We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quiet hotel”
Review of Baia Grande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baia Grande
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sesmarias
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“quiet hotel”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Lovely quiet hotel. Definitely not for groups of young people!
Friendly, helpful staff. Good standard of cleanliness
Few miles from Albufeira but hotel provides free transport throughout the day although this does finish early in the evening. Taxis from Albufeira plentiful and approximately 7 euros. Several bars and restaurants within approximately 20 minutes walking distance
Food plentiful and mainly good although occasionally on the lukewarm side
Limited evening entertainment.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much your recent stay and for your review about Baia Grande.
I am happy that overall you had a good experience at Baia Grande. Thank you very much for your compliments to our staff.
I hope that you return to Baia Grande in the future
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    373
    133
    37
    27
See reviews for
206
525
20
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

We paid for an upgrade to sea view...we ended up with one of the biggest rooms in the corner on the hotel so it was also very quiet. When we walked into the room I was shocked on how excellent it was..roomy, big bed, clean, marble bathroom and amazing view! All the staff seemed friendly. Maid cleaned our room every day. Tips.. We walked to the local supermarket and got nibbles to eat by the pool and beer, wine, water etc to put in the mini fridge (as the hotel prices seemed steep). We walked down to rabbit beach which was (15 min easy walk) stayed on the beach till dusk then changed and ate sardines at the restaurant over looking the beach.....fantastic. .Then walked back at midnight and we felt safe. Would defanatly go again to the hotel as it is in a great spot. It suits people who want to read, relax and sunbathe. It's a quite, calm and slightly old fashioned hotel. The strawberry daiquiri and mojito cocktails are very good!! Especially happy hour!
The hotel have a shuttle bus to the Town.. which we used a few times..make sure you get tickets off reception in advance to go on the time slot you want as it gets booked up.
The inside pool has a rule of wearing a swimming hat but we checked the temp out and the hot tub and pool didn't seem warm..The out side pool is better but it was cold as well but I'm sure it will warm up over the next few months... I dared it once!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Scrum D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much your recent stay at Baia Grande and for your review.
I am happy that we were able to exceed your expectation about Baia Grande and provide you an excellent stay with us.
I hope that you return in the future
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is a lovely hotel with excellent staff who all make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. It is in a nice area easily accessible by foot to some lovely small beaches. The hotel is within easy reach of Albufeira by bus or taxi and is within walking distance for anybody with a reasonable fitness level.

The food is very good and the drinks are reasonably priced.

We would certainly return and recommend to others. Thank you Paulo and all your staff for making our short stay on the Algarve so pleasurable.

Room Tip: If available go for a room overlooking the pool area although these are obviously the most popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much your recent stay at Baia Grande and for your post.
You do not have to thank me. It was our pleasure to welcome you and provide you an excellent stay.
Thank you for recommends us to other travelers
I hope to see you again at Baia Grande in the future
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carndonagh, Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

This is a lovely hotel,about 5 mins taxi into old town,hotel is set on its own,nothing around it but peace and quiet,lovely pool area,good pool bar,the beer was great at the pool bar but not too clever in the main bar,stayed here for 3 nights in April and the weather was great,room good,air con good,can't fault this place,Highly recommend it

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much your recent stay at Baia Grande and for taking you time to review Baia Grande.
Thank you for recommends us to other travelers.
I hope to see you again at Baia Grande in the future
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Spent a four night break in early May, the hotel is immaculate and the staff work hard to keep it that way. The breakfast ticks all the boxes whether you prefer the continental or English version, the bacon, of course, will never be as we eat it in the UK. Dinner was varied every day but I imagine if you had a longer stay it might become a little boring. The pool bar was run by Elsa, she is quite a personality with a wicked sense of humour. If you leave the hotel and cross the road to follow a rough track down to a restaurant on your left, turn left and follow the road and path to Rabbit beach, a great place to enjoy the sea, although as it is the Atlantic it could be a bit daunting. Nice little restaurant on the beach, with a good view of the beach, Vino Verde at 2 Euros great.Good shuttle into Albufeira. Our only complaint is that the transfer from Faro to the hotel took two and a half hours with 11 stops instead of the quoted 45/55 minutes, Thankfully the early morning return did take about an hour. I would certainly return, great holiday.Try the Sangria in the main bar, spectacular

Room Tip: We asked for pool view but instead we ended up looking over the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much your recent stay at Baia Grande and for you positive review
It is always rewarding to know that our guests had a good time at Baia Grande.
I hope to see you again at Baia Grande in the future.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Quiet location outside of Albufeira with a 10-15 minutes walk to two different beaches. There is also free shuttle buses to Albufeira town and Gale beach which is good to have though the times to the beach were quite limited. Rooms were clean and spacious and there is a nice pool area with a bar. Food was average, both the pool and piano bars did nice cocktails.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmmaLSmith17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent visit to Baia Grande and for you post.
I am happy that you had a relaxing break with us wand were able to enjoy Hotel Baia Grande – Elsa and Horacio cocktails are the best around.
I hope that you return to our hotel in the future.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilbirnie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

My wife and i have just returned from another fantastic holiday at the Baia Grande hotel. This was our tenth visit, and this hotel never fails to deliver the goods for our very peaceful and relaxing holiday. The cleanliness of the hotel is of a high standard and the professionalism and friendliness of the staff are exceptional. The hotel is situated in a nice rural area and boasts some lovely views of the surrounding area.It is also close to the beach and local restaraunts and local bars. The hotel also boasts a great swimming pool and poolside bar which opens daily at 10 am which serves food and drinks to 5 pm. There is also a courtesy shuttle bus that runs to the beach and Albufeira several times a day although booking is advised. It was also my wifes birthday when we were at the hotel and a lovely birthday cake was delivered to our room which is another example of how the wonderful staff go the extra mile to ensure you have those special holiday moments that you take home with you and treasure. All in all we would never consider staying anywhere else in Portugal as this hotel is really our home from home and cant wait to return in October.

Room Tip: If possible get sea/poolside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at Baia Grande and for your delightful review.
Thank you very much for your loyalty to Baia Grande and for portrait us as your “Home from Home”. That is a very powerful image and we feel proud of it.
I hop that you continue to visit us for many years. See you in October.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesmarias
6.4 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
4.9 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#31 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
3.8 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
5.9 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
3.9 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#27 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baia Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia Grande

Property: Baia Grande
Address: Rua Joao Guita | Praia da Coelha, Sesmarias, Albufeira 8200-385, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Sesmarias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sesmarias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Baia Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the Algarve, the Baia Grande Hotel is 3km from the center of Albufeira and 750mts from the Coelha Beach. Four star high quality with 131 rooms, spacious play areas and gardens, providing an elegant, comfortable and relaxing environment. Located 750 meters from Coelha Beach and 3 kilometres from the centre of Albufeira, Baia Grande Hotel with amazing sea views has 131 spacious rooms, play areas and gardens. Of the 131 rooms 10 are Senior Suites with Sea View, 2 Junior Suites with Land View, 80 rooms with Sea View and 39 with Land View. All rooms are equipped with 2 single beds (for up to 1 extra bed), private bathroom, LCD TV with satellite channels, individual air-conditioning, minibar, safe, direct telephone and balcony. In the public areas are 1 restaurant, the "Mermaid Restaurant" where you can taste buffet breakfast or dinner overlooking the pool and theme nights (includes barbecue in summer), also available à la carte menu. The "Piano Bar" overlooking the sea where you can enjoy live music and great cocktails and "Neptune Bar", located next to the pool where you can enjoy snacks, light meals and drinks throughout the day. Hotel Baia Grande also offers indoor heated pool, outdoor swimming pool for adults and children, Jacuzzi (in both pools), sauna, massage and treatment room, table tennis, billiards, table football, giant chess game, free WI-FI internet in all the hotel, live music, a limousine service, rent-a-car, TV and reading room, private parking and transportation for hotel guests to Albufeira (4 times per day, 7 days a week) and Praia da Gale (Monday to Friday, 3 times per day). The reception is open 24 hours. Baia Grande Hotel has 4 meeting rooms for your events, "Sao Rafael", "Sesmarias", "Albufeira" and "Atlantico" with a maximum capacity of 300 people. The Baia Grande Hotel can also organize your banquets, weddings, company parties and other special occasions meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Baia Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Grande Albufeira
Baia Grande Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing