We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Charm and Southern Hospitality at its Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vine Cottage Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vine Cottage Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hot Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Country Charm and Southern Hospitality at its Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

The Vine Cottage Inn is a lovely bed and breakfast located within walking distance of the Old Course golf course and beautiful grounds of The HOmestead in Hot Springs, VA. Owners Jo and Jonah greet you and treat you as family and friends throughout your stay. Perfect place for a girls get-away or guys golf outing or a place to unwind and relax after a day on the road. The rocking chairs on the huge front porch are comfortable and inviting and give you the opportunity to sit and smell the clean mountain air while enjoying a nice cup of coffee or glass of your favorite beverage. Beware-- Jo is a gourmet cook so arrive with an appetite for breakfast! I have been for a week each of the two recent summers and plan to return next year as well. Great value!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topgolfer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
70
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2009

Best breakfast you'll find anywhere - make sure you bring your appetite to the breakfast table. Jo and Jonah will make you feel right at home - you can't help but relax when you sit in one of the rocking chairs or cushioned seats on the best front porch in Hot Springs - your worries will just fade away. We had a group of women golfers and stayed about 3-4 days - never felt safer or had more fun!! I had never stayed in a Bed & Breakfast before - but this was absolute heaven.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladygolfer20099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2009

A great place to stay. The owners are great people who made our visit very enjoyable and relaxing. From the moment we walked in he door we felt very welcome in their home and they provided a atmosphere of peace and excitement throughout our stay. A place I will visit again and have recommended to family and friends. A smile comes to my face when I remember my time their..you will also have a smile once you stay there..

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limited_travell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2009

My husband and I were looking for a quick getaway for our anniversary. Hot Springs is just a 3 hour drive from the Northern Virginia/DC area. The drive was scenic as we got closer to Hot Springs.

The Vine Cottage Inn is a great deal and accommodations were very nice. The B&B had its own charm. It is right next to the Homestead resort and very close to the center of town where there is a bank, convenience store and a Subway. The room we stayed in was spacious (#14) and had a large bathroom. It was a slow weekend so we were the only people on the third floor. There's no TV in the room so I liked the peace and quiet and having to find something to do. Everything was quite clean and lots of seating in the living room and porch. Best part was the breakfast! Apple pancakes, muffing tops, fruit, eggs and bacon. Delicious!

Overall a wonderful stay. Owners were extra helpful in setting up dinner reservations for us and giving us tips for getting around.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetchowgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2009

We recently stayed at the Vine Cottage Inn and had a wonderful experience. Jo and Jonah, the hosts, were quite warm and friendly. The Inn has a wonderful at home feeling. Our room was cozy. I can't say enough about how they made us feel at home. I would not hesitate to stay there. Also, the breakfast was delicious - French Toast with praline topping, eggs and sausage. If you are in Hot Springs do indeed stay there.

Rick and Paula

  • Liked — The wonderful hosts, Jo and Jonah
  • Disliked — There was nothing I didn't like
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgus53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2008

This was a lovely bed and breakfast right at the entrance of the Homestead. We chose to stay here instead of at the resort because of the price, and we definitely got the most bang for our buck. The innkeepers were very nice, and the breakfast was delicious and filling. The one minor inconvenience was the bath in room 14--although it was only a tub, it did have a hand-held spray, but unfortunately didn't have a shower curtain, so it was kind of difficult to wash properly (but it was perfectly lovely to soak in the tub for a while). I would definitely stay here again if we are ever in the area.

  • Liked — The innkeepers were very pleasant and the breakfast was hearty
  • Disliked — Tub did not have a shower or a shower curtain
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pidgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2008

My husband and I stayed here as an alternative to the Homestead. The inn was cozy with lots of personality. The first floor is huge and has lots of quiet places to sit and relax. There is also a lovely front porch, great for reading a book or enjoying a cup of tea. Our room was very nice - the bathroom was small, but that's to be expected in a b&b. The owners, Jo and Jonah, were welcoming and friendly. Jonah made sure we ate at the best places, calling ahead to check that there was a table available for us. He is also very knowledgeable about the area. Jo is a very warm person and an amazing cook - her breakfasts were so yummy! Before this trip, I had never even heard of Hot Springs, Va. This is a great little place to come and relax. I would definitely visit the area again and I would definitely stay at the Vine Cottage Inn!

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank JerzWonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
16.8 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
0.2 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,718 reviews
4.4 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Anderson Cottage Bed and Breakfast
18.2 mi away
The Hummingbird Inn
The Hummingbird Inn
#1 of 1 in Goshen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vine Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vine Cottage Inn

Property: Vine Cottage Inn
Address: 7402 Sam Snead Hwy, Hot Springs, VA 24445-2784
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing