We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to the Casino instead” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jefferson's Restaurant & Bar

Jefferson's Restaurant & Bar
7696 Sam Snead Highway, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hot Springs, VA 24445
(540) 839-7552
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Jefferson's Restaurant & Bar is an elegant, yet casual dining experience. A modern American grill featuring regional influences, Jefferson's follows a farm-to-table approach with a hand-picked selection of the best regional and prime meats. Jefferson's serves lunch and dinner with creative small plates and lighter fare. Choose whether you dine indoors in a setting wrapped in rich wood paneling with wide-screen televisions or take in a dramatic view of the Casino Lawn on the outdoor terrace. - See more at: http://www.Omnihotels.Com/hotels/homestead-virginia/dining/jeffersons-restaurant-and-bar#sthash.D1JAm3UO.Dpuf
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go to the Casino instead”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Jefferson is great to grab an appetizer or enjoy a cocktail on the deck or by the fire place. But could do without the large screen TV's as a distraction. The dinning room side is good but you are better either grabbing a sports coat and heading into the Main dinning room or walking down the hill to the Casino for a better menu selection.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Walter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    90
    35
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
165 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice view, good food and great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We went to visit the Jefferson Pools and always wanted to check out the Homestead Hotel so we stopped here for lunch. Parking was a little difficult but the walk from parking below was very pleasant. The restaurant was very nice, service and food were both great. We enjoyed a table with a nice view of the property. We walked around the hotel a little because we had considered staying a weekend but once you get past the lobby, the shops and restaurants the hotel is in bad shape. Wallpaper peeling off, stains on carpets, layers of paint on top of paint chipping off because it was never properly stripped, very outdated, this hotel is not properly maintained and in need of a lot of work. We decided against a weekend visit but enjoyed our meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mimi1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Mixed Experience at Expensive Prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Our experience at the Jefferson Room was mixed, which made it difficult to rate. The best part was my filet mignon dinner, which was simply outstanding. The steak was so tender and flavorful surpassing most fine steakhouse experiences. However, my wife's beef brisket dinner was a disappointment with two pieces of almost entirely fatty meat mixed with one good piece.

The salads and soups were fresh, and the side dishes were average. The vegetables were cooked just right, which cannot often be found in restaurants. The baked Alaska dessert for two was ridiculously big and over the top with large amounts of marmalade completely drowning the homemade ice cream on the inside. It was our first and last experience with a baked Alaska dessert.

The young waiter was polite, but seemed to be new and shy. He checked on us sparadically, but would disappear for long periods of time. We are not experienced wine drinkers, and he seemed to struggle in helping us make a selection. We ended up going with our own choices based on our limited knowledge.

The atmosphere is semi-casual with a large window overlooking the open lawn area and hillsides.

The prices were expensive, which we are willing to accept if the meal experience matches. While there were good aspects, we did not feel the entire experience measured up to the value paid.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BobandRena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeling
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Too Pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The food was good, but $8.50 for a bottle of San Pellegrino was a bit steep. While my swordfish was good, if was not worth $32, nor was my husband's half a chicken worth $28. We raise chickens; we must have a goldmine if each one of them is worth $56. We have put our chickens on notice. The white chocolate cheesecake on a blueberry compote, however, was delicious. In the future, I will enjoy the spa at the Homestead and find somewhere else to dine.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“TJ Would Be Proud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

A large selection of grilled steaks and chops, along with seafood and small plates. Gorgeous views from floor-to-ceiling windows and a welcoming lounge area with comfy seating and fireplaces. Food and service were excellent!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BaguetteLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jefferson's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Jefferson's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing