We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raising the Bar”
Review of Glen Gordon Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glen Gordon Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Huntly B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Raising the Bar”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We just completed our stay at the Glen Gordon Manor. The manor is very tastefully appointed with fabulous decor throughout, which truly lends to the comfort and warmth within. The feel of an elegant hunting lodge that would cater to period elite is certainly present. The pleasant ambiance is further bolstered by music that can be heard throughout, including controling your own en suite. We stayed in the Windsor suite, and as others have mentioned, it is absolutely superb. Extremely peaceful and again perfectly decorated creating a home away from home feel. This room would be consistent with a luxury suite at a 5 star hotel.

Lastly, but not in the least is the food. We partook in the five course dinner. Each course was a progessive step up from the fabulous one previous. We truly did not want the experience to end. Of course it did not end, because we were treated to another fabulous breakfast the next morning. This was four fresh and fantastic courses perfectly concocted and presented with style and elegance. I have been to many restaurants all over the world, Michelin stars, Zagat rated, so on so forth. In my opinion, these are Michelin Chefs and how fortunate were we to have them prepare our meals.

So, great accomodations, great food, and great hospitality. This is truly a polished gem!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1WolverinesGoBlue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
158
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My wife and I had the good fortune to visit Glen Gordon Manor for my birthday. Although we live in Virginia hunt country in western Loudoun, we don't quite have the viewshed this property has in Rappahannock county. Sitting out on their patio before dinner we surveyed a vista that was unspoiled by developers (who are encroaching the farmland and pastures surrounding our home more and more every year). Nancy and Dayn were wonderful hosts. The staff was very attentive and engaging. The food was delicious and exquisitely prepared. I had one of the best beef short rib entrees that I have ever had. And the four course brunch was outstanding! We stayed at the Mews House which was fine. We plan to go back and request the Glencroft Cottage on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 12th wedding anniversary at Glen Gordon Manor this past weekend. We stayed in the Windsor suite which was absolutely the lap of luxury. The views of the horse paddock and Blue ridge mountains were gorgeous, and the décor of the suite was nothing short of stunning.

We enjoyed an amazing five course dinner complete with wine pairings that tickled our taste buds with delight and excitement so much, that we couldn't wait to see what would be coming next!

After dinner, we took our time as we strolled back to our suite under the moonlight and more stars than I've seen in a long time. Then we drifted off into a peaceful slumber on the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on.

Just when we thought it couldn't get any better, the multiple course breakfast knocked our socks off! The service was fantastic and made to look so effortless by a very talented and professional staff. The quality of the food coupled with ambience and attention to detail that Glen Gordon Manor provides is truly remarkable and is a one of a kind experience. I will look forward to returning here again and again. Thanks to Dayn and his staff, we had an unforgettable experience!

Room Tip: The Windsor suite is absolutely gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Gorgeous couple, gorgeous inn, gorgeous setting, gorgeous food! Our group of five friends enjoyed Dayn's and Nancy's warm hospitality and their nephew, Trevor, was so courteous and helpful. Breakfasts were a three-course gourmet extravaganza and the portions were just right. We did a cooking class with Dayn and Trevor that was terrific and then we got to enjoy all that delicious food in the handsome, candlelit dining room. Five stars for everything!

Room Tip: Our group of five friends stayed in the beautiful, plush, private three-bedroom cottage. It was perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hester H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had our Executive Retreat at the Glen Gordon Manor a few weeks ago, and so glad to have done so! Everything was absolutely wonderful! Dayn and Nancy welcomed us with good hospitality, a beautiful setting and delicious food. Whether you are planning a day as we did or weekend at the Manor, I assure you that you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieMathews2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My family and I were looking for a bed & breakfast not far from the polo grounds with the ability to play golf as well. I wanted a swimming pool for me and my granddaughter. We got everything and more in our experience at Glen Gordon Manor. It was a beautiful estate with manor house and other lovely cottages on the property. Each room was professionally decorated making it lovely to just walk into. The rooms were electronically setup for your favorite music or movies. You can enjoy horseback riding on the property or the pool since it is heated. The breakfast was amazing so much so we wanted to stay for dinner but our time ran out. There are two chefs on the property. We will be coming back soon.

Room Tip: What rooms you choose depends on the size of your family. Any room would be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HorseGal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

It was our first time at a B&B, so we weren't quite sure what to expect. The owners and staff at Glen Gordon Manor were so friendly and helpful from the moment we checked in. We stayed in the Windsor Suite, which was so peaceful and relaxing. The property is impeccably maintained and the food was to die for! We also took to the opportunity to dine at the Inn at Little Washington, and as another reviewer said, we actually enjoyed our meal at Glen Gordon more. We will definitely be back again and wouldn't even dream of staying at another B&B in that area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcCDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntly
22.2 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
963 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
817 reviews
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
40 reviews
21.6 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,216 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Inn at Little Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Gordon Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Gordon Manor

Property: Glen Gordon Manor
Address: 1482 Zachary Taylor Hwy, Huntly, VA 22640-3139
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Huntly
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Huntly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glen Gordon Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious destination bed and breakfast in Virginia Wine Country, Glen Gordon Manor boasts a rich history having formerly hosted members of the British royal family for many memorable hunts and balls. Overlooking the Shenandoah National Park from 45 acres of pasture, lawns, and gardens, guests will enjoy glorious views of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Dining at Glen Gordon Manor is truly an experience not to be missed! Your stay includes a leisurely, multi-course breakfast, and your trip would not be complete without joining us for dinner at least one night in our award-winning Houndstooth Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Glen Gordon Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing