (964)
Filter reviews
964 results
Traveler rating
412
319
147
47
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
412
319
147
47
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids cluba la carteold townsuite hotelall inclusive drinksgolf breaksmall kitchenall inclusive packagegolfing holidayfamily suitestar hotelitalian restaurantgames roommichael jacksonsister hotelpool bardouble room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
432 - 437 of 964 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I stayed here last Friday night up until yesterday night. I can truly say that I have enjoyed my stay to the maximum. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet were lovely and did not disappoint every night. The a-la-carte restaurant was close to five star standards and service was excellent. In all bars and restaurants staff were friendly, courteous and amicable. My partner and I enjoyed a relaxing spa massage, the jacuzzi however was not working. The room was clean the beds were comfortable and the view was amazing. However the air conditioning was not working and we did have some problems with hot water. Receptionist were welcoming and even surprised us with a bottle of champagne and strawberries upon arrival once we told them it was our anniversary. The atmosphere was also lively and although the entertainment was decent and ended early we always found something to do here. The hotel also offered a free shuttle bus down to the old town of Albufeira and to the Sao Rafael Beach which was lovely. I would definitely come back to this hotel! Obrigado to all the staff!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear Amber,

Thank you for choosing São Rafael Suite Hotel.
Our guests opinions are very important for us, not only to feel proud when they are satisfied, but also in order to improve our services according with their advices. We feel very pleased to know that you have enjoyed the hotel and our services and will be an honor to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I have recently had a great fun long weekend at the Sao Rafael Suite Hotel to celebrate my husbands 40th Birthday. We went away with 4 other couples mainly to relax, chill out , eat and drink and we weren't disappointed. The rooms were spotless and our standard deluxe suite was very spacious. The staff were exceptionally polite and accommodating, they organised cake and bubbles for my husband's birthday which was a lovely touch. We enjoyed the food although I wonder if it may become a bit repetitive for a full week, however, we had a particularly delicious meal in the a la carte restaurant on one evening. The entertainment was good with the Michael Jackson impersonator providing great hilarity amongst our group! The beach was a 10 minute walk away and well worth a visit with its distinctive Portuguese rock formations. The hotel had a couple of mild maintenance issues including several loose tiles in the pool and a patch of damp in our bathroom. Despite this the hotel was a perfect location for our purpose and we all had a fabulous few days with good friends to celebrate my husband's birthday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HoveFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Guests,

We feel very happy to know that we were able to provide you a great time with friends and specially a very nice 40th birthday, thank you very much!
Your presence made us very proud and your feedback is very important for us. Some measures are already been taken in order to correct some failures and improve our services and our quality. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again and let you realise that we worked on it.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed here at the end of June with our 14yo daughter and it was lovely, food great with lots of choice for all meals, pools wonderful with no mad rush for sunbeds, staff were great, nothing is too much bother from the reception staff to the waiting staff to the cleaners, all were extremely pleasant. We had a family suite complete with 2 balcony a and an amazing sun terrace complete with sun beds. Really enjoyed our week here and would def go back. See a lot of people complaining about wifi only being available in the reception, to me this is a good thing, holidays are supposed to be about spending quality time together, not surfing the web! Oh loved the tennis courts too, we played 3 out of the 7 days, the gardens around the hotel are lovely too and there is a supermarket across the street. For anything else u need, take the free bus into the old town from the hotel. Loved it!!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
7  Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear Mrs. Cathy,

Was a pleasure to read your review.
Our priority is our guests satisfaction and realise that our efforts have a positive result, make us very proud.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again and make part of another great time for your family!
Best wishes

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Just returned from a fantastic six night break - myself, wife and two kids aged 5 and 4. We had a very relaxing time at a quality all inclusive hotel geared towards families. The hotel has been refurbished in the last few years and is very clean and modern. We had a standard deluxe suite (not the family suite) which was plenty big enough - two balconies, a separate bedroom, separate living/dining room area where the children also slept. Both rooms had black out blinds which was great for a lie in especially to keep the kids asleep.We also had an en-suite bathroom/shower room and the kids also had their own toilet and shower. The room was cleaned everyday to a high standard and there was air-con units in the main bedroom and also the living room area. Tip - you have to shut the balcony door for the air-con to work! LCD TV in the bedroom and another one in the living room. They have USB sockets, so if you have films on a dongle or USB drive, bring them along and plug them in.
Our children had a ball at the kids club which is very well run with a high ratio of staff to children. I can confirm that the kids club does run from 10am to an amazing 11pm, so the staff will keep the kids entertained if you fancy a late drink/meal.
The staff did a mixture of indoor activities such as painting, cards, dancing, singing, lego and in the evening films, but also took the children for football, tennis and archery as well as fun in the swimming pool - water polo plus lots of water pistols, squirters etc - in fact the kids were outside more than in. The staff were very attentive to the kids and really made their holiday. In-fact they saw more of our son than we did :-) Special mentions for Raphaella and Raphael.
There are three pools, two large and a baby pool. Of the large two, one is slightly quieter and more focused on adults, while the other is close to the baby pool and where a few times a day there are poolside dance sessions.
There is loudish music by one of the larger pools for an hour or so a day, but it really was not that intrusive and you could always move to other other pool if you wanted more quietness.
No problem with getting a sun lounger which are around all three pools.
Food was good with lots of variety - lots of choice for breakfast, lunch and dinner at the buffet restaurant. As many of the reviews say, the food could be hotter, but this was the only complaint. There were a lot of waiters who took your drink orders and kept your glasses topped up, and also a BBQ for steaks, swordfish etc.
Two other restaurants that you can visit once a week each should you wish - the a la carte is better than the Mediterranean restaurant.
10 minutes walk downhill from a lovely beach - small but perfectly formed with ice-creams, restaurant and sun-beds for hire.
It is a bus-ride/taxi from Albufeira, and not much around the hotel if you are after nightlife on your doorstep. Good fun entertainment in the evenings however with singers and even a Michael Jackson impersonator.
On the negative side - only wifi in public areas such as the lobby or lounge - nothing in bedrooms which is very unusual for a 5* hotel. Kettle in room and cups, but no coffee/tea/milk etc. No gym for those who want to work out, but there is a spa offering treatments, massages etc. I believe you can use the gym at their sister hotel a few minutes walk away.
Overall it is a great family hotel, if you don't have kids and want a very quiet holiday this may not be for you. The staff are very attentive and friendly. Some guests thought it was more 4* than 5*, but either way it was a good experience.
I had my birthday during our stay and when we came back to our room at about 10pm isn there was a large bottle of chilled Champagne in an ice bucket together with a massive cream/sponge
cake with plates etc wishing me happy birthday. Thought it may be the wife, but no it was a nice touch by the hotel - thanks for that.
Would we go back - definitely!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DSoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you so much for choosing São Rafael Suite Hotel as your holidays destination.
Your satisfaction is a proud for us and all your words deserve our attention. We work everyday trying to achieve our guests expectations and we learn with them to improve our failures.
We hope to welcome you again, for another birthday with cake and champagne or in any other occasion!
Best wishes

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Our family have just spent 11 days in the Sao Rafael Suite hotel and would have no hesitation recommending it to other travellers looking for a fantastic 5 star all inclusive holiday. The facilities, food, service, rooms and quiet location where all excellent and made it a most enjoyable holiday. We stayed in a sea view suite which had plenty of room for the 4 of us although most of our holiday was spent at the pools or visiting local attractions (Zoomarine, Albufeira, Luso Aventura, Algarve Shopping). The food served at every meal was always of the highest quality and the variety of the food served at different meals pleased everybody in our family. Staff in the hotel always went out of their way to help or give advice, no matter how small the question, a wonderful 5 star service from all staff who took a pride in their job. The only negative we would mention would be that during our stay some other guests had sustained small injuries in one of the pools where tiles seemed to be dislodged. I hope the hotel management resolve this quickly so that it doesn't spoil an otherwise perfect 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear Mr. Mark,

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we feel proud to know that you have enjoyed your holidays in São Rafael Suite Hotel.
Thank you so much for your preference and also for your kindness.


Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews