We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“There is nothing that was not perfect! Heaven on Earth...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariners Landing Hospitality

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Huddleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mariners Landing Hospitality
Save
You added Mariners Landing Hospitality to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huddleston
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
1 review
“There is nothing that was not perfect! Heaven on Earth...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I’ve visited Mariners Landing many times and love the atmosphere and accommodations. The resort is a condotele and like many other similar resorts (especially outside metro areas) it has limited hours of operation for the front desk, as they clearly state in their email confirmations. They offer 24-hour managers on duty and maintenance assistance, so we’ve always received prompt service and find their staff very friendly and helpful. As a patron who visits often, I think very highly of the resort and the staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nokeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    12
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
24
16
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Terrible service from the start. Making a reservation was like talking to someone who didn't work there or didn't care. My wife and I were going there for a wedding. Upon arrival we could not even check in because other maintenance staff was too busy talking/ flirting with the staff that was supposed to be helping us. Good thing we decided to leave. After reading other reviews, we were spared the opportunity to review the rooms.

Room Tip: Never got past the front desk. Could not get to front desk because work staff was too busy talking/f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Huddleston hotels

Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

So many problems don't know where to start. Room was NOT clean. The floors and carpet are in dire need of a deep cleaning. Our feet were black from the dirt. Had to clean kitchen before I would even use for cooking. Tile floor had black marbling, but was supposed to be cream colored. Front desk was not open during posted hours. Nice people but could not assist with problems. Manager and handy man out of office for days without replacements. There were no kayaks or paddle boats as advertised. Restaurant is closed. Basement area smells horrible. Exercise equipment is broken. Rooms for family in separate buildings even though requested they be near each other. Location was great though with nice beach area and docks. Has potential to be a great place but right now it is less than impressive.

Room Tip: Ask for room in building 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrichardsonTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We just got back from a 3 night stay at Mariner's Landing and we loved the location and the peacefulness of the scenery. There are only two potentially negative things that I can say about the faciliities at all: there is no restaurant on premise or near the resort at all, which was kind of inconvenient. There is a "snack" bar at 2 of the 3 pools on the property but if you are looking or a steak or a nice dinner you have to leave the property. The second problem that we noticed was that the back entry door to the facility was never secure. There is a key pad there and we were under the understanding that it would be locked between 9pm and sometime the next morning (either 6 or 7) but it was never locked. When my husband told the front desk clerk that it wasn't locking, she said that it always stayed open. As far as the condo itself, it was awesome!! There is everything there that you need to never have to leave, as long as you bring groceries. We really enjoyed the views, the pool and the peacefulness. We had several disrespectful guests staying at the same time we were - parents letting children run unattended throughout the halls until atleast 10:30 at night, people disposing of snuff in the elevator, and just in general not picking up after themselves. Since there is no front desk staff or any appearance of staff on site after about 8 pm, these things are a little harder to monitor. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and would consider returning to the facility in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VaSquashblossom79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk,va
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Just got back from a long weekend at the Mariners Landing and we did not have any of the issues other posters on this sight experienced. The staff was very nice and helpful, the room was very clean. We stayed in unit 245 and we had a very nice few of the lake. We brought most of our own food and only went out once for diner. I can understand what people who stayed at Bernard’s Landing say when they state that all of the restaurants are near that hotel, however so are the crowds and traffic. Bernard’s Landing is right next to a large pier front shopping plaza. We could hardly find a place to park when we went there to rent a boat and I wonder if they have enough parking for guests. It seemed that many people had to park on the grass near the hotel.. We also liked the fact that Mariners Landing is right next door to the Smith Mountain State Park which has excellent hiking trails with great views of the water. I guess it comes down to what you’re looking for in a stay at the lake. If it’s going out to diner every night then Bernard’s Landing is probably what you would like, if it’s a quite get away then I would go with Mariner’s Landing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kirby105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugoff, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

The family stayed here during graduation weekend at Liberty University. The property was quite beautiful. However, it was far-removed from civilization. GPS is highly recommended to navigate here. The fact that its location is so remote is both a blessing and a curse. It's actually more of a curse if you plan on visiting in May. The on-site restaurant and the swimming pool were closed for the season, and the meager few resort staff cleared out every day by 6 pm. Our unit had obviously been vacant for quite some time. The refrigerator was broken, and so was the privacy lock on the front door. All of the clocks in the unit were blinking as if the power had been turned off. Resort maintenance eventually fixed the refrigerator, but then left a huge mess in the sink, as well as allowed the water to drain out and form a lake in the middle of the kitchen floor. There was no mop in the closet, so we had to use our towels to clean up the mess. Of course, since all staff had gone home at 6 pm, we did not receive new towels until we were leaving to check out at 9:30 am the next day. Leave the cell phones and wi-fi devices at home. They don't work here. Bring an ethernet cable, if you are bringing your laptop. There's only 1 plug in an awkward place, so make sure it's a long one. Price for the weekend was outrageous, based on the amenities offered (or accessible).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond VA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Beautiful view, friendly, attentive and efficient desk staff, adequately equipped kitchen and the routine housekeeping was fine (well vacuumed; very clean kitchen and bath). However, the 1-BR unit we were given was in dire need of having the heavily stained carpet and couch shampooed plus the mattress cover on the pull-out was very dirty. Pull-out couch mattresses are never comfortable but this one made a pile of jagged rocks a very attractive alternative. However, the bed was quite comfortable. I would stay again, but I would insist at reservation time for a unit better maintained by the owners. At $150/nite in the off-seasson, you should not be able to make soup with your carpet.

Room Tip: Insist on a well maintained room. This is a "condotel" so room quailty is pretty much up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeyinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huddleston
7.4 mi away
Halesford Harbour Inn
Halesford Harbour Inn
#1 of 1 in Moneta
5.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
24.4 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
17.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Altavista
3.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake
18.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake
17.7 mi away
Days Inn Alta Vista
Days Inn Alta Vista
#2 of 2 in Altavista
3.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners Landing Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Landing Hospitality

Property: Mariners Landing Hospitality
Address: 1217 Graves Harbor Trl, Huddleston, VA 24104-4211 (Formerly Mariners Landing Golf and Lake Community)
Location: United States > Virginia > Huddleston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huddleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful studio to single family homes on Smith Mountain Lake located at Mariners Landing. Beaches, 3 outdoor pools, indoor pool, golf, game room, fitness center, trails and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mariners Landing Golf And Lake Community Hotel Huddleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing