We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”
Review of Glen Gordon Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glen Gordon Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Huntly B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We went here with high expectations after reading all the great reviews and really wanted to love the place since we enjoy spending time in this area of Virginia. The owner greeted us with a glass of champagne [nice touch] and proceeded to show us the property. The property is lovely and extremely well maintained. Unfortunately we could not say the same for our room. We selected to stay in the Gordon Mews House since it is an independent house and we were looking forward to the privacy and enjoying the front porch. The house was very private but felt like the "ugly step sister" to the rest of the property. The front porch was furnished with one old moldy striped chair, an old wicker chair with the wicker unwinding and an uncomfortable metal chair - not what we were expecting. The master bathroom had a prefab plastic handicap shower and could have used some upkeep. The house is described as having a kitchen "that allows guests to cook for themselves" but the kitchen had very little cooking utensils, two of the four electric burners did not work and half the light bulbs were burnt out. My guess is that we would have faired better if we had chosen to stay in one of the main inn rooms.
On a positive note - the breakfast in the morning was fabulous - just wish we could say the same for the Gordon Mews house.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank crazt4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGM_11, Owner at Glen Gordon Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Crazt4travel,

We are most sincerely sorry your stay at Glen Gordon Manor was not a perfect escape. It is our desire to exceed our guests’ expectations.

While the Gordon Mews house is an accommodation that was planned and priced to accommodate families (and be accessible for most handicapped individuals) we have found little demand for that and plan to convert the house to four luxury suites (under construction summer 2014). The new suites will enjoy the same level of custom furniture, designer fabrics, luxurious baths and antique appointments found in the suites of Glencroft Cottage (Wakefield and Windsor). We are currently undecided about maintaining one suite with a kitchen and welcome any guest input!

Regretting that we cannot change your past experience we hope to see you again and provide the experience you were seeking. We truly wish to accommodate your needs and wishes while you’re here; if at any moment there is something we can do to make your stay more comfortable don’t hesitate to let us know. Life is what you share, and to us there is no greater delight than to make our guests happy.

Sincerely, Nancy Moon and Dayn Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 246 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Beautiful grounds, very tasteful and luxurious accommodations, relaxed and genuine hospitality and wonderful food. The breakfasts were delicious but the dinner we had (cooked by Trent) was spectacular-- we enjoyed that meal more than our meal the next night at The Inn at Little Washington. It was relaxing to sit by the pool and read with the quiet green countryside surrounding us (we saw a bear a few hundred yards away loping over the hills). We asked for a snack to tide us over till our dinner out and were brought the best cheese/ meats and crackers platter I have ever had! It was equally relaxing to sit in the back of the main house watching the chickens and horses in the pasture.
We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGM_11, Owner at Glen Gordon Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Many thanks for your wonderful review and we will be sure to tell Trent how much you enjoyed his cooking (as do we)! We are thrilled that you felt well cared for and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely, Nancy Moon and Dayn Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The estate is absolutely beautiful, our room was perfect, the views were gorgeous, and the breakfast was outstanding. Dayn, Nancy, and Trent were very friendly and really made us feel at home. We enjoyed Trent's tour of the house while having a wonderful glass of wine. We had a very relaxing time and will go back in the fall!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Monalisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGM_11, Owner at Glen Gordon Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

We so appreciate you taking the time to post such kind words regarding your experience at Glen Gordon Manor. It was a delight to share your company!

Sincerely, Nancy Moon and Dayn Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Perfect place to get away and leave everything behind.
Every view is spectacular. I spent hours just floating around the heated pool . . . looking at the mountains and listening to nature. Every room in the main house and where we stayed, Wakefield, was incredible! Every picture, piece of furniture, artifact has a story to tell. The meals were fabulous!!! You will regret leaving!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonMarathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGM_11, Owner at Glen Gordon Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for choosing Glen Gordon Manor for your "get away". It is a pleasure to share with our guests the things we so enjoy here in Virginia. Floating in the pool with a spectacular view of Shenandoah National Park is also at the top of our list of favorites! Relaxing by the fire with a great glass of wine is perhaps next...

Sincerely, Nancy Moon and Dayn Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I spent a wonderful weekend at Glen Gordon Manor for our anniversary. The setting and the B & B property are beautiful and the drive up through Virginia was breathtaking. Dayn, Nancy and Trent were welcoming and friendly offering a wonderful glass of wine upon our arrival as well as a tour of the main house. The cottage rooms are exquisite with comfy beds, baths and furnishings, great views of the mountains, horses and chickens. The dinner was exceptional in the beautiful dining room with one course after another of fresh, delicious, extraordinary offerings. The wine list is also wonderful and made for a great celebration dinner for our 44th anniversary. We will definitely return! We have stayed in many Virginia B & B's but this is definitely our favorite.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGM_11, Owner at Glen Gordon Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

We are honored that you chose to celebrate your 44th!!! anniversary here at Glen Gordon Manor. It was our pleasure to have your company. In a time when divorce is prevalent, it was inspiring to see a couple married twice as long as we have been still so happy! We will look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My fiancee Andrea took me to Glen Gordon Manor for my birthday. Upon arrival we were greeted by one of the chefs who gave us a brief tour of the grounds. He then escorted us to our cottage a few paces away. Our cottage was right off the main house and was beautiful. Very clean, large king bed, huge bathroom overlooking the farm and horses. After dinner we walked the grounds and the stars were out and the view of the horizon was breathaking. When we got back to the room after dinner we literally passed out and could not hear a thing the whole night. It was so peaceful. Breakfast the next morning was delicious. We started with a warm berry scone (best we've ever had), then a balsamic glazed warm pear with greek yogurt and homeade granola. The main course..yes main course for breakfast...was a poached egg (chickens roam the grounds) on a potato cake with lump crab, arugula, and fresh tomatoes. Great cup of coffee to top it all off. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pifranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I just got back from spending 4 wonderful days at Glen Gordon. It's hard to add to all of the amazing things mentioned here so far about the place other than to say that they are all true. The food is better than perhaps all but a few of the top DC area restaurants. High praise for a B&B! The welcoming service by the hosts is warm and inviting without the pushiness and over-friendly manner that sometimes B&Bs can have. The grounds are immaculate. The views of the Blue Ridge mountains amazing. The rooms are cozy, yet spacious enough to be comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeSAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntly
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 10 in Front Royal
886 reviews
22.2 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,012 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Inn at Little Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#2 of 8 in Washington
311 reviews
4.3 mi away
Caledonia Farm - 1812  B&B
Caledonia Farm - 1812 B&B
#2 of 3 in Flint Hill
28 reviews
17.2 mi away
L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Gordon Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Gordon Manor

Address: 1482 Zachary Taylor Hwy, Huntly, VA 22640-3139
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Huntly
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Huntly
Price Range: $180 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glen Gordon Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious destination bed and breakfast in Virginia Wine Country, Glen Gordon Manor boasts a rich history having formerly hosted members of the British royal family for many memorable hunts and balls. Overlooking the Shenandoah National Park from 45 acres of pasture, lawns, and gardens, guests will enjoy glorious views of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Dining at Glen Gordon Manor is truly an experience not to be missed! Your stay includes a leisurely, multi-course breakfast, and your trip would not be complete without joining us for dinner at least one night in our award-winning Houndstooth Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Glen Gordon Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing