We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not forsake me, oh my Baia Grande!”
Review of Baia Grande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baia Grande
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sesmarias
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Do not forsake me, oh my Baia Grande!”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is the 3rd time that we have visited the Baia Grande and I have to confess that we are in love with this hotel! There is something about its beautiful outside pool area with hammocks, the rather grand Thai style entrance and the big extensive bar area that always draw us back! Other excellent features are a nice big bedroom, a lovely breakfast with lots of choice, very helpful staff and a free shuttle to Albufeira. There are some features on this visit which we did not like though: the bar food tasted ok, but not great, we had to pay to use the safe in the room and we really wanted a double bed, not the twin beds which we were given. Also, one of the features which we love about this area is the option to visit some good restaurants nearby, but going in December meant they were all shut which really limited our options. The local area is beautiful though with some stunning beaches nearby and in the gorgeous December sunshine we could still enjoy them. The Algarve generally seems to be struggling at the moment with visitor numbers down, so it is encouraging to see this hotel is still as lovely as ever, but please Bai Grande keep your standards high: drop the charges on the room safe, improve the quality of the bar food and keep the hotel to its overall excellent standard. We look forward to visiting you again soon!

Room Tip: go for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Client,
Thank you very much for you visit and for your loyalty to Baia Grande.
We work very hard to keep our standard high and give our clients the best service we can manage.
I am sorry for your experience with the bar food, I will look into this situation. Thank you for your suggestion about the safe. It is always important to have feedback about these issues.
I hope to see you again at Baia Grande
Kind regards
Paulo Dias
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    384
    141
    38
    27
See reviews for
213
544
21
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Returned to this excellent hotel after a 5 year break. This time we were half board and it was a good decision as most of the bars are closed in late nov. food was very good especially salads and soups. Free transport to old town, marina and gale beach are a great advantage. Reception staff helpful when I lost my wallet.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank dwarchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Client,
On behalf of all our staff thank you very much for your stay and for your post about Baia Grande.
It is a great pleasure to know that you returned after five years and had a wonderful stay with us.
Please visit us again soon.
Kind regards
Paulo Dias
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martock
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Friendly staff made this hotel particularly enjoyable,all the people we meet gave service with a smile. The room was a good size and very clean, we asked to move rooms because of the noise of the entertainment, which was on 3 nights per week, they arrange a change promptly. The breakfasts were good with a large choice, they had different hot items each day. Dinner was a varied choice of buffet, the only dissapointment was the desserts,they hardly varied in 14 nights. the indoor pool was a bit on the cold side, but passable,and at least there was somewher to swim in November. The hotel was out of town about a 45 minute walk; but ther was a minibus at no charge for the trip, also they laid on aminibus to Gale with its large beach and nature reserve.We had a room on the south side overllooking the pool and sea beyond,a lovely view with sun until late evening I would recommend this side in low season but would prefere an east facing seaview in summer. Avoid the rooms near the central stairwell as they are noisy when the entertainment is on in the panio bar.We will deffiatly go there again.

Room Tip: less noise awy from central stairwell seaview worth having
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martockRandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Client,
On behalf of all our staff thank you very much for your stay at Baia Grande and for your review.
I am happy that we were able to swiftly accommodate your request during you stay
Thank you for your comment about the deserts. I will discuss this situation with our head chef so that we can improve on this detail.
I hope to see you again at Baia Grande.
Kind regards
Paulo Dias
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamworth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a 4 night last minute break at this hotel, although quite remote it was a comfortable stay. Staff very friendly, food good plenty of choices only complaint food needs to be hotter, cleanliness excellent. Make sure you take your own kettle if you like a cuppa in your room though. Certainly deserves it's four stars.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank carole d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Client,
Thank you very much for your recent visit to Baia Grande and for you post.
I am glad that you enjoyed you short break with us. It is always rewarding to have a positive feedback from our clients.
I hope to see you again at Baia Grande.
Kind regards
Paulo Dias
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Had a relaxing stay, a little out of the way from the main town but this was ok as we hired a car so could explore the area..

Breakfast was included which we thoroughly enjoyed especially the warm crispy croissants. Variety was good nod filled us up until late afternoon.

The rooms are what you would expect in European hotels.. Kind of granny style n not too cosy but this didn't bother us too much.. The bedding and beds are due for replacement though!

If your looking for a quiet place to stay away from the main strip then this hotel is good..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bearbear18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Client,
Thank you very much for your visit and for your comment about Baia Grande.
I am glad that overall you had a good stay with us
The bedding and beds are a situation that we had identified and at the moment we are replacing them.
Thank you very much for recommend us to other follow travelers.
I hope to see you again at Baia Grande.
Kind regards
Paulo Dias
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Having just returned (November 2013) from a 10-day stay in this hotel, I feel compelled to write an honest and up to date review to help readers decide whether this is the hotel for them. We are experienced travellers and have stayed in hotels of all levels across the world, and hope we are able to write an accurate and objective review.
Firstly, please ignore some of the complaining reviews posted on here; this hotel is exceptional in many ways. The public rooms are beautiful, and are very well maintained at all times. The staff take enormous pride in keeping it looking lovely, polishing the marble floors and the large glass walls overlooking the pool, gardens, and beyond every day. The gardens and pool are maintained in pristine order and are a pleasure to look at and to enjoy. Our room (209) was south facing overlooking the pool, with the sea beyond, and enjoyed the sunshine all day long. We would certainly recommend booking a room on this side of the hotel. The beds, linens, and bathroom toiletries were all excellent, and our maid cleaned the room and made-up the beds every day, and was both polite and efficient. The bedroom furniture and bathroom fittings are a little bit dated, but the rooms are large and comfortable. The mini-bar fridge has enough space to keep your own wine and milk (for teas and coffees) cool, as well as having a small stock of soft drinks, water, and spirits. We took a travel kettle so that we could make an occasional cup of tea or coffee. The air conditioning was very efficient, and quiet.
I have no objection to paying 2 Euros a day for the convenience of having a safe in the room, especially bearing in mind the low cost we paid for the room. The hotel has 2 different levels of wi fi ; it is free of charge in the public rooms, but painfully slow, or for a small charge good speed and bandwidth is available throughout the property. We paid 15 Euros for 10 days' service, which I think was very good value. It worked faultlessly and gave download speeds of 5 to 6 Mbps anywhere in the hotel or outside, including by the pool or in the poolside snack bar, or in the car park. Keeping in touch via wi fi was easy and reliable.
We were on a half board package and the food was superb.There was an excellent range of food to choose from, even at breakfast, and at dinner there was a stunning selection of hot and cold dishes to choose from, including veggie options. The salad bar was fantastic, and the presentation of the dishes was as good as many 5 star international hotels. There was some seriously good cooking coming from the kitchen. The house wines were very good, and were reasonably priced at 11.50 Euros per bottle. You could pay more if you wanted to choose a "better" wine, but we didn't bother to do so as the house wine was so good. Our only criticism of dinner was that we had to go into the bar afterwards for coffee, and pay a nominal 2 Euros per cup. We much prefer to have our coffee at the table at the end of our meal.
The service in the restaurant, bar, and in the snack bar was always very good. The staff all worked incredibly hard to look after the guests, and were always polite and efficient. Similarly with the front desk staff, who we found to be friendly, polite, and always helpful. For example, we wanted to check out for our flight home at 1pm, rather than at 12 noon (their "latest" check out time), and were allowed to do so without any additional charge.
Finally, the location. The Baia Grande is situated in a very quiet neighbourhood, which suited us very well, and is in a truly beautiful setting. We had done our research before booking, and this was one of the main reasons we booked there. I cannot understand people complaining that the hotel is too quiet, or too far away from "whatever"; surely they should check these things before booking!!There are a few small shops and restaurants within walking distance, as well as several beautiful coves and beaches within a short drive (a couple are within walking distance). The hotel also operates a minibus service into Albufeira, and to Gale beach (our favourite). We chose to hire a car for the duration so that we had total flexibility of being able to go wherever we wanted whenever we wanted, and that was a great decision for us.
We would very happily return to this hotel, and have already recommended it to family and friends, which says it all, really.

Room Tip: Book a room with pool/sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 74col
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Client
Thank you very much for your review about Baia Grande..
I am very happy that you had such a wonderful experience with us during your stay. Thank you very much for you positive comments to our staff and service.
I hope to see you once again back at Baía Grande.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilbirnie, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is the tenth time that myself and wife have visited the hotel, and find it a very relaxing holiday. The hotel is immaculately clean especially the reception area, the rooms are clean and tidy quite spacious and boast great views of the sea and surrounding areas. It is situated in a great location and its near all local restaraunts, although the food is of a high standard at the hotel also. We took our sister with us this time and she is enchanted by the Baia Grande experience and can`t wait to retun again. Overall this hotel is ideal for a nice relaxing holiday, but also supplies a courtesy bus to take you into the old town or the beach if you want a beach holiday. The staff are very professional and courteous, always willing to help and make your holiday that bit more special. We would recommend this hotel to anyone as it is our home from home.

Room Tip: Opt for pool/sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Client
Thank you very much for you loyalty to Baia Grande and for your post about our hotel.
I am very happy that you and your family had a good time with us.
It is always a pleasure to welcome clients like you. You are part of the Baia Grande family.
Thank you very much for you positive feedback and for recommend us to other travellers.
I hope to see you once again back at Baía Grande.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesmarias
3.3 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#46 of 154 in Albufeira
769 reviews
6.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,071 reviews
3.7 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#75 of 154 in Albufeira
3,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
3.0 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
456 reviews
5.9 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baia Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia Grande

Property: Baia Grande
Address: Rua Joao Guita | Praia da Coelha, Sesmarias, Albufeira 8200-385, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Sesmarias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sesmarias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Baia Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the Algarve, the Baia Grande Hotel is 3km from the center of Albufeira and 750mts from the Coelha Beach. Four star high quality with 131 rooms, spacious play areas and gardens, providing an elegant, comfortable and relaxing environment. Located 750 meters from Coelha Beach and 3 kilometres from the centre of Albufeira, Baia Grande Hotel with amazing sea views has 131 spacious rooms, play areas and gardens. Of the 131 rooms 10 are Senior Suites with Sea View, 2 Junior Suites with Land View, 80 rooms with Sea View and 39 with Land View. All rooms are equipped with 2 single beds (for up to 1 extra bed), private bathroom, LCD TV with satellite channels, individual air-conditioning, minibar, safe, direct telephone and balcony. In the public areas are 1 restaurant, the "Mermaid Restaurant" where you can taste buffet breakfast or dinner overlooking the pool and theme nights (includes barbecue in summer), also available à la carte menu. The "Piano Bar" overlooking the sea where you can enjoy live music and great cocktails and "Neptune Bar", located next to the pool where you can enjoy snacks, light meals and drinks throughout the day. Hotel Baia Grande also offers indoor heated pool, outdoor swimming pool for adults and children, Jacuzzi (in both pools), sauna, massage and treatment room, table tennis, billiards, table football, giant chess game, free WI-FI internet in all the hotel, live music, a limousine service, rent-a-car, TV and reading room, private parking and transportation for hotel guests to Albufeira (4 times per day, 7 days a week) and Praia da Gale (Monday to Friday, 3 times per day). The reception is open 24 hours. Baia Grande Hotel has 4 meeting rooms for your events, "Sao Rafael", "Sesmarias", "Albufeira" and "Atlantico" with a maximum capacity of 300 people. The Baia Grande Hotel can also organize your banquets, weddings, company parties and other special occasions meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baia Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Grande Albufeira
Baia Grande Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing