We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glen Gordon Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glen Gordon Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Huntly B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
“Relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Warm hospitality and outstanding food in a beautiful location that will be fabulous in the fall when the leaves turn. Main house is all on one level with one step up from the parking lot into the house for easy handicapped access.

Room Tip: Easier for the handicapped to stay in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squirrel22046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
155
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
washington, dc
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

No country kitsch here. We travel a fray deal and love to retreat at beautiful cottages and inns. This one is Just about an hour outside of DC, this place is lush and green, quiet and beautiful. Service is attentive but not at all intrusive. Staff is knowledgable about the history of the property and area and were delightful to engage with. The decor is impeccable, fresh, and has a classic look (think waterworks or restoration hardware). The horses and 100 year old trees on the property add to the idyllic feel. From our cottage we could see the blueridge mts, horses, and perfectly manicured green acres from every angle.  Plus these folks know what they are doing in the kitchen. Meals were inventive but comforting too - e.g. For breakfast We enjoyed truffled eggs Benedict with fresh eggs from the chickens that strut around the coop near the main house. We hope to head back in the fall. No doubt the mts and changing trees will be even more stunning.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 days here on 21st August, we couldn't have wished for a better end to our holiday. Our dinner and breakfasts cooked by Trent were perfect. We felt very welcome and will definitely try to go back on our next trip to the USA

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here for one night, wish it had been more! The rooms are lovely, the suite amazing. Food was great, the views were great and the family who run it are really nice. There's a great little pool too. We'll be back.

Room Tip: The Windsor suite is gorgeous but pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank something_similar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Everything was perfect. The room was perfect, the champagne upon arrival a pleasant indulgence, and dinner was exquisite.

Breakfast the following morning a worthy companion to the dinner the night before.

We enjoyed the "family style" dining with our fellow guests and have a couple of new friends to show for our stay. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This place was wonderful. My husband and I were worried that all the crazy positive reviews were planted; but no, this place was one of the best b&b (probably the best) experiences we've had. I loved the location. It was near Little Washington, but just north of Flint Hill, which has some cute restaurants that I never would have discovered if we stayed south of here. The setting was amazing too - acres of green pastures and a great view of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Dayne, Nancy, and Trent were all wonderful hosts - very down to earth but also very accommodating. The breakfasts were delicious - I think the eggs came from their yard of free range chickens, and each breakfast was artfully done without being overwhelming. We also had dinner at the manor one night, which we thoroughly enjoyed and I'd recommend. If you're looking to stay in the Washington/Front Royal/Sperryville area, I'd definitely say this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Loved the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashberina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Glen Gordon Manor offers a respite and a sumptuous delight. The property is exquisite - so many rolling hills, green everywhere, enormous old trees, views of the Shenandoahs from all sides, birds, horses, chickens, a lovely swimming pool. It does not end there.
A three course breakfast, five course dinner. No decisions, no confusion. Gorgeous food presentation matched only by its originality, excellent combinations, and taste. No meal was not without interest, originality, and deliciousness!! Small and medium sized "beautiful" and healthy food.
The pool, with a small waterfall and the sound of it, in view of the mountains, is ultimately relaxing.
Trent, the nephew of the owners, was delightful, responsive and was the great chef.
Thank you, Glen Gordon, for a piece of heaven only 56 miles from our doorstep in Arlington.

Room Tip: Cozy, by yourself feeling? Take one of the rooms in the Manor House. Want to feel like you own you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nguer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntly
17.6 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
22.2 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
8.1 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#2 of 8 in Washington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
17.2 mi away
L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Gordon Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Gordon Manor

Property: Glen Gordon Manor
Address: 1482 Zachary Taylor Hwy, Huntly, VA 22640-3139
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Huntly
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Huntly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious destination bed and breakfast in Virginia Wine Country, Glen Gordon Manor boasts a rich history having formerly hosted members of the British royal family for many memorable hunts and balls. Overlooking the Shenandoah National Park from 45 acres of pasture, lawns, and gardens, guests will enjoy glorious views of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Dining at Glen Gordon Manor is truly an experience not to be missed! Your stay includes a leisurely, multi-course breakfast, and your trip would not be complete without joining us for dinner at least one night in our award-winning Houndstooth Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Glen Gordon Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing