We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Qualify of service and meals unmatched” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glen Gordon Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glen Gordon Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Huntly B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Qualify of service and meals unmatched”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I just got back from spending 4 wonderful days at Glen Gordon. It's hard to add to all of the amazing things mentioned here so far about the place other than to say that they are all true. The food is better than perhaps all but a few of the top DC area restaurants. High praise for a B&B! The welcoming service by the hosts is warm and inviting without the pushiness and over-friendly manner that sometimes B&Bs can have. The grounds are immaculate. The views of the Blue Ridge mountains amazing. The rooms are cozy, yet spacious enough to be comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeSAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
153
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree City, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We recently stayed at Glen Gordon Manor for 3 nights. It was a wonderful experience in every way. We had breakfast and dinner there and the food was incredible! Dayn, Nancy, and Trent do a terrific job. Beautiful rooms (we stayed in the two bedroom side of the cottage) and the setting is so peaceful with rolling hills, clucking chickens and grazing horses. Relaxation is easy amongst the towering trees with swings and seats beneath the canopy. The pool is a perfect 85 degrees and the waterfall mesmerizes and lends itself to napping after a day visiting the nearby local wineries . Dayn was extremely helpful with directions, suggestions regarding vineyards and pointing us to the best meals in the vicinity. All in all a little slice of heaven in the beautiful Virginia Shenandoah Valley.

Room Tip: Two bedroom side of cottage is great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BandD30269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed for a night at Glen Gordon Manor to celebrate her birthday. I can't say enough good things about our experience there. Trent and Dayn served us perhaps the best dinner and breakfast that I have ever eaten (honestly). Emma greeted us outside the door upon our arrival with two glasses of champagne and then gave us a tour of the beautiful house that was built in the 1830s. Then, she showed us to our room, which was immaculately kept and contained beautiful artwork. The view of the mountains was gorgeous as well. All the staff was gracious and kind. Trent and Dayn both took the time to describe the ingredients in the food they were making, even in the middle of preparing meals for several guests.

Overall, it was quiet, relaxing, historic, extremely clean, and they had incredible food and wine. There was nothing not to like!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Montejuura room and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We spent two nights at Glen Gordon and had a great experience. The Inn/House is very elegant and comfortable. The grounds are private with plenty of paths to walk around. Guest rooms are typical of a house of this size and vintage. Not huge but comfortable with private bathroom.
Now, for the best part! The food was outstanding. We had dinner each night at Glen Gordon. One of us had the wine pairing. The food was delicious, carefully, creatively and artistically prepared. If you think of typical B&B breakfasts - some kind of egg casserole, etc. that is NOT going to happen at Glen Gordon. Breakfast was as delicious and beautiful as the dinners. We will definitely make this lovely Inn part of any journey we take to the South. Thank you Dayn, Nancy and Trent for a delightful stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkr232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We recently spent a weekend at Glen Gordon Manor, and probably can't find enough superlatives to describe the experience. The setting is stunningly beautiful - lawns and pastures, towering trees, mountains in the background. Our suite could not have been more comfortable or attractive, and the same can be said of the Lodge itself. Dayn and Nancy Smith, who own the Manor and live on the premises, are warm, welcoming hosts and good company. On Saturday evening we sat down to an amazing five course gourmet meal - unique dishes perfectly prepared. A first class experience all around.

Room Tip: Choose the Windsor Suite with the giant tub in the bathroom - the view from the tub is gorgeous, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a truly wonderful place to stay. The Inn is situated on 46 acres of beautiful rolling hills with horses and chickens. While close to everything, you feel miles away. Glen Gordon Manor has a lovely ambience conveyed through wonderful, hospitable yet casual service. Dayn, Nancy and Trent were great fun and make you feel right at home in the most relaxed manner. The food was suburb as Dayn brings years of wonderful experience in the culinary field to his guests. A must see if you are traveling in this part of the country.

Room Tip: The rooms in the cottage were beautiful. Either one would be great to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank rs324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I went here for our anniversary on a one night stay. Absolutely perfect place in the rolling hills of Virginia at the base of the Shenandoahs. Dayn and Nancy, and their family and staff were absolutely superb hosts. Beautiful property and surrounding land, horses, chickens, an historic building, great room and such a relaxing, romantic and peaceful place. There was not a single aspect of Glen Gordon Manor that was not perfect- period!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rfwoodjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntly
17.6 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
22.2 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#1 of 8 in Washington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
22.3 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
17.2 mi away
L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Gordon Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Gordon Manor

Property: Glen Gordon Manor
Address: 1482 Zachary Taylor Hwy, Huntly, VA 22640-3139
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Huntly
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Huntly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glen Gordon Manor has hosted members of the British royal family and set the scene for many memorable hunts and balls. Overlooking the Shenandoah National Park from 45 acres of pasture, lawns gardens and parkland. The captivating estate glories in views of the Blue Ridge Mountains and neighboring farms and vineyards. Guest rooms echo the warm radiance. Luxuriously appointed Glencroft Cottage suites and spacious Gordon Mews House lend further hospitality along with sparkling pool and stables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Glen Gordon Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing